We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low cost but low quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Ranked #83 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 20 February 2017

just got back from 2 weeks in Hawaii. did 1 week in maui and 1 week in Oahu. Stayed at this hotel for 3 days. Ended up booking another hotel and left this room empty for the remainder of the trip. Hotel is dated and has a disgusting muggy smell. Rooms are dirty. Building very dated. Elevators are slow. parking is 25$ USD a day which is paid upfront. Stay elsewhere... Very outdated.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelwop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Had an excellent experience. Staff were friendly and social, sun terrace was beautiful with sun all day long. Close enough to shops, beach and restaurant. Good price for what is on offer! Would stay again!

The only downside was finding holes in the bedsheets otherwise an overall superb stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CamillaKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I had a recent business meeting in Honolulu and my family decided to join me :-). It was cost prohibitive for me to book 2 hotel rooms at the Convention hotels.So we looked at various alternatives and found this location through Airbnb - a first for us.
After reading all the reviews, mapping its location and proximity to the Hawaiian Convention Center, we settled on this location.
Our flight arrived near midnight local time after having left the East coast around noon. We finally got to our condo, exhausted and tired. The ride from the airport was about 20 minutes. We got our keys and decided to park our car. We were surprised to learn that parking was $25/day - CASH for guests, payable upfront. Fortunately, we were able to muster some cash and pay in advance for the next several days and parked our car. We then proceeded to check into our condo. The entrance to our condo led us to 2 doors, each leading to an individual room/unit.
The rooms were modest, each with a queen bed and individual bathrooms. They each had a tiny kitchenette, refrigerator and sink.
We crashed and slept for a few hours to wake up to brilliant sunshine and spectacular views. The rooms were average, and the bathrooms really needed an upgrade with metal streaks in the bathtub and caulk falling off from various areas.
I somewhat knew this but was surprised to how shoddy it was. But, we were not staying here for the amenities but rather the location and lower cost. It was in Waikiki, near the other big hotels, convention center and the beach - all within a 10-15 minute walk. And I feel, this is where this hotel/condo delivered.
We had a great time and I do not recall anyone one ever complaining about the hotel or their room. We were able to get out every day and do what we wanted. Several chain stores like 7-11 and ABC are nearby for any amenities you may need and the the prices were comparable to the mainland.
Overall, I would say, our stay was a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Can get noisy, choose a higher floor, parking is cash only and $25/day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The location is the only thing good about this place. The rooms are filthy! The bathtub has not been properly cleaned in years! The beds are very hard, the pillows are flat, the sheets are not changed regularly. The walls and carpets are dirty. Don't even think of sitting on the room chairs without a towel. No wifi in rooms and is hit & miss in the "business centre". The attached parking is a rip off, they only have a 24 hour option. Cash only and they complain about writing a receipt. They never marked down my departure time and so I had to pay twice in the same day. Stay away from the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel ! I met several other people in the elevator that said the same things. By the way, elevators were always malfunctioning. Most days 1 or 2 of six , operating, leading to long waits. The place has a very bad odor.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jenkoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Great amenities. Lovely pool, spa pool and BBQ area but the BBQ could do with a flat plate as well as the grill.
Nykky was most helpful at Check out time calling a shuttle and ringing through to confirm ongoing places for us.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ilmfdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
486 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
682 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Monarch Hotel

Address: 444 Niu St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1830
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $149 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawaiian Monarch Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel. Serving as the entrance into Waikiki, located conveniently along the Ala Wai Canal, just blocks to the sands of the mighty Pacific, the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel offers the perfect location to take advantage of all the attractions of Honolulu. Nestled in the heart of Honolulu, the Hawaiian Monarch is the ideal hotel for attending functions at the Hawaii Convention Center, shopping at the world-famous Ala Moana Center, and exploring the many boutique shops along Kalakaua Avenue. Shopping and dining can be found in any price range surrounding the hotel, not to mention picturesque Waikiki Beach, known as "the birthplace of surfing", and home to the most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawaiian Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Monarch Honolulu
Hotel Hawaiian Monarch
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing