We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$262
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel So Mauritius(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$409
US$280
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$417
US$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$230
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Indian Resort(Le Morne)
US$215
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$181
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,166)
Filter reviews
4,166 results
Traveller rating
2,995
813
246
77
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,995
813
246
77
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity blueall inclusive packageindian restaurantour honeymoonzenzi barc beach clubafrican drumsfree massageseven coloursa la carte restaurantsjean mariebalafon buffetwalk in wardrobeboat tripnature reservemain barswimming with dolphins
Filter
Updating list...
2,538 - 2,543 of 4,166 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Heritage was suggested to us by our agent who had been there herself , as we have been to Mauritius 3 times already , I was anxious not to be disappointed. We found the staff and management of this resort to be excellent , they really do make you feel that they are there just for you. The locale is superb , literally on the beach and we loved the rim flow pool at the beach bar Blue infinity. All inclusive is THE way to travel on the island and the drinks menu on the package is more than adequate with great choices in wine, spirits cocktails and beers. Lunchtime at the pools ( amafrooty or blue infinity ) are excellent and service at the bars is very good. Beach service is swift and friendly. Housekeeping team very attentive and the rooms are spotless , beds are huge and linens lovely. The swimming is lovely this time of year ( Feb ) and the water is like a bath , I enjoyed the Spa ( bar one staff member whom I noted to the management) and the gym facilites are brand new and spacious. The gardens are magnificent and those staff need a special mention. Lots of seafood on the menu but my husband had good burgers , curries and steaks as well. We had a total chill out and loved our time here , well done to the management and staff !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Travelled with Mautitius Collections - I can recommend them as they arranged everything - the stay at the hotel, transfers too and from, hotel in Dubai and again the transfers and the excellent flights with Emirates from Newcastle via Dubai.
The drive from the airport is approx 45 mins through some lovely countryside, including several villages/towns. First thing you notice is the abundace of sugarcane! The roads are mainly B class - but in good condition and the drivers all appear courteous, I would have contemplated driving if we had stayed longer.
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the porters and our bags were taken from us, to appear very quickly in our room. The reception staff - 'Customer relations' were excellent - we were greeted with a cool towel and a nice drink. The first thing noticeable was the strong smell of incence, which was actually very pleasant. After the formalities of registration we were escorted to our room and the layout/setup of the hotel was explained.
The rooms are of a good standard, better than some 5 star we have stayed in Jamaica - but not up to the standard of hotels we have stayed at in Mexico. We were delighted to get a seaview room, upgraded from a garden room. The bedrooms are located in 3 storey blocks and we were on the top floor which was excellent overlooking the pool adjacent to the sea. Room amenities are good - a small selection of drinks - beer and pop which was free on the all-inclusive. There is wine and champagne - but you need to pay extra for those. Bathrobes and slippers are provided, together with Beach towels which was great saving n our packing.
There are three restaraunts on the site - the Balafon which provides buffet breakfast and evening meal (with some nights a la carte). Several nights are themed e.g. mauritian food. There are two places to eat lunch - Infinity Blue the restaraunt right next to the beach and Amafutti- which is a collection of tables outside the main bar. Both provide excellent food and drink and we alternated between the two.
On an evening, apart from Balafon , Infinity blue is avaialble most night and the menu there is excellent. There is also the Seven Colours restaraunt which has different menus based around colours (a la raki influence) - these are at an extra cost to the all inclusive, however you can have a set menu and you get an allowance of 750 rupees. This allows you to change one of your courses for one of the coloured menus. e.g switch starters or sweets. Service at all is first class!
On the deluxe all inclusive you get a lobster dinner at Infinity blue, again very good, and a meal at the nearby Chateau. (Note you have to pay for your drinks at the Chateau which were very expensive!!).
The deluxe all inclusive limits the choice of wines - but we found the South African and Chilean wines more than adequate! You also get the range of branded drinks and spirits - Gordons, jack daniels, cointreau, Jamesons etc.
We left trying to book the seven colours until the last night - but were informed that it was fully booked. We did enquire during the day if any places had become available - but were informed no. However we received a call in our room during the afternoon stating that a place was available albeit early at 7 o clock. When we attended we found that the restaraunt had opened early to ensure that we had a chance to dine there - excellent service from the hotel!
We had the complimentary massage and actually booked extra as the facilities were so good. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. The jacuzzi at the spa is not that good - and in fact a few jacuzzis around th hotel would have been a bonus.
The sports centre was well equipped - but set well away from the hotel. Good weights room and tennis courts, plus free hire of mountain bikes.
On the beach there was a boat house from which you could use pedalos and kayaks free of charge. Also there were free glass bottom boat rides over the coral garden and snorkelling trips. (These went twice a day depending on the weather).
I understand you could go diving from here - but we did not bother this time!
There is a very strong current just off the beach and this may catch out some weak swimmers - be aware especially if you have children! We enjoyed the current it allowed you to drift along the beach over the coral looking at the wide variety of fish. A reef is approximately 500m off the beach and the sound of crashing waves is always present.
3 swimming pools - two either side of the main bar - both are basically leisure pools, but one which is very quiet is Ok for doing laps - if you are a swimmer like me! A third pool- again free form is adjacent to the beach. The beach has lovely sand - but I would advise you wear something on your feet for going into the sea as there are a lot of coral fragments.
There are limited sunbeds around the pools and yes we had the early doors brigade claiming there beds with their towels! However there are plenty of beds on the beach which are fine - plus there is a beach service for drinks etc.
One gripe is that you have to sign for everything - even if you are all inclusive. However there were no hidden suprises when we checked out.
Entertainment was fairly low key - a house band which changed in line up and did a very passible job on many well known songs! - there is a limited dancefloor - but dont expect disco's etc. We also saw a guitarist who sang in both the main bar and the infinity blue restaraunt on a night. (There is wifi available in the main bar - but not the bedrooms)
Deluxe or premier inclusive? We are not golfers and dont want to frequent the spa everday -therefore the Deluxe is OK. (Its about £55 extra per day for the Premium).
I would not advise being half board as the food bills and drinks bills looked expensive!
Local taxis are cheap to hire and available from the hotel - we rented one for 5 hours and it cost us about £40.
A good day out - Casalla safari park - about 45mins from the hotel on the West Coast - a very scenic ride to the park. We then walked with lions - yes 2 full grown lions which we walked with for over 1 hour (with wardens to assist) a fantastic experience and great photography.
hen we arrived at the hotel it was fairly quiet - however the second week saw a lot of french schoolchildren with their parents and it became a lot more noisy - bear this in mind if going for relaxation its not an Adults only' hotel.
Would I go back? - Yes the service, food and location is first class!
If anyone wants any further info drop me an e-mail.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Durham_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

A briiliant hotel and spa complex.This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and the reached new heights. All the staff were very attentive from our arrival to our departure.Dany the assistant manager was always on hand to attend to any needs we had .Lindley Thomen the General Manager was never too far way either !The Severn colours restuarant offered superb fine dining in a very realaxed atomosphere run buy a very efficient Joel.The Blue infinity restuaraunt too produced food of the highest calibre, with sme exceptional seafood and fish dishes.it would not be easy to find a hotel with its superb range of facilities to beat the Heritage Awali anywhere in the world !As a keen golfers the nearby course is fist class too ! Nigel & Gina chesters (part of 8)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHESSIE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel after being in beautiful boutique hotel in Cape Town and were concerned that it would not live up to our high expectations. We were delighted with the hotel and resort. The best way to stay here though is fully inclusive and I would suggest that the premier package is worth the extra if you can afford it - it extends the list of food and beverages available.

We arrived very late one evening but were still greeted by the sound of beating drums to announce our arrival. As we walked through the entrance area to the reception area the smell of incense aroused the senses at the end of a long journey. By the way, the hotel was about 45 minutes from the airport.

We were shown to our room and told where all the essential facilities - bar & breakfast - were for the morning prior to them giving us a full walk around the resort.

We found that there was one main restaurant with a buffet breakfast served from 7-10.30 each morning. Thereafter the food was all a la carte and could be ordered at any time.

There were a few restaurants although the main ones included in the packages really makes it two restaurants and a bar. The restaurant overlooking the beech was excellent with a really personal feel about it made all the better by the staff who were attentive but not intrusive and remembered us from evening to evening. With the exception of one evening, we did not eat anywhere other than this.

The resort features 3 large pools each with a maximum depth of 1.2m. There is also a spa which you can go for a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi in for free.

Coming back to the all inclusive deal. The food was of excellent standard - well presented, with good variety and you could see the kitchens to know that it was prepared in a good, clean kitchen. There would be more than enough for you to choose from if you're staying for 7 nights, as we were. Just make sure you like fish too or your choice will be more limited!

As far as the bar prices go, we were on all inclusive and you needed to be. The list of drinks, including sprits, went on forever and included all the brands you'd expect to see - Jack Daniels, Blue Bombay Gin, etc. Beer was the local stuff but you could have Tiger in bottles too. Cocktails were also included.

However, at the end of each time at the bar/restaurant you had to sign off the bill which was then credited to your account. By the way, the mini-bar was also included in the all inclusive package, well most of it. Each time you signed off the bill you saw the amount which, I would say, was way way overpriced. But this did not matter since you're on an all inclusive. The people that I would feel sorry for were those having to actually pay for them!! Maybe nobody pays there!!

Anyway, back to the resort. It was exceptionally well kept. Clean, tidy and the staff were all most friendly and accommodating. I can not stress enough how genuine, lovely and interactive they were.

The resort steps straight on to the beech and the sand was clean and sandy. The coral reef some 500m off the shore acts as a break for the waves and therefore the waves that lap the beech are no more than you'd expect to see on a river. However the current was strong. Included in the package was free snorkeling, water skiing, pedalos and kayaking. We also paid to go scuba diving at a cost of about £75 each for about 1 hour.

There's free wi-fi in the bar and it's planned as a future project to get it in the rooms but, as of Jan 2010, you have to take your laptop to the bar. Tough life, isn't it!!

We were very sorry to leave this place and, given the chance, would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wowzerwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Last week we jetted home from the warm and sunny environment of Bel Ombre to the sub-zero temperatures of London. So before writing this review I wanted to come to terms with the shock of the cold. Now I have, I have only warm things to say about the Heritage and the staff.
We were a party of 6 that travelled for my wedding, so the pressure was on. Would it deliver, would it meet our expectation. The answer was catagoric, YES!
I should preface this review by saying that we scoured the planet looking for a suitable location, somewhere with the right balance of activities. Somewhere that was good for service but not intrusive. Somewhere where we would be among other travelers that wanted to have a good time and who we could relax with, well, Heritage is that place.

A lot of the reviews you'll read on this page about the Heritage are spot on. The food is very good indeed, I have lots of experience in this area and I can say with authority that the mix of food is great and to a high standard. In particular, the Seven Colours delivered a great meal with Lamb and Beef that was truly delightful.
I have to say something about the staff, they are delivering 5-star service in nearly every aspect, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were surprised and astonished by their efficiency and capabilties. Danny (Restaurant Manager) was a great help and did a great job making sure we were happy, especially with regards to the new year gala dinner - thanks!
To the wedding itself. We are particular is the best way of putting it. However, Keshnee (wedding coordinator) was exceptional in meeting our every requirement, as well as one or two from the in-laws! She was really helpful, honest and went the extra mile in making the day pass off with great enjoyment, even though on the day it rained buckets and threatened to derail proceedings. Keshnee - if you read this, we thank you and we're grateful!
This is a great place to get married and there are many options. You can have a truly sophisticated wedding in a paradise location...brilliant!

This is a great resort, punching above its weight. It has a great beach, great food, superb service, hospitality that hits the high notes. Good for couples and families. Kids will love it.
The spa was great, the facilities excellent, dive centre on site where Elie will help you out!...so if you are looking for a great place, with good food and service and a nice ambience, Heritage is the place to go!

We hope to go back!

I would suggest the Premier All-Inclusive, you get so much more for your money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oksimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews