We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,413)
Filter reviews
4,413 results
Traveller rating
3,186
855
254
79
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,186
855
254
79
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity blue all inclusive package indian restaurant our honeymoon zenzi bar c beach club african drums free massage seven colours jean marie a la carte restaurants walk in wardrobe nature reserve boat trip main bar swimming with dolphins great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,631 - 2,636 of 4,413 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for 10 days. The hotel itself is impressive with beautiful infinity pools around the main buildings. We had a garden room on the third floor which was a good size with a lovely bathroom. The shower was one of the best we have had at a hotel.

Hosekeeping service was OK except that one day our room wasn't cleaned. When we called to get it fixed they sent a maid who did a quick clean whilst we waited on the balcony. However when she left she locked the door to the balcony leaving us stranded outside. Fortunately we were able to attract the attention of another guest who was walking across the garden who called reception to let us back into the room. However, my wife's main complaint was that she constantly asked the staff for a face cloth but was only provided with one once. Not really good enough in a hotel of this class.

There are 4 restaurants. The Balafon Buffet Restaurant was good apart from the a' la carte night when the food was poor. The buffets were themed and had a good selection of food - not a chip in sight! Infinity Blue on the beach was the best in our opinion. Here the food was a' la carte and good quality with excellent service. The Seven Colours was a disappointment and we only went once. The Le Chateau evening was very nice but the drinks (not included in the all inclusive deal) were expensive.

The beach service was very good and drinks and lunch could be provided if wanted. Our main disappointment was that it was almost impossible to swim in the sea. It is fairly shallow and there is a strong current running down the beach. A lot of the days we were there the tide was low during the day which meant even shallower water. Also the watersports do not operate at low tide. The swimming pools are beautiful but were quite cold so not a place to linger. We enjoyed several long walks along the beach in both directions. The sand it quite gritty and not that easy on the feet.

The highlight of our stay was to hire the Pearl speedboat, which is moored off the beach, for a day. We went swimming with the wild dolphins over the reef, snorkeling on the west coast, and then had a BBQ of lobster, tuna and chicken on an island - all prepared by our crew.

Overall this was a great holiday and we would have given the resort 5 stars but for the problems with housekeeping and our inability to swim (my wife was recovering from an operation and particularly wanted to swim every day to build up her strength). The staff are wonderful and we cannot praise them highly enough. They were all friendly and helpful. We would definitely visit Mauritius again but probably not this hotel for the reasons stated.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BluestreakCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the heritage awali for our honeymoon from 28th May 2011- this hotel is absolutely wonderful. We booked a beachfront room and were glad we did - it was amazing waking up to bright blue water and palm trees outside our window every morning - amazing.

The hotel is amazingly clean and actually smells delicious! They have orange and cinammon wafting through the hotel it was lovely!! There are lots of pools separating most of the restaurants and bars which make for a lovely, romantic setting. The main buffet restaurant for dinner was very very good - my husband and i work in the food industry so do appreciate good food and this was the best buffet food we've ever had on holiday. The lunchtime food at amafrooty and infinity blue is also excellent and also offer a really good selection- from pizzas and pasta to sandwiches and salads.

We did visit the seven colours restaurant one night for which we had a supplement (AI) and honestly it was probably the poorest meal we had there. Our starters were .. bizarre if i'm honest. I had the beetroot canneloni and was very disappointed, however, my main course of lamb was amazing, again, we thought dessert was a bit bizarre and maybe trying a little too hard. Maybe try le chateaux instead?

One night we were given the opportunity to visit the C beach club which was lovely - a lot more modern, very cool and funky and the food really was fantastic - a really good experience!

The beach can get a little full on the right side of the resort so we stayed on the left side and we thought it was lovely. We had brilliant beach service from our waiter and even woke up to some delicious cocktails in the afternoon! The all inclusive package is the most comprehensive we've ever come across and the cocktail menu is brilliant!

We travelled out of season and the weather on the whole was fantastic (I was a bit worried) it was between 28-30 every day with a couple of minutes rain on most days. It definately didnt cause us any problems!

We did go out on a quad bike trip one day where we visited the national park. The quad biking was so much fun! we had a really good laugh, saw some amazing views, and swam in a beautiful crisp fresh waterfall. A definate must!

Overall an absolutely wonderful honeymoon that we would love to repeat as soon as we can. The staff at the awali really do make the place a wonderful experience, they are all so happy, friendly and helpful!!

And lastly - we booked business flights through air france for our trip and the service was AMAZING. Initially it felt like a big expense but it was definately worthe every penny. 6 hours sleep on the plane and delicious food meant that we arrived both there and home feeling refreshed. If you can, definately upgrade your flight!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank debzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I do not normally write reviews but love reading tripadvisor when booking hotels & holidays, but on this holiday resort I felt I had to.
First a few things that could have been better:-
The sunbeds could do with the cushions being replaced ,
The T.V's in the bedroom should be flat screens as the hotel is 5 star
The menu for lunchtime could do with more variety as there are only two places for lunch.
This is being really picky as there really isn't much to say on the negative.

NOW:-
A lovely welcome reception of cool towel & drink, then given a tour of resort.
We were then shown to our room really large although rather dark,Very large bed with settee in the bedroom,also a settee on the balcony,we were upgraded to ocean view room it seems that everyone was although this was nice would not want to pay extra for this as all rooms are same size.The bathroom is spacious as there are his & her sinks , a rainshower large shower as well as bathrobes & slippers.We were then asked at what time we would like our room cleaned every day & what time would we like turndown.
The drinks are premium brands & champagne not French as it says but South African as is the wine both of good quality.
Canapes are seved in the Bar from 7 in the evening different each night & waiter service is available around the pools & on the beach, something quite lovely sat on the beach & a glass of champagne being brought to you.
We only ate buffet food twice during our 13 night stay once being the first night ,the other being the BBQ night.
Other meals we had were in the buffet restuarant but were a la carte on Mondays & Fridays, 1 Lobster Dinner as part of the all inclusive,1 Dinner in the Chataux although you have to pay for your drinks here.1 dinner in Seven Colours restuarant in included although they changed this while we were there as they had a set menu also so we managed to eat there twice.
Several dinners were at infinity blue where a good selection of fish is served as well as steak the chicken not so good.
A 45 min massage is included as all inclusive but very expensive for treatments although the sauna & steam room can be used.
A glass bottom boat trip is also included.
The staff are very friendly & the food beautifully cooked & presented , the hotel was not full either which was good for us.The beach is lovely but the sea was not good to swim very well as quite shallow but as this is their winter didn't need to as the weather wasn't brilliant lots of rain, I don't know that I would go again in June.
A great hotel & we had a super bunch of people that made our holiday !!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank smokeyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

One of the most unforgetable experiences we have ever had . The staff are so professional and friendly nothing is too much trouble, The rooms are of a high standard very comfortable and cleaned regularly, They have a choice of restaurants which all serve delicious food. The surroundings are breathtaking. This is an experience that nobody should miss. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mrsnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Remarkable hotel, great food, amazing services. After this stay, I have changed my summer holiday plans with kids to go back in this hotel in July. Wifi available only around the bar

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank stelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews