We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“captive audience”
Review of Belle's Cafe

Belle's Cafe
Ranked #25 of 244 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Description: Belle's Café is closed for a short winter's nap! Re-opening early March 2018.
Restaurant details
Description: Belle's Café is closed for a short winter's nap! Re-opening early March 2018.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Prices are high, food is just ok, Menu is very limited, service is rude. my couple of simple questions got the "eye roll" from the counter person. The only reason I would go back is that its the only thing available for a quick lunch at the shipyard. I'll do everything I can to pack a lunch the next time I have to work there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mgdearborn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear mgdearborn61 -

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your experience. We will discuss this review with our staff members today to find out what may have gone wrong on our end. We apologize you felt you were treated rudely, this is not something we are known for. Hopefully you will give Belle's another chance the next time you're at the Shipyard. If you have other feedback you'd like to send privately, please send an email to: veronica@newportshipyard.com

Thank you,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Found this place while on a port stop during our New England cruise, loved it. Casual dining (order at counter and they let you know when food is ready) in a great location. We had a table on the dock and enjoyed the 'nautical' ambience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Mike D -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our casual atmosphere inside Newport's only and oldest working shipyard. We have plenty of inside and outside seating (at least in the warmer months) which gives many people the opportunity to sit 'dock side' at Belle's Cafe which is very popular and unique!

Thank you again and we hope you'll come back the next time you're in Newport.

All the best,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Had breakfast at Belle's a cafe situated in a working boat yard. Fascinating to see some very large yachts being worked on as you wander around. Extensive breakfast and lunch menu with great outdoor seating when the weather permits. Friendly staff. Don't think they open for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prop19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Prop 19 -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your review! You're right, we are only open for breakfast and lunch and are now serving brunch daily through the middle of December. We often think of visiting the Shipyard and Belle's Cafe as an 'adventure' due to all the incredible work taking place on a wide array of impressive yachts who come to the Shipyard. We hope you'll come back the next time you're in Newport.

Sincerely,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Belle's is nothing fancy - you stand in line to order your meal, and pick it up at the counter when your number is called. Belle's offers comfortable indoor and outdoor seating and the food id pretty dang good. When in New England, always start with a cup of clam chowder.

Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Fred -

Thank you for your great review of Belle's Cafe! We agree, when visiting New England, clam chowder is a must and we are proud of ours. We hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in town.

Have a good rest of your Fall,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

EXCELLENT lobster roll and cole slaw! The food was prepared fast as well. So happy our trolly tour guide, Carlos, recommended this!

Thank Kdllv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe! We're so happy you enjoyed our lobster rolls (one of our most popular menu items, and we agree, quite delish)! We hope you'll come back to Belle's the next time you're in Newport & we'll be sure to thank Carlos for referring you.

Have a good rest of your Fall.

Regards,
Veronica Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belle's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing