We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sites, bad sites”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crane Flat Campground
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had sites on both the 200 loop and the 400 loop. The 200 loop was fine with adequate space between sites, level tent areas, working fire pits and picnic tables, and a use-able bathroom building though one of the stalls and one of the sinks were out of order. And for the price of the sites, there should be hot water and lights in the bathroom building. There is neither!
On the other hand, our sites on the 400 loop were horrible. Not enough space next to noisy (large group) neighbours, plus extremely hilly sites, broken picnic table on a slant that could not be made level, and 2 of the bathroom buildings were shut down altogether. One had a row of dirty construction site portable toilets outside. We did locate one bathroom building that was open but it was a messy disaster with toilet paper strewn everywhere. We finally found a real, usable bathroom (with hot water and lights!) at the gas station near the campground entrance. Wish we'd known about it sooner!

Crane Flats campground has a very convenient location, central to everything, but with the site and bathroom problems as noted, it was pretty much a hole for the price we paid.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VncrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Crane Flat is well-positioned for a quick day trip to Yosemite Valley or heading east up Tioga Road. Our site, as many others, was relatively close to the sites on either side, but that's kind of the nature of the ecosystem there. Next time we'll aim for site on the outside perimeter of the campground. I've also seen better restroom facilities at State Parks--but all around a decent campground.

A few issues:
-When we arrived, the sinks in the men's restroom were clogged. The host said they'd put in a work order two weeks ago, but the Valley always gets priority. By our second day, they had been fixed.
-The host was nice and knowledgeable, but after our first two nights, he disappeared, and so the campground was host-less at least until we left three days later. I find this a little unnerving--occasionally a ranger will drive through at dusk, and one is stationed at the entry booth up at the road from 9-5, but if there is an emergency or problem at night--there's no cell reception there--what happens?

For instance, there was a family with a trailer that they left their dog in all day while they were out (my own opinion is that you bring the animal, the animal stays with you wherever you go- or don't bring it.) It howled and barked as night came--but there was no one to complaint to--and a neighbor of theirs said they were up way past curfew most nights being noisy--to the point that he was leaving a day early. I did leave a note on the ranger station our last night--and the next morning I noticed the offenders were gone.

A ranger told us Yosemite not only is short-staffed, but now is getting 5.5 m visitors a year. So how does the US gov respond? DOI director Zinke is planning on reducing the National Park budget by 13 percent. Guess we have to fund the tax cuts somehow...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank d-rad-ncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We booked our seven night stay on the morning of April 15 the first date they were making reservation for this time period in the park. The signs all said campground full when we arrived but on some nights they had a few sites available for one night only.
It is convent located by Big Oak Flat Road and Tioga Road. That permits you to chose whether to go to the Valley or the high country. There is a store nearby and the only gestation in the park is at that store.
There are a few loops of campsites. We stayed in the first one. A lot of the area was sloped. We picked the most level spot for our tent. Some people came late and put their tents five feet from us. We were there for Labor Day weekend. There were some groups of people that did make a bit of noise. Things were quite as the week went on. WE did to have a lot of privacy. There were sites at the bottom of the loop that were more level and private. Someone put grease down the sinks in themes bathroom during the long weekend and got them plugged up. That got fixed on Tuesday after the weekend. There were fires burin in other parts of the Park. The Valley was usual smokey. Sometime there was a little smoke in the campground other times there was none. We found that if we went to the high country above 8,000 feet elevation it was clear of smoke. It was pretty clear by Vernal Fall and Nevada falls. Also clear at Mirror Lake. Other times it was very peaceful at or campsite and we enjoyed our stay.
If you go to the Valley we were told to get there before 9:00 AM. We got there at 8:30 AM on the weekend and got some of the last parking places in the Valley. There is a shuttle to take you around in it as yo will not find another parking place later in the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnYa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

It was nice to see rangers that cared about bear safety. The sites are not very private however that is the type of land it is on. Good option for the itinerary of our trip. No actual hikes in the camp ground that I am aware of but a couple just a drive away. The washroom facilities although were flush toilets were just in horrendous condition. No soap available either. You have to book months in advance.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ag3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This campground in centrally located between Yosemite Valley (17 miles), Hetch Hetchy (25 miles), and Tuolumne Meadows (39 miles). If you plan to spend your time in more than just the valley, this campground is a good pick for location. It's also located very close to Tuolumne Grove; a short 1 mile hike to a small grove of 25 giant sequoia trees. There's a store and gas station located close by which is really convenient for last minute supplies. I agree with the other reviews that the bathrooms need to be cleaned. There were flush toilets and plenty of toilet paper, but the sinks and dishwater dumping stations were in bad shape. We camped in site #116 and had plenty of privacy and space. Our site was sloped with very little flat ground but that really didn't bother us. There is absolutely no cellphone reception at the campsite or around Tuolumne Meadows. You will get reception in Yosemite Valley. Overall, we had a good experience camping here. This was not our first time visiting or camping in Yosemite and we enjoyed exploring some new areas of the park. If you are a Yosemite first timer you may want to consider staying in the valley as you could easily spend all your time there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
9.9 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
571 reviews
17.6 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
19.7 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.7 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,114 reviews
13.3 km away
Cozy Bear Cottages
Cozy Bear Cottages
#9 of 23 in Yosemite National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crane Flat Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane Flat Campground

Address: Big Oak Flat and Tioga roads, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Crane Flat Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing