We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,844)
Filter reviews
7,844 results
Traveller rating
3,021
2,405
1,223
723
472
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,021
2,405
1,223
723
472
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island palomino island water park puerto rico rented a car the main hotel self parking splash bar walk in closet main pool lazy river ferry pools conquistador rainforest bellman tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 7,844 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2021

Everyone was very very nice and hospitable, especially Jessica Pion, front desk, excellent customer service. Lots of activities for whole family. In spite of very few restaurants open and limited selection, the food was good.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank Migdalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Vega, Guest Services / Front Office at El Conquistador Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2021

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us! It's an honored to our employees been recognized by our guest.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021

This should be one of the top resorts in the world. Should. The architecture, amenities, location, etc. are all there. It has a nice resort pool area, an incredible private island, an awesomely scenic golf course, and a bunch of restaurants on site. Unfortunately, they just can't get their act together. It feels like it's currently at only about 10% capacity. Only one restaurant is open for dinner, leading to 2.5 hour wait times. In general, the food service is ridiculously slow. You are forced to drive off property just to find food. Nice ping pong tables with no balls. Nice shuffleboard table with no salt on top. Great looking golf course that didn't look open. One thing after another... it feels like the current management group might have simply bitten off more than they can chew. Nobody working there knows anything other than their immediate job, getting answers to basic questions is impossible. There are tons of great excursions in the surrounding area... rainforest hikes, bio bays, fishing, etc., but the resort didn't publicize or organize anything. Just another missed opportunity. Overall, an absolutely beautiful place, with SO much potential... but right now that's all it is. Potential. I can't recommend staying here right now.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregdZ2566EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Vega, Guest Services / Front Office at El Conquistador Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take a great deal of pride in delivering consistently high levels of service throughout the resort, but it is apparent that we did not exceed your expectations. We try very hard to meet every guest's request, I am sorry that we failed in your case.

I have reviewed your review with the Hotel Management. I am very disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with the services provided. This is such an important measure of success for our hotel. All comments and experiences shared are a great tool to train better our staff. We are a beautiful property and we need to have our staff train providing high levels of service.

Once again, Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

This hotel is over prices. So many things went wrong for our 20th anniversary . Front desk,
food service, bar drinks, Café store and Palomino beach . Stay in San Juan more options and better beaches.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ebarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Vega, Guest Services / Front Office at El Conquistador Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Our Sincere apologies, it seems that we did not met your expectations and you have mentioned inconveniences with various department. Please contact us and share with us the details of your experience.

Sincerely,
Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

What an amazing and perfect place for kids of all ages. The staff is amazing. During a tropical storm, they had movies, games & fun!
Marshall, thank you for everything!. Your staff is amazing, attentive and professional.
Palomino is stunning. The water park is a huge home run and the pool bar is perfect.
The food is amazing in every aspect.
We will be back next year and many years to come.

Thank you for hosting us!

See you in 2022.

Tammy OConnor

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tammyo391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Vega, Guest Services / Front Office at El Conquistador Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Thank you for your stay and for taking time to provide us with your feedback!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

I read the reviews from this site multiple times before arriving. I was expecting the worse when we arrived but to be honest it was an amazing time! First of all, the best part was that only a quarter of this hotel is open. The water park had no lines, it wasn’t crowded and it was also included on our stay! Palomino island needed a reservation but that was done easily at check in. Check in wasn’t until 4 pm but we arrived early at 11 am and we had a room available . Tropical storm Fred was headed our way so many restaurants in Fajardo were closed, but we were able to eat at the resort and the food was great! They provided us with board games, and movies for the kids so they weren’t bored during the storm, which was very thoughtful. It was better than being stuck in our room. The cafe had great coffee but we never ate at the breakfast buffet because we found a nice place called Cafe Vistas which had amazing organic food just 5 min away from the resort. The food at Coqui water park was good, and so is the food at the restaurant. Palomino island was gorgeous and it’s ferry operates every hour. Last one leaving the island was at 3pm. The resort has two parrots in the lobby which are very cute! One of them was over 90 years old and slept a lot, but the other was 28 and oh my gosh, did she love saying “hola” so adorable! When they were taking her to bed, my daughter had the chance of carrying the parrot momentarily and we were so happy as no one else got to do that! Overall, I think my experience was great! It was my second time at El Conquistador Resort and it was just as memorable as the fist time! Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank arod1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews