We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shakes. Better than ordinary fast food burgers and fries.”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #1,028 of 2,164 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Steak 'n Shake, a classic American brand, was founded in 1934 in Normal, Illinois by Gus Belt who pioneered the concept of premium burgers and milkshakes. For over 80 years, the company's name has been symbolic of its heritage. The word "steak" stood for steakburger. The term "shake" stood for hand-dipped milkshakes. Gus was determined to serve his customers the finest burgers and shakes in the business. Today, Steak 'n Shake remains the "better burger" leader, serving premium 100% beef steakburgers, hand-dipped milkshakes, thin crispy fries, and more. Steakburgers are made without preservatives or artificial ingredients, topped with fresh produce, and always hand-crafted to order. Other classics include the Frisco Melt, 7x7, Prime Steakburgers, and fan favorite M&M milkshakes.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Quick fun meal for lunch or dinner. Old fashioned atmosphere. Burgers are smashed thin and quick cooked.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank StevenS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

We walked into the Steak 'n Shake on Sunday evening (Father's Day.) The sign says "wait to be seated." So we stood there, getting more uncomfortable as our shoes were sticking to the floor in the area in front of the cash register. We must have just missed the dinner rush because only about 30% of the tables were occupied - but all the empty ones were crowded with plates and glasses. None of the employees acknowledged us so after several minutes (and no sign the tables were going to be bussed anytime soon) we turned around and walked out. I returned a few days later for a mid-afternoon milkshake "to-go". The floor was still sticky and the milkshake (actually a vanilla malt) had so much malt powder I didn't bother to finish it.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We love the shakes and fries here! Karen was a great server and handled lots of tables very well. Convenient location in Montgomery!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank luckyno39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Everyone knows what Steak N Shake serves. It is a chain. But not every Steak N Shake has wonderful staff. I want to thank our server, Ryan, for her kind service. I was eating with my adult son who has autism. Ryan was attentive to his requests for crayons and a page to color as well as his request for his water to be in a to-go cup. This visit was not the first time she has been our server and she always goes the extra mile. She is to be recognized for her outstanding service. Eating out with a special needs person is often a difficult thing because my son wants things in a particular manner. As an adult man who functions like a child people often are either put off or forget he is a person like anyone else. Ryan met him where he is. I truly appreciate this. Hopefully management recognizes her talents. I would recommend this restaurant for others with special needs.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This stop was beyond horrible. Pisspoor service and of course didnt get orders right....why would they. By far the worst steak n shake I have ever been to

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank mclaugh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing