We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$99
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
US$117
B&B.it
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
95
101
21
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
101
21
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the lakewanted somewhereroom was spaciousconnectionusagecastle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The good: amazing dinners and lunches. Warm friendly staff, nice views, decent value for money.
The "not so good": small rooms, like warm shower water that never gers hot. Quite loud and nor well insulated against road and dining room noise. Breakfast a bit of let down after the amazing dinners we had

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank JambianiNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Dear guest , we are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant. As for the noise that comes from the road we are providing to find a solution. We will try to improve the breakfast buffet as we have suggested.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed in a lake-view room, and the view is worth it! Very nice hotel: amazing location, modern facilities, decorated with taste, very friendly staff, good breakfast, good quality for price. Only small defects: rooms not very clean and soundproof, bed not extremely comfortable, restaurant can get crowded and noisy some nights.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timothée D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled onto this hotel when searching for a place to stay along our travels from Italy to Switzerland. At first we had a difficult time finding the hotel but once we did it was well worth it!!

The hotel staff is amazing! We checked in at the front with the owners daughter who was pleasant and easy to speak with. The bartender who is also the waiter is extremely friendly, speaks amazing English and we had several nice conversations with him.

The room was quite spacious, clean and modern! The view from our room was breath taking. Even though the weather was foggy and raining, it didn't take away from the view! I included a few pictures of our view.

We enjoyed an amazing dinner in their restaurant. The meal was phenomenal and well prepared. The wine was amazing and the service perfection! Definitely worth the trip even for the food

The only challenge is the parking. The hotel is small with only about 10 rooms, however the traffic from the restaurant can make parking a bit tricky. If we ever pass through this area again we will definitely stop and stay here a few nights! Well worth it!!!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MAMAofThree77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

The view from the rooms together with the kindness of the personnel are the only good things of this hotel/Restaurant. We have been here one night, having Dinner and breakfast.
The Restaurant serves very little portions for very large prices.
Breakfast Buffet has very little choice, even though good quality.
Rooms don't have the same standard, even though the same price: attention for details is highly recommended!!(lamps without the cover, no shower gel..).
Unfortunately, though a wonderful view of the lake and a warm welcome from the hotel owners, we will not come back.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank LoveFunLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We spent 3 nights with Hotel Ristorante San Carlo in early October. This is a small, family run hotel that provides exceptional service in one of the nicest venues in Italy. Our room was nicely decorated and very modern with a beautiful view of Lago Maggiore. We had no issues with parking; when the lot was full a hotel staff member would assist in parking and moving the car. My understanding is there is a large lot a short walk from the hotel, however, we never had to use that.

A very romantic spot to spend a few evenings. Very close to Milano as well as the Swiss Alps. Arona also has a very nice train station nearby with connections throughout Italy.

Breakfast was wonderful! Dinner was fabulous in the restaurant. Wifi was reliable (albeit, not fast but still very usable). Staff were so accommodating even though our Italian language skills were incredibly lacking.

We plan to return often! Absolutely loved San Carlo!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and be sure to enjoy at least one meal in the restaurant!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews