We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No A/C? Yikes!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This spot is a 5 for coolness.
Unfortunately it is a 1 for the most important item needed in Arizona in the Summer.
Air Conditioning!
I checked out 5 minutes after checking in, once I walked into a sweltering room with 1 broken fan and no A/C. There was no way the room would cool off before I wanted to go to bed.
I'm sure this would be a great place in the Fall or Spring and maybe even in the dead of Winter. I didn't look for a heater.
But not when it's 85+ degrees out and the breeze through the windows in June only make you hotter.
Go for the nostalgia because this place is cool, but don't do it in the summer.

Room Tip: No A/C so Summer Stays are No Ways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJVaughnDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

I rented a simple room with bed, desk, and bathroom. I like the cleanliness of linoleum floors, no down or feather bedding, and minimal furnishings. There is no closet or AC, but I had no reason to be there during the warmest part of the summer day. The light breakfast is fine, and most of the desk clerks are charming and helpful. A good Thai restaurant is a short walk away, and the main shopping and restaurant part of town is just across the railroad tracks. The trains don't blow whistles, so their passing isn't alarming, but I wore earplugs at night, just in case. There seemed to be just enough parking in the motel courtyard. I was surprised to see laundry facilities, and the public refrigerator was handy for storing what I prefer for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MizMaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

So this hostel is very simple. No TV or entertainment in the room. The room I stayed in was small, just room for a bed, desk, and small bathroom. However the room was quant, rustic, and in good condition. I think the lack of space and room amenities is on purpose to encourage you to explore Flagstaff, which my wife and I did. The hostel is close walking distance to everything and the front desk attendant was very nice. I would recommend.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We got off the west bound Southwest Chef and walked 2 blocks to the motel. Great location! We had the King Suite, large room with comfortable bed. Loved the old style motel. Simple breakfast of instant oatmeal and an apple. Ok coffee but across the street was a nice coffee shop. Great stop and would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We visited Flagstaff and environs for about a week in the early spring to visit our son. Motel DuBeau was a great choice, right on the old Rt 66. We stayed in the corner, king-sized bed room, #10. It was very comfortable, charming and laid back. We loved the authentic wood trim and the anti-contemporary feeling. An authentic Rt 66 experience for those who want it. Honest, sensible, clean and comfortable room. Bed was comfortable, despite us being used to a really hard mattress. Hot water when we needed it, a straight-up real breakfast-- who needs orange juice concentrate when you can have a real apple and oatmeal? Struck up conversations with with some interesting guests, and thought the owners and staff were nice and welcoming. You can walk to Macy's, a great breakfast/lunch joint literally in the back yard and around the corner. Didn't mind the parade of trains a block away, but if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs (no whistles or horns). Real easy and safe walk to downtown (or is it "uptown"?). Looks like the new gathering place "Nomads" at the entry to the court is shaping up nicely and will be a nice addition. They also have guided tours with qualified guides to the Grand Canyon that are the least expensive in town. Our guide was really nice and very informed. Stay here if you want to be left with a real and slightly retro/vintage memory of a nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank head0pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 km away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#20 of 66 in Flagstaff
536 reviews
0.3 km away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 66 in Flagstaff
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.3 km away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#30 of 66 in Flagstaff
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Address: 19 W Phoenix Ave, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5509 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range: $20 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DuBeau's Motel Inn was built in 1929 on the original Route 66 corridor in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for adventurers from around the world, who congregate here to share travel tales, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for clean, affordable accommodations with the added convenience of walking from your door to explore the historic downtown district, with its many eateries, breweries, art galleries and more. Often referred to as a "hidden gem", the new and improved Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is truly unique. The entire facility has been lovingly restored, but hasn't lost its old world charm and spunky spirit! Accommodation options include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay - no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. We're excited to introduce our brand new beer and wine bar; Nomads Global Lounge - "Where the World Comes to Mingle"! Due to open in July of 2015, this travel themed adult watering hole will bring visitors and locals together, in a relaxing, nature inspired environment. We hope you'll join us for a cool beverage during your stay! And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome day hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a friendly, stylish place to rest up for your next travel adventure - Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing