We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for good value”

Restaurant du Crabe d’Or
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Description: The "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," named after one of Vang Vieng's most famous caves, offers indoor seating, to enjoy the air-conditioned comfort of an elegantly set-up room on the first floor, as well as outdoor seating, to take full advantage of the river view and tropical garden with a magnificent backdrop of limestone mountains. In the romantic setting of the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," discover authentic Lao dishes, prepared with fresh local ingredients, or enjoy a more traditional Asian and French cuisine. All meals are complemented by fine wines from France and Chile as well as coffee from the Boloven Plateau. Please note that the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or" enforces a no-smoking (indoor) and no-pet policy.
Restaurant details
Description: The "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," named after one of Vang Vieng's most famous caves, offers indoor seating, to enjoy the air-conditioned comfort of an elegantly set-up room on the first floor, as well as outdoor seating, to take full advantage of the river view and tropical garden with a magnificent backdrop of limestone mountains. In the romantic setting of the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," discover authentic Lao dishes, prepared with fresh local ingredients, or enjoy a more traditional Asian and French cuisine. All meals are complemented by fine wines from France and Chile as well as coffee from the Boloven Plateau. Please note that the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or" enforces a no-smoking (indoor) and no-pet policy.
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

This place is absolutely recommendable.
We had dinner in a relaxing atmosphere on the first floor facing the beautiful garden and pool.
The service is very friendly and fast.
The 2 types of vegetarian spring rolls as well as the fish in a banana leave and the chicken with ginger onion and peppers were delicious.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank lixlalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We decided to go upscale for our final night in Vang Vieng. We chose to sit outside near the water which was delightful! I had two Beer Lao's, Salmon Tartar (so good), and duck breast salad (even better). And walked out for about $10. A nice treat in an otherwise pretty touristy and meh town. Oh- except for the hot air balloon ride! Just Do it!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pamelacharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to splurge and have dinners here with our family. The setting and ambience is fantastic and the service was faultless- best yet in Laos. Our waiter, Kip, was knowledgeable, attentive and good humoured. He certainly added to our pleasurable evening. We had the Lao degustation which he modified for our dietary needs. The fish in banana leaves was a standout. The wine, while a little pricey for us, was still a treat and we had the French Shiraz which was delicious. I think we will be back in the few days we have here in vv.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This is a very pleasant restaurant with a nice terrace for outdoor dining. I had the Or Lam which was excellent and service was attentive without being obtrusive. One minor criticism - the wine was a bit expensive by local standards, though it was good. Overall , good value given the quality of food, service and setting.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank GerryBLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The title says it all: The menu is quite short, but whatever you order is excellent. And you rarely find a more attentive service. All this in a beautiful setting - the perfect place for a romantic dinner. (It is certainly a good idea to reserve a table.)

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant du Crabe d’Or also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Restaurant du Crabe d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing