We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
718
79
31
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
79
31
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiced pearcar servicecliff walkgothic roomprivate hot tubocean villalouis xvigreek revivalenglish tudorglass of sparkling winemartha's vineyardblock islandprivate courtyardmy husband and ibeautiful hotelgas fireplacewet bar
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Hosted a business dinner for 75 clients at the Spiced Pear. Night went off without a hitch. Food and service were too notch. We spent the night in a room on the first floor. Although very clean and modern we found it a bit dark and cramped but we'll be back to try an upper floor room. A truly unique and beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanleratCliffWalk, Owner at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Peter F,

Thank you for choosing The Chanler at Cliff Walk to host your business dinner. We strive to provide nothing short of absolute perfection in the execution of all events that we host on our property. I am pleased to hear we completely delivered. Thank you for your feedback on our food. I am so sorry to hear your room on the first floor was not optimal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try one of our upper floor rooms. Perhaps a stay in the Federal, Empire or Moroccan guest rooms would be more suitable.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Chandler at Cliffwalk is possibly the best experience we have ever had. Not certain there is anything they can improve. Property is gorgeous, room exceeded already-high expectations, service was second to none, and dining was as good as any restaurant in Manhattan, DC, Atlanta, or Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jakevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanleratCliffWalk, Owner at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Jacob,

We are pleased to hear The Chanler was possibly the best hotel experience you have ever had. We are so delighted to hear we completely delivered or even exceeded your expectations of the grounds of our property, the guest room experience, the service and the dining. Thank you for your very sincere words about The Spiced Pear restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to The Chanler soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Beautiful place, great service, location to die for! We can't wait to come again! I can't say enough about how gorgeous this place is, and the staff is excellent. We had a great stay and will never stay anywhere else when we come to beautiful Newport!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

From the minute we arrived until the moment we left it was an amazing mini vacation. The restaurants from breakfast, dinner (The Cafe) (The Spiced Pear) were delicious with every bite. Everyone staff member was attentive and thoughtful throughout our stay. Anyone that has gone to Newport knows how difficult parking can be and the car service into the downtown area was helpful and considerate. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spisak93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanleratCliffWalk, Owner at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for celebrating your 25th Anniversary with us at The Chanler at Cliff Walk. We are delighted to hear you had an amazing mini vacation! Thank you for your kind words about the food at our restaurants, The Café & The Spiced Pear, your interactions with our staff and our complimentary car service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Great overall experience at the Chanler. Splendid property with lovely grounds and sumptuous room. Great Bar Service as well as Breakfast. Appreciated the Vehicle Valet Service with a ride and pickup to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidcT5054BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanleratCliffWalk, Owner at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good afternoon David,

We are delighted to hear you had a great overall experience at The Chanler. Thank you for your kind words about our grounds, the Peonies & Ivy garden villa, our Bar, Breakfast at the Café and our complimentary car service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews