We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant in the Shipyard”
Review of Belle's Cafe

Belle's Cafe
Ranked #25 of 245 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Description: Belle's Café is closed for a short winter's nap! Re-opening early March 2018.
Restaurant details
Description: Belle's Café is closed for a short winter's nap! Re-opening early March 2018.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Belle's is a workman's Restaurant in the Newport Shipyard. There is a standard menu and daily specials. The standard menu is eclectic and can be viewed on the website, the daily specials make it exciting. You order at the counter then find a seat. My wife ordered the crab cakes Benedict, I ordered from the daily specials menu an Italian melt. The crab cakes Benedict was done right. The poached eggs were delicately cooked and released the creamy yolk in a gush with a gentle knife stroke. The hollandaise sauce was soft and piquant and gave just the right depth and mouth feel to compliment the chunks of crab sitting atop a lightly toasted English muffin. My Italian Melt was really a panini and quite enjoyable. It layered pepperoni, salami and ham with Swiss cheese and peppers then pressed the bread until it was lightly toasted and crispy. The side of house made potato salad was the star for me. The small soft chunks of red potato were covered in just the right amount of mayonnaise and just a hint of garlic, a wonderful accompaniment to the Italian meats on the sandwich. While this is a restaurant for the men and women working at the boatyard, it is an enjoyable gem of waterfront dining. For a reasonable price you can get good food on the pier.

Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Danny -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review, we appreciate it. We're glad to know your wife enjoyed the Crab Cakes Benedict (a fan favorite!) and you enjoyed the Italian Melt from our specials board. We will share your review with our team because it was so beautifully written and descriptive, thank you.

We sincerely hope you are using your talents as a creative writer in some capacity!

And we hope you'll visit Belle's Cafe again the next time you're in Newport.

Happy Winter!
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed nearby and could walk to this place easily....once we found out it was IN the shipyard. We went for breakfast here 4 our of the 5 mornings we were in Newport. We absolutely loved the place. The food was fantastic! We can highly recommend the bread pudding french toast, the regular french toast, pancakes and the hash and eggs. We loved that they serve real maple syrup. Good coffee too. The young women that took the orders weren't overly friendly but the cooks made up for it with their friendliness and good food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marko02642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Hello -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review, we appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed the food at Belle's and will share this review with our employees.

Thank you again & we hope you'll come back to Belle's the next time you're in Newport.

Happy Thanksgiving,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Stopped here on the Neighborhood Food Tour and sampled the Greek Panini - it was delicious with lots of unique flavors.

Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Lucy -

Thank you for your review and for visiting Newport Shipyard & Belle's Cafe. We're glad you liked our Greek Panini and we hope you'll come back again the next time you're in Newport. We really enjoy partnering with Rhode Island Red Food Tours and hope you had fun on the tour.

Thanks again!
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Prices are high, food is just ok, Menu is very limited, service is rude. my couple of simple questions got the "eye roll" from the counter person. The only reason I would go back is that its the only thing available for a quick lunch at the shipyard. I'll do everything I can to pack a lunch the next time I have to work there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mgdearborn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear mgdearborn61 -

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your experience. We will discuss this review with our staff members today to find out what may have gone wrong on our end. We apologize you felt you were treated rudely, this is not something we are known for. Hopefully you will give Belle's another chance the next time you're at the Shipyard. If you have other feedback you'd like to send privately, please send an email to: veronica@newportshipyard.com

Thank you,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Found this place while on a port stop during our New England cruise, loved it. Casual dining (order at counter and they let you know when food is ready) in a great location. We had a table on the dock and enjoyed the 'nautical' ambience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Mike D -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our casual atmosphere inside Newport's only and oldest working shipyard. We have plenty of inside and outside seating (at least in the warmer months) which gives many people the opportunity to sit 'dock side' at Belle's Cafe which is very popular and unique!

Thank you again and we hope you'll come back the next time you're in Newport.

All the best,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belle's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing