We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$227
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$360
US$320
Rush Creek Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake View Lodge(Lee Vining)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
June Lake Villager(June Lake)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Bear Cottages(Yosemite National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
21
48
26
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
48
26
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stationflush toiletstioga roadbathroom buildingyosemite valleystayed nights herelabor day weekendbear boxesbathrooms were cleanmonths in advancesitesrvrangerslopedneighborscampprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at Crane Flat June 15-18, 2012 and though the location was fantastic. We did our research and chose the 500's loop, on the outer side with our site #522. Our site was flat with picnic table, fire ring, and bear locker. Please do your research because the inner ring of the 500's have a hill to them. If you are ok with a slope in your tent, then fine.

Please keep in mind that the bathrooms have NO lights, so I suggest that you buy a headlamp if you don't have one already. You cannot bathe in these bathrooms, but you can pay $5 for a shower in Curry Village. They had plenty of toilet paper and flush toilets, but can get a bit crowded at times. Out side they do have a hopper to dump waste, and an outside faucet.

In June bring Off bug spray as the mosquitos are out in full force. Or, you can have a fire going which really discourages the mosquitos. You can collect firewood from the surrounding campsites, but please keep in mind that you would need to bring your own hatchet if you want to cut any wood. Pine cones and pine needles are protected, and cannot be burned.

The elevation is 6200 feet, so it can get a bit chilly at night. I would suggest bringing long pants and a jacket just for nights/mornings.

You are right by the gas station, AND the east/west Tioga Road, so you are in a perfect location away from the massive crowds in the valley. We will definitely go back to Crane Flat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just came back from Yosemite Park and had a pretty good experience at Crane Flat campground. You'll certainly enjoy their huge campsites with plenty of space to set up your tent, bear proof food containers, spots for 2 cars, table + benches and fire ring. The only non-convenient part is that there's no showers ($ 5 at Curry Village). There's a grocery store and a gas station pretty close to the campground.
My tips if you're going to stay at Crane Flat:
– Make sure to take a flashlight with you. The place is dark at night and there's no electric light at the restrooms.
– Fill up your car's tank outside of the park, since all the gas stations inside the park are pricey.
– Take a warm jacket even if you go in the middle of the summer. The early mornings and nights are cold.
– Please drive slowly. Bears, deers and other animals can cross your way at any time!

Room Tip: I stayed at site 209. It was very spacious and close to the restrooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
20  Thank vanessa_rossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed two nights at Crane Flat Campground. It is located 8 miles inside the highway 120 gate and 16 miles from Yosemite Valley (about a 20-30 minute drive). We arrived on a Wednesday and set up camp in the early afternoon. That allowed us time to set up and go into the valley to orient ourselves and do some sightseeing before our full day on Thursday.

The camp itself was very dusty and many of the sites are not level. Site 102 was fairly level and had room enough for three tents and was next to the restrooms and water. The camp was also very smoky at night from all the campfires. We found that the camp was pretty quiet from 10:00pm to 6:00am. Although this camp is set at 6100 ft and the area is pretty scenic, we would not otherwise stay here if it were not for the proximity to Yosemite Valley. This place was a little too basic for our tastes.

On Thursday morning, we had reservations for the Valley Floor Tour. It is a two hour tram tour that shows all of the highlights of the valley. It was well worth the cost and gave us many photo opportunities. We then walked up to lower Yosemite Falls and later swam in the Merced River.

During our visit all of the National Park staff and DNC staff were friendly and helpful. Yosemite is a truly specatular place and worth the effort to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank watchman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here 1 night in July, with our camper (23 foot). We had a great spacious site and enjoyed staying here. It can be a little bit noisy after the quiet hours. But it is a beautiful campground middle in nature. Very nice ranger walked along and invited us for information evening. Toilets have no light at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SasPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just got back from spending a long weekend up in Yosemite. We stayed at The Crane Flat Campground. It was nice campground. But as others have said most sites are sloped. We were in camp site number 440. It was a small site. We could barely put 2 tents on it. This camp ground does have flushing toilets, but does not have electricity in the bathrooms and they are not very clean. The bathrooms near our camp site were broken. So we had to walk down the road to the other ones. Whitch was not so much fun with a 2 year old that has just recently became potty trained.

If you don’t plan on being at your camp site to much and or cooking and entertaining. Than this would be a good spot for you. If you plan on having more than 4 people. You may want to look at some of the other camp grounds or look at a different site on one of the other loops.

All in all we had fun, the park it’s self is breathtaking and we will be back again, just not sure if it will be to Crane Flat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Funfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews