We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
315
99
48
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
99
48
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels afternoon tea country house drawing room main hall wedding breakfast public rooms walled garden on arrival library bar peaceful surroundings cheeseboard peace and tranquility beautiful building large room fabulous food main course
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Really, lovely afternoon tea with great service from young man (didn't get his name) extremely polite and helpful. Food was fresh and varied. The warm scones were particularly tasty! Thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and would highly recommend

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank 568a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

our daughter had purchased a Wowcher deal for us for afternoon tea.
We booked in for 3pm on Sunday and were warmly welcomed by the attentive staff and shown to a table in the Drawing Room.
The tea of finger sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and a beautiful selection of cakes was excellent.
10 out of 10 for Customer service and quality of food.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Ged A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in room No. 7 (The Drey), the hall is a lovely place to stay and unwind for a few days, our room was very nice with a large traditional wooden bed which was very comfortable. The lounge and bar in the hotel were very nice places to site and unwind with a drink or two although getting a drink could take a while at times due to the number of staff. We ate in the restaurant on one night and the food was great and the wine was reasonably priced. I had a wonderful crap and prawn pasta starter followed by a lovely duck main, my wife had monkfish to start and a beautifully cooked steak with all the trimmings (this did not seem to fit in with the presentation and style of the other dishes as it looked like very good pub food but she insisted it tasted excellent). the only slight niggles were that the room could have been a little cleaner in places, with dust on some surfaces and a few cobwebs here and there. There could have also been a few extra staff on Saturday night as the staff seemed to be run off their feet at times.It would have also been nice to be offered a morning newspaper. Overall though we had a wonderful, relaxing time, especially for the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimmyoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

A Sunday evening out of season dinner venue requirement took us to Eshott Hall (we were staying in Alnwick). It was understandably quiet - but what a beautiful place with excellent food and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. I’m a vegetarian who isn’t partial to goats cheese - not a problem - the chef rustled up a starter of linguine with samphire followed by a deliciously tasty vegetarian curry! My only regret is that we didn’t see the beautiful Hall in daylight! Will definitely go again on our next visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sadie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We stayed one night in the Peacock room (no. 8) which overlooks the lovely walled garden. The room and all the public areas are very smart, stylish and comfortable in a country house style.

The bar is a small sitting room at the front of the building and we enjoyed a couple of drinks while looking at the menu. Dinner was ok. My partner had stayed here before and felt the food was not as good this time. The steaks are served with onion rings and chips and presented in the style of pub food, which doesn’t really fit with the ambience of the restaurant.

Breakfast was very nice and we enjoyed a walk around the garden before leaving. This is very much a wedding venue and the wedding function room looked lovely. I’m sure that hiring the whole hotel is a memorable experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews