We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pizza”
Review of Shawty's Cafe

Shawty's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since its beginnings in 2005, Shawtys has built up a strong reputation, synonymous for fine food and great espresso. A destination in the Mackenzie Country. Open 7 days from 8.30am till late over the summer months with reduced hours during the winter season. Shawtys has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, and cabinet food available, and our chef's are committed to providing you with great qualiy food at an affordable price. With a comprehensive gourmet pizza menu and great range of gluten free and vegetarian options there is something to suit everyones taste.Step into warm surroundings and take in the "New York" inspired decor. Shawtys recently underwent an amazing facelift and would not be out of place in a bustling city scene. A new look has led to a renewed focus on excellent quality wines and an array of craft beers. Shawtys offers a dining experience of high standard in a relaxed setting, perfect for an intimate dinner with friends or larger gathering. We aim to leave a lasting impression on our customers with great service and we invite you to check us out.
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Had a lovely dinner here. There is a good selection of food and you can get GF options.
The only let down was the fact that we only had one drink as no one came back to ask us if we would like another drink.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alaina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Alaina,
Thanks so much for the feedback, I will discuss this with the team and ensure that you get better service in the future.
We are glad you enjoyed your dinner though.

Kindest Regards
Rachel Sheridan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

My husband and I had a lovely dinner here, the restaurant has a really lovey ambiance. Food was delicious and a good variety to choose from.
Would definitely come back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Rebecca,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such an awesome review, this is humbling for our hard working team.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest Regards
Rachel Sheridan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A superb experience always.
Endorse listed positive reviews +++
Atmosphere always most welcoming.
Staff friendly and exceptionally helpful.
Service top of the range no matter how busy restaurant is at the time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patsycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Patsycroft,

Wow - This is so great to hear, thanks so much for recognising us! We look forward to continually giving you great service and food.

Kindest Regards
Rachel Sheridan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

So thrilled to get a beautiful iced coffee - with a paper straw!!!!
Thank you Shawtys for using biogradable consumables. The refillable takeaway cups are wonderful too.
We've been eating at Shawtys for years when we come through for work, the food and coffee is always great. It's the straw that impressed me enough to write a review though. Nice job guys.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Li & Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Li & Michelle,

Thanks so much for the recognition, getting people to change habits is not always easy so to be rewarded by your glowing review just justifies our position.

SO cheers to you.

Kindest Regards
Rachel Sheridan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Great food, service and price! We didn’t expect to find such a great restaurant in the area but we were pleasantly surprised.. so much so that we ate there two nights in a row. The staff were super friendly and our food came out quite fast even though it was fully booked both the nights we ate here. The food was delicious and would highly recommend coming here.

Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Celeste,

Thanks so much for the glowing review. Our team are such hard working people, always aiming to exceed expectations so when we do and someone realises it in the way you have, we LOVE IT.
So thanks for your visit, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kindest Regards
Rachel Sheridan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shawty's Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Shawty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing