We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Reviewed 25 August 2017

On arrival at 9pm at night, it was chaotic. Some problem at reception with other customers and a lot of raised voices. We were charged an extortionate amount to get a couple of items laundered. We asked the hotel to book a taxi for us to the train station which is less than 1 km away uphill . The taxi charged €30 for this very short spin. He explained to us that the receptionist gets a cut of €20 from this fee and he had no choice in the matter, this is what the hotel charges taxi to collect customers. We argued this with the hotel and they denied but I believe the taxi driver because when he pulled up for she came out and warned him to be sure he got this fee for her. We were so disheartened by this scamming and hope it does not happen to anybody else

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The first impression was fine, we were dealt with efficiently but not with a warm welcome. When we first entered the room it was a bit disappointing due to it looking like a loft conversion with only a tiny window giving light to the room. We were also disappointed by the lack of a balcony. However on a positive note, the room was clean as were the sheets and bathroom. The television was tiny and that far away from the bed that it was difficult to watch. There were also very few English channels, however this wouldn't be a problem if the only thing you like watching is the news and Gilmore Girls. There was a fridge in the room also, however this broke after a couple of days and we had to drink warm bottled water as a result. There was also a lack of plug sockets in the room which was particularly annoying as you couldn't charge your phone and watch the telly at the same time!

The shower was abysmal. Although clean, you had to get a wash under a tiny trickle of water. The shower curtain was only propped up on the tiles as well so fell down at one point.

On one night we'd got a huge pizza to take away from the restaurant near by (All Angolo) which we would highly recommend. We ate some of the pizza in the evening and planned to eat the rest cold for lunch the next day. However we came back from the beach the next day very hungry and couldn't wait to tuck into that delicious pizza, however got back in the room and the maid had thrown it out!! What was bizarre though, is that she'd left a half eaten bag of crisps on the side!! It made no sense why she would throw the pizza out and leave the crisps.

The beds were reasonably comfortable and we slept ok, however don't expect to nap in the day as there is a church bell that rings about every 15 minutes. Although this stops throughout the night, it starts again very early so don't expect a lie in.

Breakfast was adequate. We just ate muffins, croissants, fruit and yogurt. The cooked food was disgusting and did not look appetising. The bacon was stone cold and looked hideous. However there was a fair selection of food in general so you won't starve! The staff at breakfast were quite rude and barked at you for your room number.

The staff in general were quite dismissive, however there was one lady who was lovely on reception and would always smile and say hello as we passed through. Apart from her, we felt as if we were made to feel like we were being a nuisance if we approached staff for any reason. On one occasion we asked for ice (as the fridge was broken) however we were told they didn't have any. We were unsure whether this was true or they just couldn't be bothered.

The pool was nice although slightly small but this was fine. There were always sun beds and deckchairs also which was good. The pool was very deep, so may not be suitable for small children.

In general the whole experience was fine. We booked last minute for fairly cheap so weren't expecting anything amazing. However I would question the four star rating.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonesDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Unlike prior reviews, I cannot fault the staff for their friendliness, helpfulness and all round assistance. Thomas Cook didn't have a rep for the hotel and pretty much abandoned us, despite their website, their call service and emails. The hotel front desk helped us book some great excursions at lower cost than Thomas Cook and smaller groups than they offered. They also made sure we were aware of the courtesy bus service for Sorrento, which TC hadn't seen fit to mention.
Air con in room was very welcome in temps of 37+.
Our waiter for breakfast and evening meals was excellent. Friendly, humorous and helpful without being obsequious or overattentive.
The bar downstairs was being redecorated during our stay so the pool bar was in use which covered drinks and various hot/cold snacks.
Rooms were well cleaned and sorted.
Wifi was a little patchy and lacking speed, if I'm being all that picky.
Would more than happily revisit but wouldn't go with Thomas Cook.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kirok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my young family for 5 nights the staff were so rude and not helpful at all got the feeling that we were not wanted and everything was a problem to them if we asked them to do anything. The management was the worst I ever saw there own children would be around all day and out at the pool would be using it as there own garden as if no one else was there they would jump over the sun beds making u all wet jumping in pool on top of you and throw balls all around fighting with each other when guests are trying to relax or play with there own kids hard to do when these boys are doing these things without there mother the management who was sit watch them and not tell them to stop. They do not allow you to bring any food r drink outside of hotel in and there own is very dear they shout at you if they see you bring any in and sit and watch you at pool area to make sure you have nothing with you which is v hard when you have kids who have to keep drink in the hot heat. The reception was very unhelpful we had to organize are own transport and u need it as it is in the middle of no were and when we were standing wait for are lift told to wait outside in the heat as she had nothing to do with are lift and we were letting the air con out! The pool and rooms were lovely would be a nice Hotel if u were only sleeping in it and out all day and did not have any communication with the staff. The only member of staff that spoke to us or helped us in any way was Carmela if they were like her this hotel would be good!! Not a family hotel at all he owners use it as there own house watching your every move and not accommodating at all..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

from we moment we arrived the staff, couldn't have been more helpful, which put us at ease straight away, we were half board and the meals were very good, the staff Carmela, Claudio, Antonio, & especially Luca made our trip, very relaxed atmosphere rooms always clean fresh linin everyday, only minor point we had to check out at 10am no secure room to put cases or extra shower to get sort for later transfer time. but I could of asked to keep room on but didn't. overall recommend the hotel for quite break.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.4 km away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
303 reviews
0.4 km away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
366 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 20 in Vico Equense
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,858 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
81 reviews
1 km away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 104, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $116 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers the most modern and functional facilities to ensure the quality of living for those who want a simple but elegant, intimate, quiet and family. Situated in a central location of the Sorrento Peninsula, just 3 km from Sorrento is the ideal place for those who want to combine a stay of sun and sea can also make excursions such as Capri, Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, etc.. The property may provide for the reservation of transfer from the airport to the hotel, and vice versa. The hotel Albatros in June has an agreement with the shuttle service that accompanies clients from the hotel to the beaches of Meta at a very advantageous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing