We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was rather ordinary”

Restaurant du Crabe d’Or
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Description: The "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," named after one of Vang Vieng's most famous caves, offers indoor seating, to enjoy the air-conditioned comfort of an elegantly set-up room on the first floor, as well as outdoor seating, to take full advantage of the river view and tropical garden with a magnificent backdrop of limestone mountains. In the romantic setting of the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," discover authentic Lao dishes, prepared with fresh local ingredients, or enjoy a more traditional Asian and French cuisine. All meals are complemented by fine wines from France and Chile as well as coffee from the Boloven Plateau. Please note that the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or" enforces a no-smoking (indoor) and no-pet policy.
Restaurant details
Description: The "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," named after one of Vang Vieng's most famous caves, offers indoor seating, to enjoy the air-conditioned comfort of an elegantly set-up room on the first floor, as well as outdoor seating, to take full advantage of the river view and tropical garden with a magnificent backdrop of limestone mountains. In the romantic setting of the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or," discover authentic Lao dishes, prepared with fresh local ingredients, or enjoy a more traditional Asian and French cuisine. All meals are complemented by fine wines from France and Chile as well as coffee from the Boloven Plateau. Please note that the "Restaurant du Crabe d'Or" enforces a no-smoking (indoor) and no-pet policy.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel- which was lovely, but dinner at the hotel restaurant was disappointing. We ordered a variety of dishes from the Asian menu-- spring rolls, satay, curry, stir fried vegetables--and none were appealing. Breakfast, however, was fine. Maybe the regular chef was off the two nights we stayed there?

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stekype, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant du Crabe d’Or, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We wish you had been more specific but regardless, this will encourage us to try and do better. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Myself and a group of girlfriends decided to undertake a cycle from Luang Prabang to Vientiane at the end of October / early November. The Riverside Retreat and the Restaurant du Crab were out stop for one night. An absolutely stunning “insta-worthy” location. Great service and wonderful Beerlao

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 655samanthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location overlooking the river. We ate there twice. Addy manned the bar. Very congenial, and made a mean martini! Clean. Friendly. Food just the right amount of spicy for my taste

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank DocJBBjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Views are great. The staff rudely tell you to leave the instant you’re done eating to free up more tables. Food is decent but not great, avoid the mixed drinks.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Grayson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stekype, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant du Crabe d’Or, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear guest, we regret you felt our staff did not behave appropriately with you. Because we had prior bookings and you wanted to extend your stay with us 15 minutes after settling your bill, we invited you to move to another poolside table at the bar. We felt it was the right offer to make and we are sorry you thought it was rude. Our intent was merely to manage smoothly a very busy evening indeed. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed two main dishes of the chefs recommendation and they were brilliant, cold salmon salad (trust me it’s way more exciting than it sounds) and smoked pork. Super attentive staff and stunning scenery with views over the river.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hildemarije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant du Crabe d’Or also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Restaurant du Crabe d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing