We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends like family”
Review of Demani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Demani Lodge
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2016

It's just one of those places where people get together and embrace. Met some amazing people there. The food is pretty good but quite slow. Order an hour before you're hungry. The barman is also a tiny bit slow but he's also really nice. This place is super clean, the pool is a delight and I really wish I could teleport myself back there!! Lots of hammocks

Room Tip: I was booked into a dorm but slept in a hammock for the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2016

It's such a pleasure just to enjoy the garden at this place. Different kinds of flowers and plants, many cozy small chill out spots with hammocks etc, and a swimming pool.
The bungalow was simple but spacious, with fresh beds and a big bathroom. On the day we arrived it was a big barbecue party that lasted until the wee hours, but except from that it was pretty quiet, also in the weekend. The vibe was laid back and friendly. Great staff :)
The food was really good, I can strongly recommend their fabulous chicken curry and the chapati wraps. Ok now I'm hungry.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We arrived from Nungwi to Paje for the end of holiday. I just wish we had discovered Demani Lodge from the outset.
We stayed in one of the beautifully clean and spacious double room huts with an en suite bathroom. The rooms and pool are surrounded by lush gardens which feel secluded, chilled and extremely safe. All areas of the lodge are extremely spotless and well maintained.
All the team are happy to help at all times of the day and night, they make you feel so welcome and at home straight away. There is nothing negative to say, we were so sad to leave and just wished we had longer there.

Tip, ensure you’re there stay on a Thursday, their party is legendary!
Beach is a very short walk from the lodge; we hired a Vespa and explored which is well worth it. The Blue lagoon is stunning and the lodge is close to the iconic restaurant, The Rock.

What else can I say…I left my heart in demani lodge!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallywoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Very cosy and rustic lodge to relax. Rooms are small but clean and equipped enough for sleeping. Good mosquito nets. The shared washroom facilities are quite luxurious for a backpacker's lodge on the african continent, super clean!
Staff is always friendly and helpful.
Great bar/restaurant with cosy atmosphere, reasonable prices for delicious food and drinks.
Nice 20 minute walk along the beach to the busy beach of paje.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smy_bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

great for chilled out budget accommadation, I stayed in the single room which was spacious and clean. The shared bathrooms were also kept very clean, breakfast is simple but filling and the food is great for the price. Would definitely reccommend staying here.

it's about 2k along the beach to get in to Paje though, so don't stay here if you want to be in the centre of town!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank RF_Edinburgh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
40.4 km away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
6.7 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
0.9 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
2.9 km away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
2.6 km away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
Jambo Beach Bungalows
#12 of 28 in Paje
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demani Lodge

Address: Jambiani Road, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range: $50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers, Kitesurfers and barefoot beach-lovers will adore the easy retreat oasis of Demani Lodge. Situated just a kilometre from Paje on the Jambiani Road, Demani's lush garden, swimming pool, free Wifi and easy access to the beach are topped off by flexible accommodation options with singles, doubles, triples, dorm room and nice, big rooms with wooden floor and bathroom en suite. Pick-up's can be arranged for extra cost. We have a BBQ with live music and party with DJ every Thursday, delicious food in the kitchen from 12 pm - 22 pm, and an open bar as long as there is people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Demani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demani Lodge Paje, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing