We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly overated, but comfortable surrounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 May 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights with our 7 month old. on arrival, we were told that the baby crib would be already in our room: it wasn't. we also faced a slightly noisier part of the waikik strip. being a weekend when we checked in, there was some loud live music that permeated the walls / balcony door.

the hotel room also didn't have an electric kettle. we enquired with front desk staff...who told me i needed to RENT one with concierge, who unfortunately were gone for the day (it was around 9.30pm). The next morning, we rang the operator and was told that someone from Housekeeping would bring one to us. and they did quite quickly!

the bed is as heavenly as they market it to be. housekeeping do a really good job with getting our rooms tidy! we had a rental car that we had to park across the road from the hotel at their sister hotel. that car park had no lifts. we had a baby and stroller and had to walk the length of the ramp down to the ground floor.

we also paid a daily resort fee. $25 got us wifi, free parking for one day, bottled water and other things like cultural activities, etc.

the pool there is small, but made up for the fact that it sits right on waikiki. that was a big plus for us and our young one.

will i pay to stay here again? probably not... it was a grand hotel, no doubt... but i would stay at the sheraton waikiki the next time.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor (or pay for one) and one that doesn't face the noisier side of waikiki str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewpielovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,055 - 3,059 of 5,430 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for one night April 2012. From check-in to check-out, we had a wonderful relaxing day at the Moana Surfrider and everything were consistent with the Westin brand standard. The hotel's exterior is beautifully restored and the lobby area is nice to take a break from an exhilarating vacation.

The nice check-in agent upgraded our room to a Banyan Classic Ocean View Double Room. The room was very spacious and nicely appointed. Be aware that there are no balconies/lanais and windows are small. But otherwise, we enjoyed the Westin Heavenly beds and the bathroom was very clean.

During our stay at the Westin, we ate at the Beach Bar for lunch and the Veranda for breakfast. We received excellent service at both of them and the food were tasty. I definitely recommend the Veranda for breakfast (you get nice views of the ocean!)

The pool is small for the size of the hotel and if you want a pool chair, you'd have to be there early (8am). But the location of the hotel allows you to just walk from the room to the beach in less than five minutes. The location is excellent as you're in the heart of Waikiki and is very close to public transportation.

Overall, we had a great stay and will be back next time!

Room Tip: Banyan Wing Ocean View rooms with double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infinity96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

5 nights at the Royal Hawaian, 6 nights in Maui at the Hyatt and 1 night at the Moana.

The Moana was definitely my least favorite. The hotel common areas are beautiful, but unfortunately the rest of my experiences were just average. The room was clean, but lacked a personality and could have used some updating. Maybe there are better rooms in other parts of the hotel.

The pool is small and I don’t get up early enough to get a chair.

The coffee in the restaurant was worse than instant coffee and the food was not much better (only ate breakfast).

My two experiences with the hotel staff were great. Check-In and requesting a courtesy room to shower before the flight home. Both individuals were extremely nice, friendly and helpful.

I can see why others may enjoy this hotel, but I would most likely not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelToTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and loved it.
Pros- atmosphere, location which was super convenient and close to many restaurants, beach rental area was $50 but totally worth it, breakfast buffet- we booked a package that included it and was terrific
cons- we booked the 2nd most expensive room- the diamond oceanfront. So glad I was prepared before going or would have been very disappointed in the rooms. It was not what you would expect for the price paid. It was dingy, you could barely walk out on the balcony and the bathroom was very small and in desperate need of an upgrade.

Side note- check out japenga for happy hour across the street. Amazing food and drinks and is an especially good deal until 7.

Room Tip: Spring for the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at the Moana back in March 2010 for my birthday. Ever since i saw this hotel in a magazine it has always been on my bucketlist to stay here if only for a few nights (it is expensive, but well worth it).
Located right on the beach, in the centre of Waikiki, with all the great shopping and dining only a short walk.
I was fortunate enough to be upgraded from a city view room to an Ocean view - my first ocean view room i had ever had the oppurtunity to stay in in Hawaii. The room was massive with a great big King bed and the bathroom was particularly nice and well maintained. My view was maginificient with now obstructions and i was also fortunate enough to have a great view of Diamond Head as well.
The hotel interior in the lobby and elsewhere was magnificent, and kept it's old historical look. The staff were fantastic, and if i ever had the oppurtunity to stay again i would go back in a heart beat.
Overall - a great place to stay, friendly staff, pristine rooms and well maintained grounds... right on the beach!!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with an outlook to Diamond Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,245 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $453 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing