We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I stayed here a few years ago alone for three weeks for a complete break away from it all! It was worth every penny paid! Seriously...food is so varied and very, very tasty..wine lovely, staff very helpful..rooms lovely, and the pool is such a plus..with sea water..so you do not have to go to the beach, which is small...and the town is only around the corner literally! I love it and would recommend it any time...this is a four star plus plus for sure!!! There is literally nothing to complain about..Aghios Nikolaos is a little walk away and the jewelry store is lovely as well..with Melissa and Georgios running it!!! They are gems, cordial, polite, very nice people...I will go there again, God willing, when I am visiting the island again...it is very safe too..and recommended for solo travellers for sure

Room Tip: Go to this hotel and you won't regret it..the promenade outside is lovely to walk on..great plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016

Ignore all bad reviews! If you're respectful to the hotel staff they will ensure that you have the best holiday of your life! Anna's lovely too, we accidentally left a watermelon on our balcony that fell off and made a mess everywhere and she found it so funny!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Everytime we'd complain about something ( bedsheets not being changed, cold shower, new towels, etc..) they would say "you get what you pay for ". It's very noisy which is expected of 18-30s but not getting your door kicked every morning and horrible smell . Pictures are deceiving! Only ground floor is refurbished but not much difference. Anna was nasty from the day we got there. You could get other hotels nearby for the same price but better service. The people at the bar are very nice but that's about it. I'd advise you not to go there.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sabrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Before coming to this hotel I read so many horrible reviews. After staying there for a week I must say... Please please please ignore all of the bad reviews!!!' The people that write them are clearly disrespectful of the hotel.
If you are polite, respectful and decent people then you will be treated so well! If you're a dick then you will not get the respect you lack to give them!
The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes from the strip, but you can still have a good nights sleep! The hotel staff are accommodating and amazing, on arrival we got a welcome shot! And air con and safe was only 20 euros each for the whole week which is amazing! The room was clean and was cleaned every day. Our air con stopped working momentarily but Anna came up and fixed it within 10 minutes without any fuss.
We paid no fines all week - simply because we don't break stuff!! If you break stuff obviously you will have to pay for it. The wifi was 2 euros for an hour, however if you spend 5 euros at the bar eg a snack and some drinks it's free anyway!

Anna is lovely, she was accommodating throughout the holiday and if you treat her with respect then you will not have any issues! She looked out for everyone and even hugged us goodbye- we love you Anna! All the horrible reviews about her are lies!! Or written by people who are disrespectful! Trust me !

The bar staff are absolutely amazing ! So friendly and sweet! The bar is 24 hours so if you've had enough of the strip you can go back to the hotel and the bar will still be open to have some more drinks!

The food was really lovely and so cheap! The music by the pool is really good and the pool is really nice! We made loads of mates in the pool as this hotel has a really communal feel to it and everyone enjoys themselves.

Shoutout to Andy the rep who was so lovely and always made sure we were okay !

Overall, would definitely come back for this hotel. We miss everyone already, please please please enjoy your stay here and do not be put off by the bad reviews. BEST HOLIDAY EVER.

We loved this hotel and everyone in it, will definitely be back! Love you lots Anna! Love Nicole Hannah and Sophie, room 214;) xxxxxxx

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ERL1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

You will not sleep here at all. Ive been to 18-30s before and they usually have rules in place like no music after 3am etc but here is like a zoo. People screaming shouting slamming doors until the next day.we are getting to sleep about 7am when we're not out drinking. The bathroom looks 100 years old. Never been anywhere were you have to rent a tv for you're room. Yes it's a cheap place to stay and noise is expected at 18-30s but not to this extent.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelleruk1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 km away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#19 of 91 in Malia
180 reviews
0.8 km away
Vergina Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.9 km away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0 km away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#67 of 91 in Malia
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Venizelou Eleftheriou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Price Range: S$38 - S$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermes Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing