We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cigarette smoke floated in all night, no parking”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 29 March 2010

2 night stay with cigarette smoke so thick it made us noxious. Although we had a non-smoking room, smoke from other guests came through the closed lanai door/windows until about 3am both nights. They wouldn't switch us rooms without a fee. Parking fees were quite expensive ($15/night I think) for very tight parking spaces. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,198 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

I looked at a lot of different hotels before deciding on this one and was presently surprised. The price was very cheap (which raised alarm bells) but the quality was really high. The hotel is older but they are constantly working on upgrading and renovating and it shows. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Location is very convenient, you can walk to the beach and all of the shops within about 10 minutes.

It is not in the main tourist area - which is sort of nice because you can visit it 10 minutes away but then leave it behind when you want to go to sleep.

I highly recommend this hotel for people who are looking for good value and a nice place to stay. The fridge in the room is really great for keeping fresh fruit and snacks. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I am a Local resident and I use the Aqua Palms & Spa as my "Staycation" headquarters. Not only because of the great rates, but, for the wonderful service from check in to check out. The rooms are clean and comfortable -- constantly being upgraded for your pleasure and comfort. Parking is ample and the "in & out" policy is fantastic.

If you are a visitor to our fair State I highly suggest you book here! Location close to beach as well as shopping and dining venues makes this "Boutique Style" hotel a bargain.

Housekeepers, reception, managers and even the General Manager are all TOP NOTCH! Having an IHOP in the lobby doesn't hurt either!

Spa service, pool, bar-b-cue, Manager's welcome reception (with cocktails), concierge service, BIG 42" flat screens and of course Hi-speed internet connections in room and free WiFi in the lobby -- Even live local entertainment in the lobby! Need I say more?

Traveling on a budget or locals looking o get out of the house -- expect 5 Star quality at 3 star prices.

A warm Mahalo to Kahea Doss and her staff renown! I've already booked my stay for April and another in May -- looking forward to seeing the property and staff again. I think once a month does me good!!!

Mahalo and Aloha,

Jeff Chun
Instructor
Rainbow Scuba Company
Honolulu, Hawaii

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmperorOfTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This hotel met my expectations. The pros: great price! We paid $69 for a Diamond Head view (I would call it less than partial view however). Staff is friendly and helpful. Bed is very comfortable and the room gets really dark at night (perfect). Clean. The cons: Furniture is dated. I don't think the location is as great as some reviewers say, but for the price, it can't be beat. First time visitors might want to splurge for a more expensive ocean front hotel or one outside the city.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdtravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The service was great from start to finish. The room was very clean, had a comfortable bed. The room included internet and a great view. I wish the internet was wireless and I wish the room was a little bit bigger. The location was great. The beach, restaurants, and shopping were all in walking distance. Also paying $20 per day for parking was a little bit too much. Overall a great stay and I will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexytraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
1,529 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,529 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,626 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $176 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing