We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Demani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demani Lodge
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had a nice stay in demani lodge, the rooms are good and the shared bathrooms are clean. We also get good breakfast, but it could be more and maybe not only eggs. But only eggs is everywhere, not only demani lodge. The stuff is very nice and you can get good dinner or lunch for a normal price. Beer could be a bit cheaper.
Paje is 20 minutes away and jambiani 45 minutes away, but it is a nice walk on the beach. They don't reccomend to walk on the beach after dark, so you have to take a taxi, which they say it is 5000 tsh(2,5$) but we got it in the village for 1000.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jjanny2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemaniLodgeZanzibar, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the well-being of our guests is the most important to us :) Like any place in the world prices are raising steadily and everything has become more expensive lately, both on beer and other alcohol. This means that we also need to raise our prices for and the price we charge for beer is a very normal price in a hotel/restaurant these days.
The common price for a taxi to Paje is very correctly 5000 TSH so if you got one for 1000 TSH I dear say you made a good deal :)

Take care and all the best,
Demani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Everything of the lodge is great. Very nice rooms, the best food ever and very friendly people. I really enjoyed my stay here and I definitely will come back. The accommodation is not at the beach but just 100 meters walk, so that's fine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank reneevanwoerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemaniLodgeZanzibar, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Renee

We enjoyed having you so much and we really really appreciate your great feedback!! Thank you for booking with us and we hope to see you again soon :)

Demani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Very good place, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. It's nice to have a swimming pool in the area as the beach is not very swimmable, a lot of kite surfers though. The food is really good as well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WhiteFangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemaniLodgeZanzibar, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review of our excellent lodge :) It is true that the beach just down here is a bit rocky but luckily this is already gone after a 3-4 minutes walk towards Paje and we try to advice all of our guests about this when they check-in. I am way too lazy to walk too far only to take a swim and around the corner of hotel on the rock the beach is white, sandy and very suitable for swimming at high tide :)

Karibu Tena!

Demani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I travelled alone, stayed @ Demani's for 2 weeks. I was in Pajé for kitesurfing.
Really loved that place!! It's atmosfeer, the people I've met, and the food is sooo good!
I had a single room without a toilet or shower, but the sanitairy block was just around the corner ;).
It was always clean, same as my room after the friendly staff made my bed and fixed me up with some beautifull towel art :D.
Thursdays Bbq and party @ Demani's I can recommend, again the food is really good, there is live music and afterwards the party really starts!!
Pajé centre is about 2km away from Demani, 30min walk on the beach or 10-15min with the bike that you can rent @ Demani.
I had such a lovely stay and time there!! Thanks for having me, hope to see you al again some day!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 673elkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemaniLodgeZanzibar, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Elke

We had such a great time having you here, you are a super guest to host :) After two weeks you became family :) We are really happy you enjoyed and hope we see you back here some day.

Take care!

Demani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Highly recommend staying in Demani Lodge - the place is very quirky and chilled. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They are so hardworking and ensure the place is spotless. The food here is amazing - all cooked fresh and delicious. Best pancakes I've tasted. It's a 4min walk from the beach which is great if its very windy and you still want some sun. The pool area is shaded from wind. You can organise all trips with Demani and travel to and from places. Thank you for a fab time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 299moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemaniLodgeZanzibar, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest

We are so happy reading one good review after another :) That shows that our hard work is paying off with all our satisfied guests! Thank you for staying with us and for being such a super guest!!!

All the best,
Demani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.9 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
279 reviews
6.7 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
277 reviews
40.4 km away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
55 reviews
2.9 km away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
3.4 km away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#6 of 30 in Paje
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demani Lodge

Address: Jambiani Road, Paje, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paje
Price Range: $50 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers, Kitesurfers and barefoot beach-lovers will adore the easy retreat oasis of Demani Lodge. Situated just a kilometre from Paje on the Jambiani Road, Demani's lush garden, swimming pool, free Wifi and easy access to the beach are topped off by flexible accommodation options with singles, doubles, triples, dorm room and nice, big rooms with wooden floor and bathroom en suite. Pick-up's can be arranged for extra cost. We have a BBQ with live music and party with DJ every Thursday, delicious food in the kitchen from 12 pm - 22 pm, and an open bar as long as there is people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Demani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demani Lodge Paje, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing