We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
48
22
6
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
22
6
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna area traditional austrian food great days free wifi half board yogurt innsbruck wednesday balcony meals euro yards meats teas ski summer valley
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

LOCATION
We loved the location in terms of its quiteness and vicinity of good ski slopes. Within 30 minutes drive you can reach over 3-4 good ski areas and have all the diversity for skiing you need. We were driving with car, but the ski bus is circulating just next to the hotel, so I assume it is not a problem. Hotel is located very centrally in a small town of Zell am Zillertal, which is almost a village.

ROOMS
We were upgraded from standard room upon arrival. Traditionally designed with very large beds and a lot of space - the room was a perfect cozy home to rest after skiing, it provided for all the comfort identical to good quality 4 or even 5star hotel. No drawbacks at all. Well, we missed a fridge though!

SERVICE
Very specific to this family-run hotel, the service is not immaculate, but very personal and friendly, the personnell seems to care a lot about their guests and made us feel welcome.

DINING
We ate at the Brau restaurant 2 times and the quality for the price was a little above average. Dining options are quite limited in the village, the best place we discovered was Italian restaurant almost opposite to the hotel - ask at the reception and head there!

SAUNA
Amazing saunas and rest areas, superbly equipped and designed, very spacious and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Dear team of Hotel Brau, many thanks for the great stay, we appreciate your effort, smiley attitude and help.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatriise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had lunch here one cold, rainy day in summer. They have a good range of traditional Austrian food on the menu. As I must eat gluten free, I had limited choice, but enjoyed the GF Tiroler Grostl, which I like to describe as an Austrian bubble and squeak - sliced potatoes fried in bacon fat, with small cubes of roast beef and speck, along with herbs, onion and (I think) garlic. This is served with a fried egg on top and a serve of cabbage salad on the side. My husband had the wiener schnitzel served with traditional accompaniments, which he also really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Travelbugsbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a one night stay enroute South. The hotel only had a Panorama Suite left, but still gave us a good deal on a half board basis. The room was really nice, good space and as beautifully clean and fresh. The selection of food for dinner was very good and plentiful. Breakfast was excellent and the stay without fault.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Southcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We booked our visit through hotels.com. (we've done this at least 10 times with different hotels in Zillertal and never ever had problems before). The moment we steeped in through the door we noticed something was wrong. They had forgotten our reservation. Well this thing can happen but what really effended us was the way the handled the situation. First of all: they showed no understanding what so ever. They said they never heard of "hotels.com" before and didnt offer any assistance to clear out the situation. Anyhow, we called Hotels.com (it was like 9 pm on a saturday), and they were really helpfull. They talked to the reception staff and they emailed our reservation (yeah we over heard them) and the confirmation from the hotel Bräu. Here we thought everything was solved but no; We had to sit in the lobby for like an hour, no compensation was even offered us (we had to ask for it our selfes). After a great while the front desk woman comes to us and told us they never had seen our reservation nor heard of hotels.com (thou we already over heard that hotels.com had sent them a reservation and received an acknowledgement from the woman in the reception). So they they lied to us straight in our faces. Anyhow after an hour the situation was somehow sorted out, but instead of 2 doublerooms we got 1 large room. We were 4 adults (not super fun to sleep in one big room). But this was just for the first day, The second day we received our real rooms.
What really makes me angry is the way the treated us. They could have showed more understanding, solves the situation more swift and just told us the truth. Didnt they think we would know the truth or what?

But this feedback is only to the reception staff. The guys at the restaurant was really nice.

Hotels.com on the other hand was really great. The way they handled the situation, quick and with dignity was really impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Embarking on a first visit to Austria, a first ever encounter with Ski's & a first memorable encounter with the Alps (the descent to Innsbruck a spectacular opener, get a window seat!) our first impressions of the Brau were of an enchanting hotel and well appointed staff in traditional dress.

Efficient check in, lovely room, 2nd floor, views of the mountains and village, small but adequate bathroom with separate toilet. All in all a good base for the main event of the week. We travelled with 9 others to celebrate a special birthday and spend time with great friends.

The breakfast and evening food was included so we didn't venture any further, we didn't need too. The mornings provided plenty of energy inspiring carbs and delicious sweet cakes, the evening meal a choice of 3 main courses chosen in the morning. Always a good varied selection with a lot of tasty Austrian cuisine influence.

The bar was often the focal point for both pre & post meal discussion of the day's events, in my case how many times I fell over being a virgin skier.. It was a relaxing environment most of the time, the bartender almost warming to us by the end... Some of the more intrepid also discovered the local 'disco'... which was an interesting alternative night time distraction, though not massively populated.

So the twist, well only if your a shy unaware Brit, was the sauna. A pair of Board shorts were clearly deemed to be over dressed in the establishment at the bottom of the hotel. Different cultures, just request a gown from reception & descend in the lift from room, direct to the spa au natural, grab a towel to sit on, hang up the gown & let the days rigorous stresses melt away - observing the sauna etiquette & relax.

The village is quiet so no banging nightlife, but perfect for skiing with the free bus once you've got your ski pass, only 5-10 mins from the ski lifts. Ski hire shop only 50 yds from the hotel. Also, take the narrow gauge to the main town about 5 miles away for a break from the skiing if you need one..

In summary, an ideal hotel to concentrate on the skiing in an idyllic setting, the staff offering friendly thoughtful service always on call to assist.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Trickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews