We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Newport”
Review of Belle's Cafe

Belle's Cafe
Ranked #25 of 252 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Description: Belle's Cafe is located in the heart of Newport Shipyard. Come dine at Belle's to be part of the yachting scene. We are open 7 days, serving brunch 7:30am-2:00pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Belle's Cafe is located in the heart of Newport Shipyard. Come dine at Belle's to be part of the yachting scene. We are open 7 days, serving brunch 7:30am-2:00pm.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Everything from the delicious food to the tucked away location in Newport Harbor makes Belle's a great place for brunch.

    • Food
Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Haley -

Thank you for coming to Belle's Cafe, we appreciate you taking the time to write a great review! We are now looking ahead to warmer days when we can sit outside and enjoy a Belle's breakfast sandwich or lobster roll!

Have a great winter & we hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Newport!

All the best,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

The charged $5 for a bottle of water! The lobster roll was just average. I realize it was the boat show weekend but what a ripoff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blondie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Blondie B -

We appreciate you submitting your review. We're sorry you felt the water was too expensive. The next time you're at Newport Shipyard, please feel free to bring a refillable water bottle and there is a water jug at the end of the counter in Belle's that we encourage our customers to use for free. We also have a water jug in our Ship Store and Main Office.

Have a Happy New Year!
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This is a local hang out for off season. The people behind the counter were super friendly and the food was delicious and good portion sizes. Great way to start an early morning!

Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you, Patrice! So glad you had a great experience at Belle's & we hope you'll be back!

Best Regards,
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This place was recommended by the front desk of our hotel. It is tucked away in a shipyard. It was a short walk from the Wyndham Long Wharf. There is a security guard outside which may throw you off but just tell him that you are going to Belle's and he will let you proceed. There is some parking on the main street but it is limited. It appeared to have outdoor seating for warmer weather. It was raining sideways the day we went. We went for breakfast. You order your food at the counter and then they give you a buzzer and they deliver the food. The food was great and the amount was enormous. It was all homemade and delicious. The home fries were great. My daughter had the pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes and they were amazing. We dropped 50 bucks for 3 of us for breakfast. It was a little pricey but we were full most of the day. Highly recommend for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewportShipyard, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Jen -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review! We'll be sure to thank our friends at the Wyndham Long Wharf who send customers our way regularly. The pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes are definitely a fan favorite & great for Fall -- we'll be sure to offer those again next year.

Thank you again & we hope you have a great winter!

Sincerely -
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Belle's is a workman's Restaurant in the Newport Shipyard. There is a standard menu and daily specials. The standard menu is eclectic and can be viewed on the website, the daily specials make it exciting. You order at the counter then find a seat. My wife ordered the crab cakes Benedict, I ordered from the daily specials menu an Italian melt. The crab cakes Benedict was done right. The poached eggs were delicately cooked and released the creamy yolk in a gush with a gentle knife stroke. The hollandaise sauce was soft and piquant and gave just the right depth and mouth feel to compliment the chunks of crab sitting atop a lightly toasted English muffin. My Italian Melt was really a panini and quite enjoyable. It layered pepperoni, salami and ham with Swiss cheese and peppers then pressed the bread until it was lightly toasted and crispy. The side of house made potato salad was the star for me. The small soft chunks of red potato were covered in just the right amount of mayonnaise and just a hint of garlic, a wonderful accompaniment to the Italian meats on the sandwich. While this is a restaurant for the men and women working at the boatyard, it is an enjoyable gem of waterfront dining. For a reasonable price you can get good food on the pier.

Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsy-newport, Public Relations Manager at Belle's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Danny -

Thank you for visiting Belle's Cafe and for your great review, we appreciate it. We're glad to know your wife enjoyed the Crab Cakes Benedict (a fan favorite!) and you enjoyed the Italian Melt from our specials board. We will share your review with our team because it was so beautifully written and descriptive, thank you.

We sincerely hope you are using your talents as a creative writer in some capacity!

And we hope you'll visit Belle's Cafe again the next time you're in Newport.

Happy Winter!
Veronica Brown
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belle's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing