We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Malena
Nearby Hotels
Kristalli Hotel Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mare Monte(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Happy Days Studios(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$56
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Danelis Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sarpidon Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Yiannis Manos Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kastro Beach Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$139
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
1
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I couldn't recommend Casa Malena enough. After our flight was delayed and we were late arriving, Peter couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring we had the best possible stay in our shortened trip.

The apartment seems to be brand new, it was absolutely spotless, air conditioning, the shower was amazing and it had everything we catered for. We also couldn't have asked for a better location, with the town and beach being no more than a 5 minute walk.

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay, and hope to be back again, as we would have loved to have stayed for a longer duration.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We originally booked with Aegean Sky Hotel but as they were "OVERBOOKED" we were asked to stay at Casa Malena as an alternate for two nights. At first we were a bit skeptical as we knew nothing about this hotel but as left with no choice we had to accept. The owner of Casa Malena seemed extremely annoyed because he had to wake up and arrange emergency rooms for 6 guests in early morning hours (4am!!) as he was told by staff from Aegean Sky that there was some problems with rooms!! We were very surprised how quiet, clean and airy the rooms were. We had two spacious balconies with table and chairs plus partial sea view, beautiful... There is a swimming pool with pool bar next to the property which is open to guests. At first we thought the owner was a bit strange and aggressive but as we chatted and got to know him he seemed like a good person. He is just very frank and practical. Not like other hotel owners who pretend to be your friends but then turns their faces away when they have to own up to their mistakes. We were only there for two nights but wished we stayed as Casa Malena for our entire holiday. May be next time...

Room Tip: Quieter rooms and location but 10min walk from all the action of Malia and Stalis
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kate2016-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

From the first glance, the hotel looks nice and clean (seems to be newly constructed). We booked it due to this cheap/competitive price for the Malia area. Problem is the landlord/owner of the hotel. As he seems to have financial problems, he is starting to lose his temper . From the beginning, he harassed us with things we apparently broke (chair of the terrace, bulb of a lamp in the bedroom) even we had barely been in the appartement. As we refused to pay, he mentioned that he will sue us and that we will not be able to leave the country. He was becoming very angry, starting to swing a metal chain while shouting around in Greek. Another discomforting factor was the fact that he was constantly hitting an old man (probably his father). After he said, "if you don't pay for all the damages, You will have the hell here" we decided to move out of the hotel after two days to a different location (even though we initially planned to stay there for a week). This saved our holidays!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Neat apartment facility, quiet and yet centrally located between Stalis and Malia. The centres of Stalis and Malia are reachable in a 10 minutes walk each.

The apartment contains an air condition and is well equipped with a kitchenette which includes a fridge, coffee machine and a kettle. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is clean and convenient.

Petros, the owner and host, is always available for helping the guests and really friendly.

We, a couple in our forties, enjoyed our stay at Casa Malena and would gladly visit it again.

PS: please do not believe certain 1 star reviews of young crazy party guys who destroyed the interior of the apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dzuccheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

2 days after our arrival in the hotel, the owner came unexpectedly in our room along with his father claiming that there was a problem. He went straight to the bedroom’s curtains, accusing us of having damaged them. Out of the sudden, he waves what looks like some bill, explaining that we have to pay for the curtains (he obviously already prepared this document beforehand). As we refused to take on the responsibility for this damages, he started shouting and becoming very aggressive. Then he started deferring the topic to the bathroom, with the exact words “you already made a mess with the bathroom”. Apparently, we had also broken some part of the shower (later on, he even accused us to have broken the door's lock). He left the room very angry grabbing his father by the waist, threatening us that “this is not over”. He really looked like he wanted things to get physical at some point. It was surreal.


We contacted the organizer to settle this argument, as a logical and rational discussion was not possible with him anymore. Before leaving to see the organizer, we made sure to take pictures and videos of the whole place. As he saw us leaving, he told us that we were going to be arrested at the airport and that he will sue us. We came back an hour later with the organizer. When showing the bathroom to her, we were SHOCKED to notice that he sneaked in the apartment in the meantime to damage some item of the shower(photos can show it). At this point we understood that the owner was deliberately trying to scam us and to get money from us. The discussion was at the edge of a physical fight, so we decided to leave with the tour operator and got another hotel for an extra cost. Of course we did not pay for the damage that he deliberately caused.


We strongly recommend to all travellers wanting to stay around this area to avoid Casa Malena. If you cannot cancel your stay, please make sure to film the entire apartment and to claim any possible damage you can notice beforehand.

*Photo 1 : before leaving the apartment in the morning to get the organizer
*Photo 2 : when we came back an hour afterwards : he had time to sneak in to break a small part so he could accuse us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews