We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bellavista(Big Corn Island)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paraiso Beach Hotel(Big Corn Island)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow(Little Corn Island)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Canada(Big Corn Island)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Island Roots Hostel(Big Corn Island)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mimundo Corn Island Hostel(Big Corn Island)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
3 Brothers(Little Corn Island)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel(Little Corn Island)(Great Value!)
US$24
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa(Little Corn Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
30
13
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
13
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother placescorn islandisland lifeplace to staylaid backgreat valueattitudeaccommodationscashhandscardsupstairsmarthavacationyardpost
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Martha's sits on the nicest beach on Big Corn and is a quaint enough little place. However we did not have a good experience at all.. We took a small room with our family to wait for a bigger one to open up the next day, which is fine. But our shower did not work at all! They didn't know when/if it could be fixed, which meant showering a screaming toddler in the cold outdoor shower. Showers break, it happens, we are understanding of that. However what literally shocked us is the absolute unwavering demand that we still pay full price for the room, even though the shower still didn't work! In fact when we agreed on the place they said breakfast was included, as we are all there and they know it's two kids as well, but the next morning they wanted to charge $6 each per child for breakfast. That combination left us rather angry, so we changed accommodation in the midst of a torrential downpour. The location and property are fine, but the way the broken shower and breakfast were handled were almost unbelievable! Very disappointed.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

It's been almost a year and a half since we have been to Martha's Bed and Breakfast… I will tell you, hands down, best place on the island to stay. Martha is beyond kind and the service is impeccable. Ellery is hilarious and the people that don't understand his "tell it like it is" attitude should take a hike. We spent a month in Nicaragua and changed our entire itinerary to stay as long as possible @ Martha's. They have the most wonderful fishing guide; he truly was thoughtful, knowledgable, and giving. I can honestly say we spent two weeks, attending local baseball games, loving life, and drinking ice cold ToÑa! Also, if on Big Corn Island a MUST is La Princesa de la Isla!! I know Italian food in Nicaragua is strange but better than most of the restaurants I ate at in Florence. I feel bad that I'm giving up the biggest secret on the island but if you go to Corn Island and don't go here… FOR SHAME!!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We were personally greeted upon our arrival by Ellery. Martha and Ellery were very kind and responded to any questions about the island. Hot water and comfortable beds! Our breakfast and the lobster lunch was delicious! I highly recommend staying here with a view of the best beach on the island. Thanks Martha and Ellery we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I was surprised by this little B&B! I stayed at Martha's with 3 friends for 2 nights. We had a room with 1 double bed and one twin, with an attached bathroom. I was pleasantly surprised to see that we had a AC unit that worked great, and hot showers every day (apparently not always the norm on the island). The location is on a beautiful beach and within walking distance of other places to eat. The breakfast that is included consisted of a generous fruit bowl and juice/coffee, plus your choice of something like pancakes, an omelet, etc. They would get fresh coconuts from the trees during the day, and cut the top off and put a straw in it so we could have fresh coconut water. Delicious! The one downside was that they quit serving food at 1 PM when we were there. But, like I said, there are other places nearby. I had an early flight the day I left, and they were nice enough to give me a ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Travelers Beware! It can be difficult to get cash at the only ATM on Big Corn Island. Along with several other frustrated visitors to Big Corn, we found that many of the hotels/B&B's, etc. do not readily accept credit cards. We had little cash and there were 5 people in our group, including a 3-year old. We hired a driver and, after the frustrating ATM experience, drove around looking for a place that accepted credit cards. Several places declined and when we arrived at Martha's we weren't very encouraged at first. We explained to Ellery and Martha the predicament we were in and they said we could stay and use a credit card. Aside from their accommodating us, their B&B is wonderful. It's right on the beach and it's at "the end of the line" as far as the hotels go, so there's a lot of privacy. The breakfasts are delicious and you can walk a short distance to restaurants for dinner (some even accept credit cards!) Be sure to arrange for a "rundown" for lunch one day. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. We hope to get our whole family together in the future at Big Corn Island, and we'll definitely plan on staying at Martha's. Thanks again Ellery.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same and very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews