We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
US$340
View deal
Expedia.comUS$386
Hotels.comUS$386
Booking.comUS$355
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
483
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
483
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand fruit cake small lake wonderful hosts delicious breakfast mount cook south island welcome drink private deck complimentary drinks southern alps trout home made cakes the snow capped mountains thought of everything a wonderful stay glass of wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Everything from start to finish was fantastic. The owners are lovely people, who are very welcoming and make everyone feel like an honoured guest. The accommodation is first class and the outlook is breathtaking. Delicious home baked food was available to help ourselves to, a welcome drink and a substantial scrumptious breakfast provided. Once we arrived we didn't want to leave; sitting on the deck enjoying a lovely afternoon tea, soaking in the luxurious spa bath; and relaxing in front of the fireplace with a nice glass of wine and a good book to read.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Our guests are all very special to us, loved the fact that you didn't want to leave just pleased we don't have to!!

Thank you so much for writing your review,

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

WE loved the hospitality and genuine helpfulness of Jo and Peter at the Manuka Lodge. Our stay was only for one night but it was the nicest stay of our holiday in New Zealand. The Lodge is beautifully looked after, the room we stayed in was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. All round a great place.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hi Wayne
Thank you for a fab review and pleased that you found Matuka the nicest stay in NZ ....we are very proud to say we are Tripadvisors Traveller rated #1 B&B in New Zealand 2019.
With very best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019

Pete and Jo were wonderful hosts! The lodge was amazing and 5* luxury and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to my friends. Thank you for a fantastic stay. Jo even did our laundry when my partner was cycling!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passport01570549278
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Loved having you with us and was great to see you all making the most of the TwiZel and Mackenzie area.Look forward to hopefully seeing your friends here,
Best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019 via mobile

Had a one night stay. Jo, the owner, was so friendly in settling us it. The room was warm and had beautiful fragrance. Everything was thoughtfully prepared including bathrobes, makeup remover, cotton buds etc (BYO toothbrush and paste).The lodge has a nice common living space overlooking a pond with wine,tea, coffee, cookies and fruits. The breakfast was prepared by the owners - homemade with toast, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms.

Very romantic place for couples who can afford a little splurge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 00Honey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hi Honey00

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Matuka seems to be the place for romance!!

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019

Extremely comfortable, lovely room and bathroom, every desirable amenity, and helpful friendly hosts. Fabulous views from the bedrooms, and a very good cooked breakfast. There are four rooms, so every chance you will meet like-minded couples for an evening nightcap and star gazing. A little out of town, so very peaceful and quiet.

There are three good restaurants (one Indian cuisine) in Twizel so good choice for dining.

Room tip: All rooms have the same view with an outdoor setting, but remain private.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hi Meg C

Love the photo and the review thank you for taking the time to write,

Best regards

Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews