We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$188
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$190
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
US$219
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Waikiki Resort Hotel(Honolulu)
US$158
US$144
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,656)
Filter reviews
5,656 results
Traveller rating
2,846
1,610
652
292
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,846
1,610
652
292
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
3,061 - 3,066 of 5,656 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Moana Surfrider Westin, Oahu, Hawaii was a magnificent hotel in which to experience a first trip to Hawaii. The eloquence of "the Grand Old Lady" of Oahu hotels was extraordinary.

The hotel staff were most helpful in suggesting sights, and the restaurant wait-staff were quick to service our needs, pour additional drinks and suggest deserts to accompany our meals. Their attention to each guest at our table was welcomed.

The rooms were large with sitting areas, desks and tables included. With the oceanfront view included, it made for an enjoyable, memorable trip andI would highly recommend the Moana Surfrider Westin.

Patricia. Polito

Room Tip: It is worth your time and money to ask for an ocean-front room so that you may experience the calming sounds of the ocean surf as you are resting within your room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Aloha,
We feel so honored to have welcomed you to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your first trip to Hawai’i and are delighted to hear your experience was “extraordinary.” Our associates are highly trained in customer service so we are delighted to hear that you have been a recipient of such service. Yes, being an Ocean Front hotel, we receive many wonderful comments about the views of Waikiki Beach that many of our guestrooms provide. We are happy that you were able to enjoy such views! Knowing we have made your stay memorable means the world to us and we hope we have inspired you to return to the “First Lady of Waikiki” for your next visit.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave... classy! Spend the money for an oceanview tower room. Amazing beds, beautiful views, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed hanging out on the back patio.

Room Tip: Oceanview Tower if you want to see it all! You can see the patio at night where they're entertaining at night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Aloha,
Thank you for your review. Our credo for the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is “First Lady, First Class” and we’re happy to hear that our guests are experiencing this first-hand. From our Heavenly beds, beautiful views of Waikiki Beach and associates filled with the Aloha spirit, we strive to help our guests create Moana memories they will cherish forever. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

First off, let me say that our bed was the most comfortable bed the wife and I have ever slept in. Without a doubt. Period.

We stayed in room 232 and had heard that these 'city-facing' rooms could make sleeping at night an issue due to the street noise. We were overlooking the front of the hotel, right where everyone pulls up and walks by. But we slept like babies every night. Some of that could be attributed to the fact that we had very busy days, and to the fact that someone had left their sound machine in our room, but still, we are fairly light sleepers and got a good night's sleep every night.

The room was nicely appointed and small, but larger than we anticipated with a king-size bed, sitting area consisting of a bench, armoire, small bathroom with decent-sized glass shower, entertainment center, small desk, etc. Was enough room to move around comfortably, but not a place to spend a lot of leisure time.

Staff was helpful, but not plentiful, and were often catering to the MANY weddings being held by Asian brides. From our room, we could go directly downstairs to the lobby area, but were often walking right into a photo session of a bride and groom being photographed.

We expected the hotel to be less crowded during late October, but it was not. Fairly filled and fairly busy. We were happy to spend most of day away from the hotel itself as there really isn't much to do there.

Pool was clean and available during off hours. Beach access is plentiful, but hotel-reserved beach area is practically non-existent. Fortunately, Waikiki this time of year has plenty of open beach to move about. We jumped in the ocean at 7am and had the area pretty much to ourselves.

We did not dine much at the MS, but did dine at the Beachhouse and had an excellent meal (had a thai pepper whole snapper). We were a bit disappointed when after reserving their "best" sunset table months before, were relegated to their "second" best. Not really much of a difference, but not sure how far out you have to actually ask for that table. Service was good, food was pricey, atmosphere was very pretty, but also felt like you were an extension of the noisy beach bar area which sat adjacent.

Hotel took care of us adequately for our honeymoon with room treats and complementary dessert at dinner. Thanks!

Minor issue with valet parking being charged twice which was resolved, albeit after a call which lasted longer than it should have. Self-parking is "across the street" (not really) at their sister hotel. Give yourself an extra 5-10 minutes to get to/from your car each day. Parking is part of the resort fee, as is the adequate wireless internet service.

Overall, a decent stay at a historic hotel. But considering how much time we spent away from the hotel, we'd choose a less refined hotel and save some money next time.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Aloha,
Mahalo for being our guest and sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your new life together as a married couple! So pleased to know you’ve enjoyed the treats provided in celebration of your honeymoon. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Heavenly beds and received a restful sleep each evening. The beachhouse at the moana is a popular dining option for our guests, as well as those visiting Waikiki. We’re disappointed to hear of the issue’s you’ve experienced with both our valet and wedding photographers. Your review has been shared with our management staff so that we may continue to improve the experience for each of our guests. If you’d like to discuss your stay further, please contact 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next trip to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We are staying here for our honeymoon. I booked an oceanfront room...which is vey small but the views are beautiful. The decor is meh, but the bed is very comfortable. My major complaint is the service. It has been horrible. We sat at the pool for 1 hour and no one came to ask if we would like to order food/drinks. We decided to just go sit at a table at the beach bar so we could get some refreshments. We sat there for 30 minutes, and my husband finally had to just flag down a waitress so that we could order. Her response..."I'm not your server but I'll see if I can find her". After our drinks came no one checked on us for over an hour. The waitress finally came back...not to see if we needed anything but to tell us she needed to settle our bill because she was being cut. I've had better service from a fast food restaurant. It hasn't gotten any better either. Our room wasn't made up until after 3pm. Don't stay here, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poolegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Aloha,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear that you have loved the breathtaking views. It is regrettable to hear of your concerns pertaining to the service provided while dining at the Beach Bar. Our Beach Bar and Guest Services managers have advised our office that messages were left for you so that we could follow-up immediately. Should you wish to reach out to us, please do so via e-mail 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of each guest. We do apologize that this was not the case during your visit. We value our guests’ feedback as this allows us the opportunity to continue to improve our services. Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to inviting you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next vacation.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I were there November 5-10. Our arrival was perfect, we received lei's, there was water and tea to accommodate us. The feel of Hawaii was definitely in everyone that helped us.
The first 3 nights we stayed in the Diamond Wing Oceanfront room, it was lovely! Then 2 nights we switched to the Tower Partial Ocean room, We really enjoyed this room, it was spacious and loved the scenery!
The breakfast was to die for! The food was fabulous and drinks at the beach bar was delish! I can't wait to go back! The beds were truly heavenly! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Aloha Barbara,
Mahalo for your review. We’re delighted to hear you had such a “great” stay! From our lei greeting to our heavenly beds and amazing dining options, it’s hard not to enjoy your stay at the Moana Surfrider. We hope to welcome you back to the “First Lady of Waikiki” on your next visit to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews