We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more mature resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

On our recent trip to Fiji, my family stayed at this resort, The Warwick & Plantation Island. This one probably just came out on top ahead of The Warwick. Only let down by having less food options & food that wasn't as good (but the bread & butter pudding at breakfast was delicious) and also a beach that wasn't really suited to swimming at. However, the beach was offset by the best pool of the 3 resorts. This resort was a bit more "grown up" than the other two, however the kids rated this the best kids club of the 3. There were fewer activities here & the games room was smaller. And the watersports were very expensive. But there was a decent gym. The Indian staff at check-in were less friendly than the Fijian staff in the restaurant, but the staff at The Warwick were still nicer. Oh, and the welcome cookies are as good as people say! My brother & his family had a buree & it was great for his family & had nice views. However my mother & I got moved into one of the beachfront apartments & our view was spectacular! The room was excellent. Well appointed with a A/C, a fridge, safe, writing desk & pay TV where only half the channels were working. The bathroom was excellent. Great shower, a bath & nice toiletries. A great place to relax. 3 days were enough for me though.

Room Tip: The apartments are closer to the water with better views from the second level. The burees have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Excellent resort!! Rooms are very modern, pool is wonderful for kids, resort isn't too big/crowded like some others.
Buffet and food is decent but you wait a long time if you order from the menu. This was the only annoying thing about our entire stay
Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ianG5469XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I could not get over how helpful, warm and friendly the staff were at DoubleTree on Sonaisali Island. They were incredibly accommodating and the facilities and amenities available were fantastic. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a high quality resort in Nadi.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 29katrinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I had a very relaxing and extremely enjoyable stay at the DoubleTree! Especially the service the staff provided was not only helpful but very forthcoming, I really felt looked after during my whole stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank LuisaZ7137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stay away from this resort until the management fixes the front desk management and the food.

We were booked by a travel agent for our special day and this was made known to the hotel way beforehand. However, upon arrival at 5am Fiji Time, the sole reception counter was occupied so we had to wait half an hour. After waiting and finally our turn, my husband and I were made to repeat our first names, middle names, and last names thrice each but he still could not find our booking. The reception staff then printed out a list of all guest names checking in on that day but we realised he was all along loking at the wrong date, so he printed another out (the previous day) and still couldn't find our names. After a long back and forth, he suddenly realized there was a no-show list and finally found our names on the "No-Show" list (just because we arrived at 5am so we were put as no show - although our flight arrival time was indicated in the booking). Anyway, the above experience encapsulated the whole experience with Hilton as they were poorly managed. Many other things - eg. asking for recommendations, help, housekeeping supplies, moving of luggage, were either misunderstood or mismanaged in a spectacularly flabbergasting way (for example, they did not know what was a "Vanity Kit" - it was provided on the first day, but not the second day). Housekeeping closed at 12am so there was no luck in getting the supplies you needed (which was basic for a luxury hotel). No welcome drink, no welcome cookie (unlike the other reviews stated here), we were only compensated with that "cookie" for our bad experience and given a late checkout (after very much painful communication).

Food was cold, can you imagine 3 days of daily breakfast with almost the same thing and cold food, and you are stuck at some faraway place without other breakfast options? Feels like jail to me instead of a luxury resort. At least a 80FJD trip to and fro any where decent with food (ie. town), so spend more money and stay elsewhere.

Nonetheless, I would like to thank most of the Hilton frontline staff for putting in their best efforts, but it was not good enough due to the mismanagement and lack of training. We love Fiji and Fijians, just not DoubleTree's management of a brand like Hilton.

PS: this was previously Sonaisali Island Resort, I believe DoubleTree bought it over but it doesn't live up to the "Hilton" brand ever and doesn't even come close. It makes me wonder where all the "5-star" reviews of this hotel come from (I observe mostly people who have given less than 6 reviews in their entire Tripadvisor profile).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Smint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonaisali Island
12.6 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
7.3 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,307 reviews
59.1 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,220 reviews
6.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.9 km away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island

Address: Naisali Island | Naisali Island, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Sonaisali Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Sonaisali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonaisali Island
Price Range: $121 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Fiji - Sonaisali Island is surrounded by the warm waters of the South Pacific Ocean, just a three-minute boat ride from the main island of Viti Levu, and a short 25-minute drive from Nadi International Airport. The resort offers a wealth of amenities, beautiful accommodation and an authentic, warm Fijian welcome. Guests staying at our hotel can choose from an array of activities, including paintballing, horseback riding and pampering spa treatments. Those looking to enjoy the natural beauty of the area while adopting the relaxed island pace of Fiji can swim in the freeform pool on the edge of the beach, or explore the beautiful coral reefs of the nearby Mamanuca Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing