We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveller rating
1,199
77
21
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,199
77
21
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool villa host ocean front two bedroom villa our honeymoon pure luxury stone town all inclusive resort indian ocean amazing resort day bed low tide out of this world beach chairs heaven on earth f b manager a la carte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2021 via mobile

Very nice hotel, clean , delicious food, not many people , concierge is not professional, we asked for catamaran trip to Mnemba Island , they advised to go to to another island promising there would be better coral reef - showed another boat on the picture , there was no reef and the trip was expensive , boat dirty . Do not listen to their advices. But the hotel okay- not friendly about late check out - wanted to charge 800 dollars for 6 hours in spite of the fact hotel was empty

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Kregielczak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

The room was amazing. I've stayed at ocean view villa and it has a lot of space and was very clean. The food was amazing, like really amazing. The stuff was very helpful and careful. The ocean was warm and friendly. I'll recommend Baraza to all tourists traveling to Zanzibar

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 768andriyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM TZC, General Manager at Baraza Resort and Spa Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

We are reading your kind words on a Monday morning and we are simply delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Please come back soon.
Yolanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Baraza was the perfect escape. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, especially to my 83 year old mother. They called her Bebe and treated her as if she were their own grandmother. Special mention must go to Idi at the dive centre who taught Bebe to snorkel for the first time. He was patient, calm and understanding. Thank you!!
The food was incredible, although we all agreed that we preferred the buffet lunches to the formal a la carte dinner.
The villas were so spacious and comfortable. And the resort was small enough that you were given personal attention but it all still felt incredibly spacious and opulent.
I would go back tomorrow! Our group of 13 ranged in age from 7 to 83 and each age group throughly enjoyed it.
Great spa treatments and fabulously swimming at high tide as well as a fascinating reef walk at low tide.
I highly recommend this fabulous resort.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HenriettaH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM TZC, General Manager at Baraza Resort and Spa Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Wow.. what a review!!
I am so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and I look forward to sharing your very kind words with the rest of the team later today.
We miss our Bibi already and we wish you all a very happy year ahead.
I will also personally pass your warm wishes to Iddi.
Sunny regards from us all,
Yolanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021

wonderful villas; great location; not crowded; every evening different fantastic food; super friendly staff; cozy for couples and very comfortable for families with children. Good local entertainment with dance and music, very appreciable.

Room tip: villa on the beach offers unforgettable landscapes
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adyO7012RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM TZC, General Manager at Baraza Resort and Spa Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

This is such a wonderful review... Thank you very much and we wish you a very happy year ahead.
Yolanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

Our stay was spoiled by a family who brought their beat-box to sunbathe. They had the next door villa to us, so they were allocated (as is the way of the hotel) the next door sun-parasol to us. The heavy throb of their music completely spoiled our ability to chill out on our terrace or plunge pool, or under our parasol.

The Manager spoke to them, but they just turned the music back up once he had walked away - although he then came over to us to explain what he had done, thereby revealing to the family who had complained! The Manager suggested we might move to a different parasol along the beach, but this didn't solve being able to hear the throb from our bungalow.

The following day, a bungalow was found for us at Zawadi (see review), so we moved. We were very grateful for the move that day, but it was a shame, the management didn't nip the problem in the bud sooner, such as saying 'no beat-boxes'. They have, for example, amended their 'all inclusive' rules so that drinks consumed from the mini-bar are now no longer free!! So they could easily create a new rule about beat-boxes.

Interestingly enough, when we arrived to check in to Baraza, a female guest was shouting at the Manager for something that had gone wrong. Her repeated comment was, 'but that's just not fair.' It was never clear what her complaint was about, but within 4 hours, I was having exactly the same kind of conversation with the Manager - despite paying $1,500 a night, we were being disturbed by the selfish behaviour of other guests.

Baraza is architecturally beautiful, but if the guests are loud or selfish, it doesn't really matter how attractive the decor.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM TZC, General Manager at Baraza Resort and Spa Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Dear Londona,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we appreciate your kind comments about the architecture and your very positive comments that you left upon departure about the food, the service, houskeeping etc.

We regret that you deem it fit to give us a three star rating, due to the behaviour of some other guests staying at the hotel. We as management can only do our best to try and solve such an issue as we are not in control of the behaviour of our guest and we have to reiterate that it is very unusual to have such guests inhouse. We offered you an immediate solution of moving to our sister resort as you mentioned and you accepted this solution and therefore we are surprised by your rating as it is not in keeping with the guest comment card you filled out before departing the hotel where you praised the services of the hotel. We have not changed our policy for room service drinks, it has always been so.

The other guest you refer to was actually one, whose stay had not been duly paid for by her agent and was being asked to settle the bill accordingly. Hence she was not upset with the hotel but rather her agent and it is difficult to understand why you would choose to include her in your review of the hotel, without knowing any details of the matter.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yolanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews