We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cedars Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Limes Hotel(Needham Market)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hintlesham Hall(Hintlesham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
92
52
26
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
52
26
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomcharity eventdual carriagewaygolden weddingrequested a ground floor roomdaily specialsmince piesarriving latemeringuelarge portionsbirthday partycheese and biscuitsexcellent menuchristmas dinnerperfect venuechange roomswedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Was looking for a reasonably priced hotel that also offered breakfast and I have to say was pleasantly surprised by how nice the Cedars was, the check in and out was easy, we requested a ground floor room and that's what we were given, the room was clean bright and very comfortable, tea and coffee facilities in the room and plenty of them, breakfast was very nice arrived quickly and hot, if I'm looking for accommodation again in the Stowmarket area I would definitely book here again

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We had our wedding reception at the Cedars Hotel on Saturday 25th July 2015, and the from the day that we booked, to the minute we checked out, we had the best experience. The staff were excellent, both during the booking process, helping us with the preparations and lead up to the wedding, and during the reception itself. The whole day went without the slightest snag, the food was excellent, the staff were on hand throughout the whole day and evening making sure that everything was going to plan. We were given access to the bedroom next door to the function room for the day before, the day of the wedding, and the day after, to use for storage of personal belongings etc, which was a huge help. The Cedars staff accommodated everything that we asked for, and more to be honest. We would both particularly like to thank Tony for all of his help throughout the whole process, he was such an amazing help on the day and really brought everything together for us. Thank you so much, Kerry and Luke xx

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kerryr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

For a budget hotel this place is ok, you will not be able to get on the WIFI no matter how much you try, the meals are average the rooms are small just like the double beds, the grounds are very nice and the people are friendly.
As the saying goes you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: room 24 small and near a fire exit, noisy
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I've not stayed here for quite a while due to changing work commitments. I used to be a regular. It has only improved since my last visit with a very tasteful room makeover. The staff are as friendly as ever and there's a lovely homely and trusty feel to it (no swiping of credit cards etc before you can check in). I will continue to use this hotel whenever I can. Wifi is good speed and free - parking is free too.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I've been visiting The Cedars Hotel off and on over the last 18 years and I have to say I love it. Yes it is a bit tired and shabby looking, but that is what I love about it. I only go for meals, not to stay over and I have never had a bad meal, only very good. Its reliable, consistent and friendly. Please don't change. In a constantly changing world with ever increasing chain food places, bistros, gastro pubsetc etc, The Cedars remains constant. I intend to keep going for the pure pleasure of all it offers.I once even invented a music band, with a friend, just for fun, like named after this place....hard hat and cedar!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews