We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzibar Bahari Villas(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
97
5
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
5
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut woodspent a long weekendafrican designstone townexcellent foodthree nightsco ownerlobsterpole poleamazing placelocal lifeprivate terraceswimming in the oceanmakes you feelour honeymoonmosquito netmnemba island
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I just adored the style of ... Everything. So much love in all details. These guys really turned it into a magic place. The pool clean. The food awesome. The prices super fair. The service great. The rooms cute and clean. And they only have people from the same village working for them. And their kite teacher JUMA is great!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Franziska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Fairly long drive from the Airport (just over 1 hour) and at the end we went off road through a local village, all of which are fairly poor in Zanzibar, to get to the gates of the Matemwe Bandas Resort. We enter and get out of the car only to be met with… Paradise !! One of the owners, Magdalena, then quickly appeared and greeted us. There are no luxuries here, just basic, yet rustic, safe and clean accommodation, that has everything you need to have a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The two main items for me, shower and WiFi, were awesome !

Resort with only 6 rooms, 3 of which are beach facing (one of which we rented), so it is a very small resort, but the rooms (beach ones at least) are very spacious. These rooms are literally on the beach, with high tide coming within 50 meters of the rooms. A beautiful and fairly quiet beach with a few friendly locals and their boats. Several other small resorts along this beach, which we stopped at for a drink or meal, however none as nice as this in our opinion, and all far more expensive. Lovely open area with a thatched roof with dining tables and a bar, next to the pool, was a favoured place to relax.

It was very apparent that Magdalena and her business partner Milky, were serious about ensuring their guests are happy and well looked after, however also very refreshingly, aren’t greedy and in it to make a million dollars overnight. The rates were very reasonable and when making the booking, we didn’t miss the fact that they didn’t request payment or a deposit up-front. Very trusting, and hope future vacationers don’t take advantage of that and force them to change. They went out of their way to ensure we had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay, for which we were very appreciative. They can arrange many activities for those that want more than just relaxation and lounging around.

We were really very impressed with Matemwe Bandas (aka Zanzibar Bandas??) and the hosts, and as we live in Dubai and have direct flights, we will certainly be visiting again very soon!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those facing the beach
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I have cherished every single moment I've spent at Matemwe Bandas. Great localization, superb ambiance, very nice stuff, great food. Bandas are situated right on the beach which makes you feel like Sun rises just for you. The rooms are designed in great style fully lined with mkeka. Lovely Pool near the restaurant and great chill zone around. You can truly relax and forget about all the hustle ! LOVE IT.

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean front rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oliwia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Positives
Many to mention:
- Fantastic owners: they couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. I required gluten free food and Magdalena wrote GF on the chalkboard next to the dishes I could have.
- Friendly staff: staff were very pleasant. Those cleaning our rooms did so discretely. We'd have breakfast in the morning and as we returned, the room had already been seen to!
- Remote and stunning location: we had a beautiful beach practically all to ourselves! I loved the hammocks, evening lighting and swimming pool. The atmosphere at Zanibar Bandas is so relaxed.
- Clean, comfortable rooms. The accomodation facing the beach was particularly stunning. We loved sitting on the porch, enjoying the cool sea breeze as we read our books!
- Free Wifi in bar area.

Areas for improvement:
- Bed pillows gave me a neck ache. Mattress in the twin beds was very soft. The mattress of the bed in the beach house was more comfortable.
- Some guests were greeted by name and not others. The waiters should try to greet everyone by name in the morning. Perhaps they could also wear name tags to help guests remember their name too.
- We waited a long time for breakfast but luckily, we weren't in any rush.
- A breakfast menu would've been welcomed, although I understand every day is different due to whatever produce is available at that time.
- An information desk would be good, with guests able to pick up leaflets regarding tours or someone to speak to about trips.

Overall, an amazing trip and it was a pleasure to stay at Zanibar Bandas.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Difficult to find by your self, locatet at the wonderful withe sanded beach.
Small boutique hotel with just 3 sea side bungalows and 2 pool side rooms. The wood bungalows are beautifuldirectly at the beach with a wonderful ocean sight, you can chill on the veranda. stylish shower, typical zansibarian furniture.
very quiet place.
The hotel area is small, built on the white sand, you have a pool, a kind of library combined with the dining area and reception, sunloungers at the pool and the beach and on the top of the viewing platform.
Food is incredible fine, fresh and tasty, creamy curries, vegetarian dishes and local fresh fish.
The owners, a local family, are very nice, friendly, helpful and you feel like beeing at home, a absolutely great team!
if you are looking for a few days at a quiet familiar place with a great bungalow at a lonely beautiful beach escaping mass tourism you will be at the right place!
Absolutely recommended!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews