We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, family run, comfortable”
Review of Charembeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charembeau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forcalquier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed for several nights at the start of September on our way between Antibes and Lyon. The hotel consists of a number of buildings in a quiet rural setting. The hotel is owned by a delightful French-British family who take a very hands on approach to managing the property. They are a great resource for the surrounding area. Father and son are avid cyclists and will rent reasonable quality Cannondale gravel bikes for the rather challenging but spectacularly beautiful riding in the area. We would love to go back! Also, 2 nice pools.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Stayed here for three nights as part of a cycle tour. The garage was well set up to help with minor repairs and also had a track pump which came in very useful following a puncture.

The staff are excellent and speak English.

There was no air conditioning in our room but the room stayed at a reasonable temperature, especially at night. The room we stayed in was large our one criticism was the lack of shelf space so the room ended up being quite messy. Apologies to the cleaners. The hotel is very clean. The rural location means it is very quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast is a table service and consisted of fruit juice, various jams and bread, yogurt, fresh fruit salad. While we were there it was served on a terrace with great views over the valley. Cheese and ham are extra.

The swimming pool was especially welcome as we needed one day to recover from our 42 mile cycle ride to get here. Temperatures on the ride hit mid 40sc and left me exhausted. There are quiet grounds around the hotel which have various pieces of art work in.

Forcalquier is approximately 2 miles away and is small market town with a variety of services including a well stocked cycle shop to pick up a souvenir cycle shirt.

WiFi was good in the rooms most of the time, though at times it was like the old dial up. I think this is largely due to its rural location.

The hotel encourages people to use various local restaurants that use local produce.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LesEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed here overnight on a one week cycling trip in Provence. The room was quite small but very tastefully furnished and the hotel itself was beautifully presented, with lots of lovely outdoor space and cosy elegant indoor meetings spaces. The family who own and manage the property were gracious and very easy to deal with and speak excellent English. We were able to hire electric bikes to ride into Forcalquier for dinner which was great. The setting, surrounded by trees and fields is delightful. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are bigger than those on the ground floor I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We stayed at the Charembeau with friends for 3 days while doing a hiking trip through Provence. I absolutely loved this hotel; we stayed on second floor and had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the property and sitting out there in the morning with a cup of coffee was so enjoyable. Great shower and had AC
They have a charming dining area for breakfast in the morning and have fresh fruits, yogurt, of course those beautiful croissants and will make you an egg any way you like.
There is a pool as well and the grounds are beautifully maintained by the family that runs it. The town of Forcaiquier is about 2 miles away so you will need a car if you are staying.

Room Tip: #3 was on second floor with large balcony and sitting area. A couple of rooms do not have AC so if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rileysmom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed for two nights at the end of June. Our room (room 3?) was lovely, cool (there was aircon) and spacious with its own little terrace. Wifi was good. There was an efficient walk in shower and separate toilet. Unlike most hotels where breakfast is a serve yourself buffet, here you are served at your own table on the terrace. It was a superb breakfast with a basket of different breads, butter, honey and jam, fresh fruit and Greek style yogurt plus good coffee. You could also pay for extra items such as eggs or cheese if you wanted them. As the hotel is a couple of miles or so outside of the town, we chose to take one of their 'cold plates' each evening with a pichet of wine - excellent value and comprised a delicious plate of different cheeses, ham, Provencal tart and salad with the usual basket of bread and butter plus a dessert. Members of staff are super friendly - I think those we met are the owners. All in all, a superb place to stay and we hope to return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forcalquier
2.8 km away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
3.4 km away
La Bastide St Georges
La Bastide St Georges
#2 of 2 in Forcalquier
279 reviews
35 km away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Hotel Le Mas des Quintrands
21.8 km away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
515 reviews
35.1 km away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charembeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charembeau

Address: route de Niozelles, 04300, Forcalquier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Forcalquier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forcalquier
Price Range: S$120 - S$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charembeau 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Charembeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing