We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City View Room - Dirty and Smelly”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for almost a week before joining a cruise in September 2017. Although the hotel is in a good location and the lobby area is nice, our room was awful! As soon as you opened the door, an old musty smell was very strong. The queen sized bed was against the wall, which is not practical at all at night. The couch was covered in old stains - awful. The carpet was old and dirty too.
We seriously were very disappointed in our room and could not recommend this hotel to anyone. Unfortunately, we had booked a package with a travel agent, so went in blindly.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shaz0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Aloha shaz0309 and thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are glad that you liked our welcoming lobby and convenient location close to Waikiki beach but sad to hear that other aspects of your stay were less than exceptional. Your comfort is important and we are disappointed that your room did not meet the standard of cleanliness and quality we are accustomed to providing our guests. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our management and housekeeping teams for careful review and improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you for a more enjoyable in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Easy walking distance from centre of Waikiki with shops and restaurants and also the beach. Staff were helpful and efficient and the free Wifi was a very welcome bonus. Cold water dispenser in reception area was welcome as it was very hot when we arrived. We were able to leave our baggage though checked out whilst we had a tour of the island before boarding our cruise ship. Decor a little bit tired in places but overall more pluses than minuses

Room Tip: Arranged by our travel agent, overlooked park area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathphilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Aloha and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location in Waikiki, helpful service team, and plentiful amenities including our Wifi and baggage check. It's also great you were able to take advantage of our water dispenser — always good after a long day! Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. It would be our pleasure to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed at the hotel on our trip this past week. We were celebrating our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised with a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts. Our room was very roomy with a king size bed and also sofa. Maid service was excellent and staff was very pleasant. The hotel is older and furniture could be updated but it was also fine the way that it was. Only complaint is the small bathroom. Knees almost touch the door and toilet is very low to the floor making it a little difficult for a person with bad knees. Would definitely recommend the hotel and will stay there on future visits. A few blocks from the beach but near shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dbkeybrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review! We're honored you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and are glad you had such a positive experience. It's great to hear you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, friendly staff, and surprise gift! We loved having you, and we hope that your travels will lead you back to Hawaii in the near future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here for 7 days on the 2nd leg of our american trip,quick and easy check in,the room was very nice not very big but had a view of the city and a glimpse of the sea.I t is in a very convenient position,for shops restaurants and the beach.the bus stop was right outside the hotel and there was also a free shuttle.If you were going to the beach you could you borrow beach towels and chairs,it was only a 10 mins walk through the Hawaiian village opposite.Staff were very friendly and helpful,iwould recommend this hotel to people on a budget as there are many facilities in the room including fridge and microwave,and there is free coffee in the lobby which we can highly recommend .A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mblackburn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide a review for our property, highlighting your experiences. We're thrilled you had such an enjoyable week-long stay with us and are glad to hear you appreciate our ideal location, friendly service team, and plentiful amenities. We hope you had a great time exploring our beautiful island. Mahalo for choosing us as your home away from home. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had a great time at this hotel during our vacation on island. The late check-in was very quick and reception staff provided us a lot of useful information. We got a city view room at 11th floor with balcony with an ocean view too. It was very quiet on this part of the hotel. The room was a little dated but it was very clean and we had all what we needed for a decent stay. At check-in we were informed that we will have to pay for a resort fee with inclusions like Wi-Fi (very fast), beach towels, dvd/games free rental, free shuttles to the other Aqua hotels on Waikiki beach, pool access, etc.
The access to the beach is at 10 minutes away. There are 2 restaurants in the same building, one of them operating 24 hrs.
We just wait to return back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank limar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Aloha Marius and thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that your check-in process was easy and efficient and that you got a chance to enjoy our spectacular ocean and city views. We're also glad that you liked our convenient amenities and ideal location close to Waikiki beach and attractions. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to welcome you again soon for another great stay. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,528 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,615 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $178 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing