We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Belle's Cafe

Belle's Cafe
Ranked #25 of 243 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Had breakfast at Belle's a cafe situated in a working boat yard. Fascinating to see some very large yachts being worked on as you wander around. Extensive breakfast and lunch menu with great outdoor seating when the weather permits. Friendly staff. Don't think they open for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prop19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Prop 19 -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your review! You're right, we are only open for breakfast and lunch and are now serving brunch daily through the middle of December. We often think of visiting the Shipyard and Belle's Cafe as an 'adventure' due to all the incredible work taking place on a wide array of impressive yachts who come to the Shipyard. We hope you'll come back the next time you're in Newport.

Sincerely,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Belle's is nothing fancy - you stand in line to order your meal, and pick it up at the counter when your number is called. Belle's offers comfortable indoor and outdoor seating and the food id pretty dang good. When in New England, always start with a cup of clam chowder.

Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Fred -

Thank you for your great review of Belle's Cafe! We agree, when visiting New England, clam chowder is a must and we are proud of ours. We hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in town.

Have a good rest of your Fall,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

EXCELLENT lobster roll and cole slaw! The food was prepared fast as well. So happy our trolly tour guide, Carlos, recommended this!

Thank Kdllv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe! We're so happy you enjoyed our lobster rolls (one of our most popular menu items, and we agree, quite delish)! We hope you'll come back to Belle's the next time you're in Newport & we'll be sure to thank Carlos for referring you.

Have a good rest of your Fall.

Regards,
Veronica Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

The food is fresh and good, but be prepared to stand in line and then pick up your own food. The prices are reasonable given its location in Newport. It's a great chance to relax comfortably surrounded by a working luxury ship yard with yachts all around you. If you're looking for good food in a unique environment, this is the place. It's a little bit of an adventure.

Thank MattTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear MattTD -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe & for writing your review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time find us and post your feedback. You're absolutely right, visiting Belle's Cafe and Newport Shipyard is a bit of an adventure! We're glad you liked your food and felt our prices were reasonable. Thank you again and we do hope you return the next time you're in Newport.

All the best,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We had lunch at Belle’s Cafe in Newport, RI. This was a nice surprise. This cafe is located on a working wharf with lots of workers and vacationers seating side by side, inside and outside. Several in our group had sandwiches, others had salads. No complaints, only satisfied eaters with compliments all around.
This cafe is located on a wharf where boats are serviced and repaired. Lots of action as we ate. Highly recommend for a casual meal.

Thank trip14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hello & thank you for your great review of Belle's Cafe! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and we hope you'll be back again the next time you're in Newport.

Thanks again and have a great rest of your Fall.

Sincerely,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belle's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing