We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Ranked #83 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 21 August 2012

overall its a cool location rooms were sizeable i liked it it was queit and everything i need was in there they made the bed every day and it was very clean nice town hotel was surprised on how cheap needs to make parking mote affordabe though had tp park on the steet:( but that was the only down side

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goodresterauntseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Customer service sucks. We were 30 mins early and they would not even check us in. Not like we would go straight to the room. Not worth the $ to stay here.

Dinosaur TV with a huge remote!
No Internet at ALL!
Bathroom TINY!
Parking sucks.

NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtran222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a fairly decent and reasonably priced place for those wanting to be near Waikiki without breaking the bank. The rooms are fairly spacious however the furniture looks a somewhat dated. The TV was really old too. The bathroom smelled somewhat musty, probably due to the old shower curtain. My room faced north so my view consisted of the Ala Wai Canal and the mountains. Quite spectacular! The beach is just a short walk from the hotel and the downtown area can also be reached on foot in no time. The guys at the front desk were genuinely friendly and helpful. All in all this is a great choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WideBodyroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

From check-in to check-out, our experience at the Hawaiian Monarch was positive. The front desk was friendly and very helpful. As airline employees with family in the islands, we travel more often to the islands and have tried many of the hotels in Waikiki and we feel we have found our favourite place. The check-in process was very smooth which comes in handy after a day of flying. The rooms were clean and to our surprise, equipped with a microwave and small fridge. The bathroom had a blow dryer and there was even an ironing board and iron in the room.

The only negative for us is we don't like spending $16 per day to park our car so we decided to take the City Bus and the bus stop is a few blocks away. Under normal circumstances this would have been fine but with a bum foot in this trip, it did present a physical challenge.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGIDIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As I approached the front desk, the front desk assistant greeted my husband and me with a smile that let us know that we were welcomed at the hotel. We arrived early, so our room was not yet ready, but no problem. The hotel had a safe place where we could store our luggage until the room would be ready at 3:00 p.m. So, my husband and I went for a walk and had lunch. After lunch, we thought we would go back to the hotel and see if we could wait for our room by the pool. It was only about 1:30 or so and we expected that our room would not be ready. But, lo and behold, our room was ready. The front desk assistant registered us for our room and helped us retrieve our luggage from the safe, locked luggage storage room located beside her front desk location.

When we entered our room we were pleased at how nice, clean, and pretty it was. We had only planned on being there for one night so all the amenities that we needed for one night were there... except for ice. My husband and I travel extensively and in every hotel we have been in, there was always a way to get ice. We looked around for the ice bucket and didn't see one. So, we called the front desk and to our amazement we learned that there was no ice bucket, furthermore, there was no ice vending machine. What a bummer. But, that was the only thing negative we found about the hotel. I would advise that they get an ice vending machine on each floor. It is Hawaii, after all and Pina Coladas taste better with ice.

We discovered that we needed to find a camera shop and the front desk assistant was kind enough to recommend two camera shops for us. He even went online and printed out a map for us to find our way. We were able to find the camera shops and get what we needed. To me, that was above and beyond the call of duty. We were very pleased to have that level of service.

The bed was comfortable and we woke up the next morning to check out of the hotel. Still, the service was excellent. The front desk assistant was so friendly and helpful to everyone and he even called us a cab to get us to our destination.

I would stay at the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel again. I would even recommend that my family and friends stay here, too. The friendliness is genuine. The accommodations are beautiful and comfortable. When you are traveling, there is not much more you need from a hotel.

Room Tip: No ice machines, so buy your own ice if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
269 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
517 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#76 of 84 in Honolulu
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Monarch Hotel

Address: 444 Niu St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1830
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $149 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawaiian Monarch Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel. Serving as the entrance into Waikiki, located conveniently along the Ala Wai Canal, just blocks to the sands of the mighty Pacific, the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel offers the perfect location to take advantage of all the attractions of Honolulu. Nestled in the heart of Honolulu, the Hawaiian Monarch is the ideal hotel for attending functions at the Hawaii Convention Center, shopping at the world-famous Ala Moana Center, and exploring the many boutique shops along Kalakaua Avenue. Shopping and dining can be found in any price range surrounding the hotel, not to mention picturesque Waikiki Beach, known as "the birthplace of surfing", and home to the most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawaiian Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Monarch Honolulu
Hotel Hawaiian Monarch
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing