We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Absolutely stunning location. Beautiful room with a beautiful view. Excellent food and amenities. Very friendly staff who made our stay first class? We will be going back and would highly recommend. Fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony gives a beautiful view of Maggiore Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The good: amazing dinners and lunches. Warm friendly staff, nice views, decent value for money.
The "not so good": small rooms, like warm shower water that never gers hot. Quite loud and nor well insulated against road and dining room noise. Breakfast a bit of let down after the amazing dinners we had

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank JambianiNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Dear guest , we are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant. As for the noise that comes from the road we are providing to find a solution. We will try to improve the breakfast buffet as we have suggested.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed in a lake-view room, and the view is worth it! Very nice hotel: amazing location, modern facilities, decorated with taste, very friendly staff, good breakfast, good quality for price. Only small defects: rooms not very clean and soundproof, bed not extremely comfortable, restaurant can get crowded and noisy some nights.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timothée D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled onto this hotel when searching for a place to stay along our travels from Italy to Switzerland. At first we had a difficult time finding the hotel but once we did it was well worth it!!

The hotel staff is amazing! We checked in at the front with the owners daughter who was pleasant and easy to speak with. The bartender who is also the waiter is extremely friendly, speaks amazing English and we had several nice conversations with him.

The room was quite spacious, clean and modern! The view from our room was breath taking. Even though the weather was foggy and raining, it didn't take away from the view! I included a few pictures of our view.

We enjoyed an amazing dinner in their restaurant. The meal was phenomenal and well prepared. The wine was amazing and the service perfection! Definitely worth the trip even for the food

The only challenge is the parking. The hotel is small with only about 10 rooms, however the traffic from the restaurant can make parking a bit tricky. If we ever pass through this area again we will definitely stop and stay here a few nights! Well worth it!!!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MAMAofThree77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

The view from the rooms together with the kindness of the personnel are the only good things of this hotel/Restaurant. We have been here one night, having Dinner and breakfast.
The Restaurant serves very little portions for very large prices.
Breakfast Buffet has very little choice, even though good quality.
Rooms don't have the same standard, even though the same price: attention for details is highly recommended!!(lamps without the cover, no shower gel..).
Unfortunately, though a wonderful view of the lake and a warm welcome from the hotel owners, we will not come back.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank LoveFunLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
1.8 km away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
175 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#6 of 7 in Arona
198 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#1 of 1 in Dormelletto
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Atlantic Hotel Arona
1.6 km away
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#5 of 7 in Arona
74 reviews
6.9 km away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via Verbano 4, 28041, Arona, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Price Range: $158 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing