We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
US$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$263
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$390
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$304
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$213
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$322
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$258
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$925
US$569
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,612)
Filter reviews
5,612 results
Traveller rating
2,821
1,600
647
291
253
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,821
1,600
647
291
253
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingoldest hotelbeautiful hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3,275 - 3,280 of 5,612 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel has a great facade, it’s interior matches in nearly all respects until you are given your room ... The old centre section matches the facade, old world and what you would expect for your money … then you come to the east wing or Diamond wing, this is where our room was, the room was clean, very comfortable bed but the room was a bit tired, had adequate furnishings – table chairs etc. a standard bathroom – bath/shower combination, vanity sink (a little mould on the wall) adjacent to the toilet with a toilet seat that needed bolting to the base to stop it moving around … our room had a few maintenance issues which were addressed over time, but the biggest problem we had was that the walls were a thick as tissue paper and you could hear those on either side of you burp, not an ideal situation. The staff were attentive to there duties and would speak when spoken too, but in my opinion appeared not overly happy in their work. Weddings, if there was one there was half a dozen a day it was as if they were being churned out on a conveyor belt and got to be a bit funny in the end trying to workout who was with who. For what was on offer at the Moana Surfrider (drinks and no bar nibbles) we found it cheaper to cross the road to the Princess Ka’iulani and enjoy the drinks and free nibbles there, but to be fair at the Moana you were on the beach with the view and sunset and when you got your tab it did have the cost break down, as in cost of the item, tax payable, an 18% tip and a 20% tip worked out with the corresponding totals, which was excellent when you come from a land that doesn’t as a rule tip; on the whole the hotel looks good but is over priced for what you got.

Room Tip: Try for the west wing it may be better
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

What I really enjoyed about this hotel is its beautiful design. The entryway is grand, hallways are wide, and ceilings are high all around. It is clear this wonderful hotel was conceived in another era. The rooms are simple, but they fit with the overall feel of the hotel. The hotel is situated in a nice spot on the beach. I look forward to staying there again on another trip to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you so much for your beautiful review on the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful architecture of the resort. A rejuvenation project was completed to restore the resort to its original grandeur. As the recipient of prestigious awards such as the President's Historic Preservation Award, the National Renaissance Merit Award and the Exemplary Architecture Design Award, the resort proudly stands as a symbol of history and elegance in Waikiki. Please visit us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Recently we asked a staff member at the Moana hotel "Trip and Outings" desk.to coordinate a Hawaii boat trip. The boat trip went very well but as we later found out had I made the arrangement directly with the catamaran captain, it would have cost $1000 and not the $1500 the hotel charged. The upcharge was not disclosed at the time of the booking and when the question was raised the hotel Trip director insinuated there was no mark up and everything was "just right." Bottom line, next time it will be faster, easier and less expensive to make the arrangements directly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had the privilege of staying at the Moana for 6 days. This hotel is not new by any means. We arrived on its 111th birthday. We were greeted with leis and some delicious birthday cake. Our stay was in a deluxe city view room and we had family in an ocean view suite. The city room gave a partial view of the ocean and not much view of the city which was OK with me. The room was clean and the bathroom was very accommodating in size. Two free waters a day was nice and no minibar to contend with. The hotel has a variety of things to do if you cant occupy your whole time while in Oahu. The gym is sizable and has everything you need for working out. In all everything you need for a stay at the beach.

The ocean view suite was also amazing but we didn't stay there so i cant properly review it.

Lastly i saw some people waiting to check into their room by the front desk, while the desk staff was busy one staff guy tried to slip away for a minute and got discretely reprimanded and told to stay because people were waiting. So in all they seem very eager to please.

Room Tip: Staff at hotel is very friendly, they will find a way to accommodate you. So make a firned and you may get a room upgrade if your nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wershingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Mahalo Nui Loa for spending six days with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. It's a privilege to have had you as our guest. We are glad to hear that you were able to celebrate with us our 111th birthday. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I have come here every March for more than 20 years, and continue to find the Moana Surfrider a great way to recover from New England winters, even this year when winter wasn't much. Prices have risen but are not excessive considering the unique value the hotel offers. Regrettably, SPG Platinum members are no longer eligible for upgrade to suites, now reclassified as "premier suites" so our room this year was not as comfortable as in the past. Hotel seems to be concentrating on Japanese tourists; sometimes the English of Guest Service personnel on the phone was hard to understand.

This year, our room overlooked Kalakaua Avenue, noisy at night (making it hard for U. S. East Coast visitors to get to sleep early enough)---a problem in the past. This year, our housekeeper, Merlita De Leon, suggested a white-noise machine, whose ocean setting and volume control blocked out the street noise, and we slept very well. In a hotel with notably good service generally, she is the best housekeeper we've ever encountered, asking multiple times with a sincere smile if we needed anything. Truly a value-adding person, who makes it worth asking for a 9th-floor room!

Long-time pool captain Gloria always makes our time in her area comfortable and enjoyable. Compared to other Waikiki hotels, the atmosphere here is noticeably more relaxed, friendly and inviting for guests. Despite a large tower, and lots of patronage at breakfast (where another veteran server, Tony, also provided great service worthy of special mention), the hotel always feels uncrowded---a great place to relax!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldCTProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Starwood and the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. It is always very special to hear from our valued Platinum return guests and we hope that you know how much we appreciate your loyalty. We would also like to thank you for mentioning Merlita, Gloria and Tony in your review and taking the time to recognize their great service. As for the street noise, our Executive Management team is continuing to explore ways in reducing and/or eliminating the negative impacts on our guest experiences. We sincerely appreciate you choosing us and coming here every March for more than 20 years! We look forward to your return in the coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews