We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter after a visit to Kona. We were booked at The Outrigger Shore up the road, however on check in there were no twin rooms available only a double, so the staff gave us a twin room here, until a twin became available at The Shore. It is in a good location, close to Hard Rock Café, easy walking distance to nearby stores and the bus stop. We were able to use the pool at the Outrigger Reef up the Road, which was great! The accommodation is newish, the only issue we found was we had to turn the air conditioner off at night as it blew directly onto the sofa bed. There are Japanese style privacy screens in the bedroom, which when closed gave some privacy but no air from the air conditioner The room could have been better designed. The Wi Fi works sometimes but not all the time in the room. The staff were nice & friendly. Complimentary coffee & juice in the lobby was a bonus. It was a nice place but personally, I would prefer have been closer to the beach, as that is what we booked and also an ocean view, but the staff did their best to accommodate us under the circumstances..

Room Tip: Rooms facing street side or near the lift can be noisy sometimes, especially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our Hawaii Vacation this year and really enjoyed the location. It isn't fancy, doesn't have "hotel amenities", but IS a condo complex that allows for a comfortable sleep and nice views of the city and ocean.
We were on the 8th floor and had a great western view of evening sunsets.
The italian restaturant next door didn't live up to it's hype, but the pizza was pretty good.
There is an ABC Store right next door so you can grab a couple of bottles of wine and a container of macadamia nuts to watch the sunset.
The room is comfortable, has all the necessary living amenities, and is very close to the beach.
Although there is no pool here, you can walk down to the Outrigger Reef and use theirs.
Use the Pink Trolley (pickup is right around the corner, ask the front desk for a map) for an inexpensive ($2 each way) ride to the Ala Muano shopping center or walk around the corner to streets of shopping.
We will enjoy this location again when we return from Maui.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can to see the sunset and get above the street noise (no much, but every bit help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Location and friendly, helpful staff were main pluses of the accommodations. Requests for small maintenance issues resolved in a timely manner. Slept well - not a lot of noise. Morning routine with trucks on street wasn't a big deal as we were up early. Quick access to main drag/beach for morning runs and down the street from Hard Rock Cafe. Kitchen had all necessities for 3 of us and cleaning supplies, towels, linens provided (best to ask during day when housekeeping around). We were typically greeted during our in/out, the small boutique feel was definitely present. Again, a big thank you to the staff. They made us welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some construction at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popboundsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I feel badly writing a poor review because the staff was consistently wonderful. They responded to every request we had over the week we were there. The problem is with the location and with the setup of the rooms. First, it is located on a short street which seems to be the main truck route to the various hotels in the area. There is no quiet side of this hotel. Even if there was, it would be on the "back" side, which in March 2013 was a demolition site. No doubt there will be construction there for a long time to come. This would still not be so bad if you only wanted to sleep there. However, it is far too noisy to leave the sliding doors open when sleeping, and so you must use air con at night. This leads to the problem with the room design. The air con is a wall unit that blows directly on whomever occupies the pullout sofabed. You cannot avoid this, since this wall unit is the only source of cool air for the occupants of the bedroom, who must then leave their entire wall of sliding Japanese-style doors open. So, no privacy between the rooms unless the bedroom needs no air. This is a very poor design. Similarly, the bathroom door is a slider, and in our room it didn't quite line up, and so no privacy in the loo either! The kitchen is wonderful to have, but it would be worth paying more to find a quieter hotel/condo in the area. The Lanai is huge, but again, too noisy to enjoy except late at night. Waikiki is a noisy place to begin with, but the noise in this hotel is amplified and you simply cannot escape it in any of the rooms. Sorry Outrigger staff - you were wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cndngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Overall, a good value: Outstanding location, friendly staff, reasonable room sizes. Let down by poor upkeep & maintenance. It's a basic residential option best suited for exploring Honolulu and Oahu, and definitely not for a beach resort experience. Then again, you probably knew that coming into Waikiki.

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2-bedroom unit at the end of the building. Mid-$200s AAA rate, booked directly via hotel website.

The Good
---
* Location is fantastic. Right above 3 outstanding restaurants (Ginza Bairin for Tonkatsu, Matsugen for Soba, Arancino for Italian), next to convenience stores, right in central Waikiki.
* 2-bedroom unit was plenty large for a family of 4.
* Condominium format lends a very lived-in feel.
* Great staff. Front desk & housekeeping were friendly and responsive.
* Parking is a great deal, albeit first-come first-served. $20 self-park per night, come & go as you please, can start morning of Day 1 and end evening of Day 2 for that price.
* Recently and tastefully renovated.
* All of the rooms have the view of weekly fireworks, on Fridays 7:30pm.

The Bad
---
* Limited service, no daily housekeeping.
* No onsite pool.

The Ugly
---
* Sloppy upkeep: We found dust bunnies galore behind headboards, various electronics (like WiFi router & alarm clock) unplugged, hair on bathroom floor (eww!), dried loogie-looking things on shower curtain (EWW!), stains on living room rug, burnt-out lightbulbs, dirty A/C filters and vents, mildewy shower grouts. The rooms just don't seem like they get cleaned often.
* Lagging maintenance: Visible rust on shower drains, many many wall chips and scuff marks, many loose fixture screws, maladjusted A/C thermostats, loose shower controls, loose water pipes, etc etc. Though the renovation was recent, it feels like things are going to pot quickly.

Other tips
---
* Know how to pair WiFi devices via WPS.
* Dollar/Thrifty on Kalakaua is a walking distance away, often has advance specials in $35/day range on website. Make it a 1-day rental to avoid parking charges at hotel.
* As mentioned earlier, the 3 in-building restaurants are all fantastic.
* Don't miss Henry's Place across the street, for fruits and homemade ice cream.

Room Tip: Pretty sure all of the rooms have the fireworks view. We saw it from the 3rd floor lanai, only sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,166 reviews
Waikiki Shore
#7 of 46 in Honolulu
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger

Address: 255 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $293 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Outrigger Regency on Beach Walk is an all-suite boutique condominium located on the edge of exciting Waikiki Beach Walk and short stroll away from the beach. One- and two-bedroom accommodations feature air-conditioning, complimentary high-speed Internet, 27" plasma TVs, rich hardwood floors, a spacious tiled lanai, and a designer kitchen. A popular Italian restaurant and Sundry Store are also on property. Guests are also entitled to the amenities at the neighboring Outrigger Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency on Beachwalk Waikiki by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Regency On Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Regency On Beachwalk Waikiki By Outrigger Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing