We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Firstly we took the yellow taxi from the airport and had a lovely driver who offered to take us to the local grocery store and let us get some bottles of water and other food items before we headed to the hotel and he did not charge us extra for the stop. We did give him a tip for going out of his way for us. We bought a six pack of bottled water(1.5lt) for $6FJ and a few other cheap snack items. We had already packed food items with us so we didn't need much, but the water was great.
We were warmly welcomed from the boat ride, to check-in and everywhere we went at the hotel. The staff were all so warm and friendly and always ready to serve. We stayed in the Guest rooms which were very nice and large. We had a beautiful ocean view and we loved to wake up in the morning looking out at the ocean and then in the evening have the great pleasure of witnessing amazing sunsets. We ate at the restaurant each night and enjoyed great food from their menu. Yes it seems pricey, but for us it was very comparable to eating out here in Auckland. All of our meals were delicious and we have no complaints about the food at all. All the fish dishes we had were amazing. We did the paddleboarding and kayaking and had a lot of fun. We thought the water was fine, it was warm and we could see the bottom when we were out in the water. It is not the clear blue that you find at the reefs but it is just like the water here at our coast in NZ . If you really want to experience real Fiji and have a great day we recommend the day trip of snorkeling and kayaking that is offered at the hotel for $125FJpp. We had so much fun. I do not however recommend this trip for small children. I just love the Fijian people! We loved the tranquility of the island. It was so peaceful and beautifully laid out. It was so pretty at night all lit up.
One final thing, don't sweat the small things, this is Fiji, just relax and enjoy all this beautiful place has to offer. It truly is "A get away from it all" place.. We will be back

Room Tip: If you stay in the Guest Rooms choose the ones on the ground level. Much more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mghuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 150 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Good hotel for families. We are a mature couple and should have researched more.

The one swimming pool is lagoon shaped but too full of kids to have a proper swim. Sea is unsuitable for swimming/snorkelling.

No beach to speak of, out of the way, 30 min to Nadi, 45 to Nadi Airport, 1.5 hours to Suva.

Alcoholic drinks, especially wine, are expensive.

Staff are great, so friendly but operate on Fiji Time.

Room Tip: Deluxe Bures are right on the oceanfront but are "duplexes" and have thin connecting walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RossWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Very nice rooms and quiet setting, great food but horrible customer service took hour to get our food and spa staff was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. There were lizards inside our room wife and child had a hard time sleeping when they seen them

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank vikashs633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The build of the resort was nice but sea the was not horriblily bad experience the staff were quite friendly and their service was good. The vegetarian options was less and the value for the food not worth paying

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 427shrirams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Had 8 nights here in August. The one minute boat ride is a nice welcome, at night with all the blue and white fairy lights. The room was large and had two very comfy beds. Lovely grounds, gardens, friendly staff. The food was on the pricey side but generally good and tasty. Service sometimes very slow, but thats OK, Fiji time. Cocktails were lacking in alcohol so we stuck to rum and cokes etc.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank patcarden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonaisali Island
12.6 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
7.3 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
59.1 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,239 reviews
6.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.9 km away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island

Address: Naisali Island | Naisali Island, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Sonaisali Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Sonaisali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonaisali Island
Price Range: $117 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Fiji - Sonaisali Island is surrounded by the warm waters of the South Pacific Ocean, just a three-minute boat ride from the main island of Viti Levu, and a short 25-minute drive from Nadi International Airport. The resort offers a wealth of amenities, beautiful accommodation and an authentic, warm Fijian welcome. Guests staying at our hotel can choose from an array of activities, including paintballing, horseback riding and pampering spa treatments. Those looking to enjoy the natural beauty of the area while adopting the relaxed island pace of Fiji can swim in the freeform pool on the edge of the beach, or explore the beautiful coral reefs of the nearby Mamanuca Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing