We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in this town”
Review of Hotel Solemare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solemare
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Located on the marina, opposite to the town, which can be admired from your room window. Very good breakfast, very friendly staff. Could do better with a bar by the pool. Impossible to keep the sunlight to come through the curtains, which can be a probel early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filipealexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

Bonifacio is a nasty town populated largely by yachties and the people they pay. This is reflected in its disgracefully overpriced restuarants. There's not much to do here except walk up the castle and walk down again past shops where they are selling pastel coloured polo shirts for 100e and back to the hotel. The Solemare is staffed by people who would prefer you arrived by yacht, probably because a bit if crusted salt water in the eyes might blind you to the hotel's failings. My bathroom was presumably designed for a boat - it is so small it was impossible not to spray the entire room when you take a shower There is a mini bar. A mini bar with nothing in it, not even a bottle of mineral water. Don't expect a good night's sleep here either - the trance music pumping out from across the quay kept me awake until 2am - even with the shutters closed. I had to leave early the next morning to get the ferry but when I went downstairs and suggested to the woman organising breakfast that I might take it ten minutes early, she looked at me as if I had just been convicted of murdering a close relative. The tables were all laid out, but she insisted I sat at one of the few which did not have a croissant on a plate. As other guests arrived she pointedly served them all coffee or tea. When I went to the machine (the automatic kind used by guests) to serve myself she actually tried to stop me. She had decided if I had early breakfast it would be without a coffee. I thought this kind of snotiness which used to be so common in France was dead. No, it's alive and kicking and lives at the Solemare. My abject joy in staying in a joyless hotel in a joyless town was maginfied when I found the room I paid 155e for was being offered for 115e on the sign outside the hotel. They had made me pay this in advance when they discovered my credit card had been stolen, as if I was going to sneak out and leave the town as soon as I got up. I just wish I had left - before I booked in to this horrible place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave99100101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION F, Directeur général at Hotel Solemare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017
Google Translation

Cher M. Tufter, nous sommes terriblement désolés que Bonifacio ne vous ait pas plu, et –pire- que la vue des yachts amarrés dans le port vous ait provoqué une allergie d’une telle violence qu’elle vous en a apparemment rendu aveugle, tant aux barques de pêcheurs amarrés au même port qu’à la simple et à la fois extraordinaire beauté du site qui fait sa réputation internationale.

Cette « yacht-phobie » a visiblement focalisé votre attention au point que vous n’avez pas même souhaité poser de question à nos réceptionnistes qui se seraient pourtant fait un plaisir de vous indiquer les multiples activités de pleine nature accessibles à tous budgets sur la commune, du snorkling au jetski, en passant par la ballade, à pied ou à cheval, et le kite-surf – liste non exhaustive, loin de là- et sans parler de la piscine de notre établissement, idéalement située face à la citadelle. Nous ignorons ce que vous espériez « faire » à Bonifacio ; si vous y cherchiez un musée d’art moderne, un cinéma grand écran, un fast-food labellisé ou un bowling, nous comprenons votre déception.

Contrairement à votre ressenti, probablement du au stress généré par votre phobie précédemment mentionnée, notre équipe reçoit avec le même plaisir chacun de ses client, qu’il arrive à pied, à vélo, en bus, en voiture de luxe ou en taxi (pour votre information, les « yachties », comme vous les nommez, préfèrent généralement profiter du luxe de leurs embarcations, ainsi que du nombreux personnel qu’ils engagent à leur service).

Si la responsable du petit déjeuner a refusé que vous vous installiez à une table dressée, c’était tout simplement du au fait que celles-ci étaient réservées à un groupe, soumis à des horaires collectifs stricts et annoncés la veille, ce qui explique qu’ils aient été servis en priorité. Mais nous comprenons votre désappointement, sans aucun doute accentué par l’heure matinale et la barrière de la langue.

Le « mini bar vide », est en fait un frigo à disposition de nos hôtes, qu’ils souhaitent bénéficier du service de notre bar 24/24 ou pas, ce qui, vous en conviendrez, est bien loin de l’esprit « yachtie » que vous avez cru percevoir chez nous.

Quand au fait que nous réclamions une référence de carte de crédit valide en garantie, ou, à défaut, un paiement comptant, c’est une règle de base en hôtellerie qui est généralement comprise par tout un chacun. Nous déplorons que vous ayez reçu comme une insulte cette formalité usuelle. Concernant les tarifs affichés à l’extérieur, ils correspondent aux promotions de dernière minute, pour les chambres restantes, quand il n’est pas également affiché « complet »…. ce qui était le cas lors de votre passage éclair.

Pour la couleur et le prix des t_shirts vendus en ville, et outre le fait que notre établissement n’y peut rien, nous ne pouvons que constater que vous n’avez, là encore, vu et retenu que ce qui venait renforcer vos préjugés.

Face à votre commentaire, aussi incroyablement négatif en tous points, y compris ceux ne concernant pas notre hôtel, nous ne pouvons que vous conseiller de mieux orienter vos choix de destination en matière de vacances, et vous tenir loin de toute phobie susceptible d’altérer tant votre jugement que votre rapport aux autres.

Toujours à l’écoute du bien-être de nos clients, nous vous souhaitons de meilleures vacances . L’équipe du Solemare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We spent two nights here as part of a tour and were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff at reception when we arrived. Our room looked straight out across the harbour and the view couldn't have been better. However, the room itself was pretty basic and very small and everything in need of a good renovation.
Breakfast was pleasant and varied but with no hot selection. The coffee machine was the cause of much confusion for many guests but, once mastered, the coffee itself was good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRC239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

A well placed hotel on the marina with magnificent views of the old town on top of the hill.
One could just stay there and look out of the window all day.
Our room was very small as was the bathroom but the view made up for it.
There is so much activity around the harbour that at night especially over a weekend it was not quiet.
The breakfasts were very good and a good variety.
Wifi was free but frequently dropped out.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Hotel located just next to marina, so perfect for those, who doesn't want to stay on boat, especially after tough sailing experience. Rooms not very spacious but with enough size if you considering it as the place for one or two nights. Clean - first impression, completely devasteted by standing water in bathroom sink and shower (repaired only next day as there was not proper staff once checked in). Staff friendly and helpful in general. Breakfast with moderate selection, however you should not leave it hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfasula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
2 km away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
488 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Genovese
Hotel Genovese
#6 of 20 in Bonifacio
396 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Santateresa Hotel
Santateresa Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
421 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel E Tre Stelle
Hotel E Tre Stelle
#8 of 20 in Bonifacio
302 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemare

Address: 10 rue General de Gaulle | La Nouvelle Marine, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Price Range: $168 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemare 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Solemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemare Hotel Bonifacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing