We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First time in Mauritius and very pleased with choice of hotel, found hotel to be quiet and relaxing. Food was really good and only used A la carte once as preferred the main restuarant as there was more choice and not so formal. Hotel set in its own grounds and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 1100 was ideal for us as close to pool and close to restuarant and only shhort walk from beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Jimmy-Brenda,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

Again, nice to read that we made your stay among us as comfortable and easy as poosible.

SIncereley,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,275
    639
    118
    34
    17
See reviews for
1,616
2,565
73
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We visited Tamassa en route to our new life in Australia, we chose Tamassa due to it being a very good price and the childrens facilities, along with the fact it was not hours from the airport. We travelled Air Mauritius, which we will never again, but they were on time and we arrived safely which is the most important thing. So then Tamassa!

Arrival

Greeted with a cold towel and a drink, the lobby was beautiful. The check in was a little slow, but it is a very relaxed place so that wasnt too bad

Rooms

Rooms are very nice and modern, clean and with all the facilities you need, we had a standard room, although we had booked a family room, but it was fine for the 3 of us, so we didnt complain as we had a really good spot central within the hotel.

Restaurants

The main restaurant was fine and had a good selection of foods, although breakfast was pretty repetitive, but it had the omlette station etc, so you could always find something. The food quality was good, but the service was often very slow, sometimes you would be halfway through your meal before your drink would arrive, this happened frequently, and we often had to ask more than once for our drinks. The restaurant is very spacious but can get quite loud during busy times. The hotel was quite quiet when we were there with only a few children, this meant that often the childrens buffet was not available, this was not a problem for our 4 year old as she is a good eater, however this I think could cause some problems for other parents.

The snack bar at the beach was our favourite lunch stop, lovely pizza's, satay, fries and fruit, samosa's etc, this is all we needed at lunch time and the food was always cooked fresh and was always very good. Cocktails are also excellent from here :)

The beach restaurant, which you have to book as soon as you arrive at the resort as it gets booked very quickly was excellent for the evening, but we werent impressed with the lunch time offering, simply because it was usually just transferred down from the main kitchen. The set menu and al la carte were both delicious and varied. The kids menu is also good, but consists of the usual fish and chips, chicken and chips etc, one day our daughter wanted prawns and vegetables, so we asked could she have that and they provided the biggest prawns I have ever seen and they were excellent. We ate here about 3 times, and it was excellent, the service here is also excellent.

Beach

Beach is a small beach and is a little rocky, we were there in September and found the sea quite cold, but it was absolutely fine for playing on, there are many urchins washed up so maybe with little ones wear footwear when on the beach.

Pools

An abundence of pools which are never crowded, the top pool by the main bar was our favourite spot as the staff there are excellent, snacks are also yummy there, especially the samosa snacks in the evening.

Kids Club

The kids club here is very good, as long as there are other kids around, like I mentioned previously there were only a couple of kids when we were here and luckily our daughter made a friend and was more than happy to spend as much time as we would allow in the kids club, they made various items, there is a shaded sand pit, a tv area and a kitchen where they provide drinks and snacks, the great thing about here is that the kids club is open until 10pm, which means that adults get an opportunity to have dinner alone if they require. On the days that the friends were not around however, my daughter wasnt keen to go to the kids club.

Overall, this was a good, clean hotel and a good choice for families travelling to Mauritius, it was excellent value for money, and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsWoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Mrs. Woodie,

So, how is it going there down under?

I hope you and your family has now settled in and the new life in Australia has started well.

Thank you for your comments detailing the areas of improvement and we are also gald to read that overall you have had some great time among us.

To our readers; Please note that in the event that there is no children buffet in our Main resaurant, a child menu is always available - please ask any one of our hostesses.

Sinecerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahébourg, Grand Port, Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just came back from Tamassa and I can tell you, it is the most wonderful hotel where you can feel being like a princess. Treated with so much love and care as if you are the apple of their eye. As soon as we got out of our car, the bell boy greeted us with a huge smile. Already we knew that our stay would be excellent.

Reception and formality procedure did not take us long compared to the other hotels. Our room.. Oh my God.. Amazing.. As we are not a first time client, we got a surprise gift in our room. Everything was neat and shimmering. Very nice. The bed very well done and very well arranged. the color aspect made it more pleasant to the eyes.

The bar lounge, the swimming pools, the spa, the jalsa night club, the playa restaurant, the night entertainment, everything was great. The night club jalsa also very exciting with dj's. All our song requests were approved without any problem. Thank you to Mr Gino. Service at b.bar and playa restaurant on the beach was superb. Great Service.

Now the Show Restaurant: No words. Amazing in such a hotel you get so many nice staff. Very friendly and helpful staff. Buffet was very good. We were treated like princesses. No words to describe how good it was and what make it more wonderful is the pleasantness and politeness of the head of the restaurant, that is the restaurant Manager, Mr Yasveen and the supervisor, Mr Vikash. They made it a must to check on us if all is well and they did that for every client during the dinner time.

Very charming staffs. Thank you to everyone and I highly recommend the hotel to the others looking for a holiday trip.

Room Tip: room near the playa restaurant wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Leena B,

Your comments posted on our Team Members notice board has pulled in quite a bit of a crowd!!

From all of us here at Tamassa, THANK YOU.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

30 degrees C during the day & lovely warm pools - you couldn't knock it while the UK was enjoying minus temperatures. We were all inclusive which we try to have every time we go away as it's so good. Good news is that the mini bar (beer ,wine,& soft drinks) in your room is included in the all inclusive package (replenished daily) all inclusive covers 11:00 - midnight daily for your eating & drinking..
The hotel is light and airy in the main buildings - you don't have to wear one of those annoying bracelets some hotels insist on if you are an all inclusive guest. You do however have to sign a receipt after your meals & when ordering some drinks - This does not appear on your bill so I assume this is for guests who are not on the all inclusive package.
Our hotel transfers was by private taxi - took about 50mins to complete due to the winding narrow roads.
The bedroom was quite roomy & clean with both roller blinds & curtains, although we did have to report a problem with the air conditioning (noisy & not very cold) 5 times before it was fixed. The bathroom has his & hers sinks, a bath tub & a walk in shower. The wardrobe includes an electronic safe (no charge).
A Hair drier is included in the room - the electrical sockets are mostly the UK 13 amp type although there was 1 Euro round pin socket too. TV (built in dvd player) shows French & South African channels (Sky news too)
No iron or ironing board is available either in the room or at reception. If you need anything pressed you need to use the hotel laundry at a very modest charge. Bathroom towels are plentiful and Beach towels are placed in your room daily - a tablet of soap & various shampoos & gels are included in the bathroom, as are facial tissues. Hot water was plentiful.
A kettle with tea/coffee & 2 mugs is also in your room
The swimming pools are a good size, not too deep and are of the "infinity" type. One major pain was the ring of nasty sharp gravel surrounding the poolsides (other reviews mention this) - the sunbeds all sit on this horrible stuff - sandals are a must all the time, but the gravel still gets you. What were they thinking?
Plenty of sunbeds are available near the beach (on a grassed area) - a better alternative to sharp gravel. Some attended service at your sunbed by bar serving staff in this area - which is handy.
Food was varied & plentiful & freshly cooked - plenty of fish (Marlin, Tuna etc) lots of choice with locally baked bread - we saw small and medium sized birds flying around in the restaurants - one morning a sparrow was having a dust bath in the coco pops! The birds will land on any uncovered & unattended food. Pigeons were walking around under the tables. There was netting on some windows but they still get in.
Service in the restaurants & bars was pretty good - just sit down at the bar area & someone appears to take your drinks order - as soon as your glass is empty they reappear. There were large groups (18+) of French / Russian & Italian guests who all want to sit together in the bars & restaurants - they can be a bit loud when the drinks flow.
At the end of our stay I put money into the tip box at reception - this is distributed amongst all the staff. WiFi available in most areas. We did have 1 day of wind & rain due to a nearby passing cyclone. A disabled toilet included in the main reception building, although signage is a bit poor. A toilets in the public areas are air conditioned & very clean. Bars & restaurants are not air conditioned but most have ceiling fans.
Generally we thoroughly enjoyed our warm relaxing stay for 1 week , although it's a 12 hour flight by Air Mauritius direct from Heathrow. Hotel checkout is 11:00 am on your final day.

Room Tip: a ground floor room was great - put the air conditioning through it's paces when you arrive .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GarySkuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Garyskuse,

FIrst of all, apologies for the delay in getting the air conditoning system fixed. At one stage, it was so hot that some of our compressors just could not cope so new ones had to be bought in - again sorry.

Overall, glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves amongst us.

On another note, we cannot have thinner sands around the pool as these will get blown into the pool (and pumps) and drinks during windy season. Rest assure that we are looking for an alternate product that will go with the architectural design.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worksop
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We flew from heathrow with BA, flight was excellent with free bar! myself and my husband went to tamassa with our 2 friends as our annual holiday in may 2011, We was not disapointed.

First impression of hotel is Wow and it was so quite, You are met with the pool view and no one seems to be around the pool, But why travel thousands of miles to sit around a pool when you have gorgeous sea views.

ROOMS :- Queen size beds, gorgeous bathrooms with bath and showers, Plenty of hanging space for clothes (wardrobe each) and stunning views of the beach. Can not hear your neighbours either, even with inter connecting doors.

SEA:- gorgeous view, a little bit rocky so sea shoes are required, and they sell the shos at the shop and are quite cheap.

FOOD:- Always something to eat in main buffet restaurant, and speciality restaurant is very nice, usually a set menu but always very tasty.

BARS:- main bar is really good and where all the activities are at a evening, had a fashion show on and a fireworks night which was excellent, staff are always walking around refilling your drinks and not to keen of people sitting at the bar or going to the bar yourself, The beach bar is where we tended to sit most night except when watching entertainment, The beach bar is lovely and relaxing and staff are brill, always up for a laugh and very friendly.

TRIPS:- we did safari quad bikes, OMG never laughed so much it was fabulous must recommend that all adrenalin junkies do this, we saw a zebra's, ostrich, pigs, moose's, reindeer's, and many more! you are actually sat next to them or touching them rather than them being in cages.
We also walked with the lions, Best expeirence of our life's, you get to walk with 2 baby lions for around an hour or through the woods and then taken in a cage after wards to have photo's taken with more and you are stroking them. You can do both the above trips in one day (you are not told this at the time of booking though) saves going to the same place on seperate days.
Also did catarmran trip which is also brill.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, quite a distance from the airport and an early morning trip to airport on way home but overall a brill holiday.

BAD POINTS... bar staff tend to bring you over what you think are free drinks and if you refuse them, they drink them and you still end up getting charged for them at the end of your stay so beware of over charging.
Also having to sign for everything, it can be quite annoying, whether its a quick drink or relaxing having dinner. Oh and beware of the french - so rude they do tend to just push in at the dining room they do not do manners.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spenny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Spenny05,

The barmen said they were tasting....yeah right!

Sorry about that but necessary procedures have been set in place since and lets hope such 'tasting' does not happen again.

We are extremely happy to read that you have had some thrilling moments, not only in Tamassa but Mauritius as well.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.3 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,712 reviews
48.7 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
52.9 km away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.4 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,542 reviews
62.3 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
51.6 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Property: Tamassa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price range (per night): $357 - $864
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing