We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in an aristocratic house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at Palazzo Failla just for one night during our Tour of Sicily.
As soon as you get in, you get the feeling of being arrived in an aristocratic place.
Touches of class and attention to details are everywhere. We were escorted to our room (a standard), which was very nice. Unfortunately it had only a ceiling window. So we ask to move to another one. We were offered a superior room with only a 10 euros supplement. The room was nice, charming and decorated with Sicilian touches (ancien ceramic floors, coloured tissues). Their restaurant was unfortunately closed for week off so we could not try it.
Breakfast was excellent with good local products and pastry level cakes. Definitely recommended!
Do not miss a visit to nearby Ragusa and Ibla!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is in a very quiet area of town. It is definitely 4-star quality, with a breakfast buffet to die for. The room was very comfortable. The hostess was very helpful. The only minus is that the Wi-fi connection was spotty in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked the relax room in the dependance, for a pre-Valentine's weekend. This is the room with the jacuzzi, a couple of blocks away from the main hotel. The room was absolutely amazing - immaculately clean, heated, with great amenities including bathrobes, bathroom slippers, tonnes of channels on the TV, and our very own PC. Even though the room is in a seperate block, the amazing staff are available 24hours, with room service too! The temperatures outside were very cold so to have a heated double jacuzzi waiting was pure luxury, so I would definitely recommend the upgrade! We arrived early in the day, but Manuela still managed to accomodate us, have our room ready, and even offered us breakfast! My husband also emailed the hotel before our stay to arrange a beautiful surprise bouquet, and I have to say it was one of the best I have ever received. Having traveled quite a bit, I have to say that the service in this hotel is one of the best around the world, especially comparing to other hotels in Italy! The staff, Manuela, Paola, the bar staff and the gentleman serving us b/fast, couldn't do anything more to accomodate us. They go completely out of their way to help; getting our luggages, delivering whatever we needed to our room promptly and at all hours, serving coffee when the bar is closed, even coordinating a pizza delivered to our room during a rainy thundery night from the divine pizzeria La Contea, and this was delivered hot and delicious! The hotel even helped us coordinate a day tour to the winery La Planeta, where we spent a day tasting wines and local specialities with a tour guide Viviana who was extremely welcoming an knowledgeable, and even accompanied us back to the hotel herself,as there was a misunderstanding with the taxi driver who was not willing to wait so long!! Even though we never used the service, the hotel owner Dr Failla also offers to pick you up from Modica Bassa (except Sunday), as there are a couple of steps to go down, which can be a bit of a nuisance coming back up! However, it is not as bad as described in previous reviews! Their trattoria was exactly beneath our room which was very comfortable. We ate once and the food was very good. I really recommend a rosticceria (type of bakery), which is located exactly behind the hotel and opens in the afternoon until around 10pm- it is like a local bakery and serves local baked specialities which are extremely good and cheap! If you like local hams and cheeses, definitely try their breakfast as the meats, cheeses and bread are simply terrific,and definitely the best I have had around Sicily and Italy. If I had to find something to complain about, it would be the room charges, for example to have breakfast in room they charge 7EUR, the WIFI which is terribly slow and does not open any webpage except google!, no body lotion as part of the amenities, and the food available from the hotel during the day, which is very limited. Otherwise, the hotel is definitely excellent, and maybe the fact that Dr Failla is present quite a lot creates the cutting edge as regards to service. Please feel free to ask whatever you need even regarding the local area, and once again I would like to thank the staff for making this holiday one to remember forever.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after reading the glowing reports on trip advisor, we were a little disappointed. We were travelling with a 5 year old. When we arrived a gentleman was fantastic with assisting us straight away with our luggage and parking of our hire car in the little street outside. We were greeted by the owners who I felt weren't overly warm. (I thought maybe they didn't like children staying at the hotel) My husband speaks Italian and they addressed him. Upon reading the other reviews they actually speak english but made no attempt to speak to me. I smiled and greeted them with a buon giorno)The room was the smallest triple room we have stayed in so far in Italy. (we have stayed in 6 so far over a 5 week period) The two young women at the desk were so lovely and the breakfast was the best we have had so far. We didn't eat at the restaurant as I felt uncomfortable with taking our child there. I wouldn't stay here again. It is better suited to couples.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in Hotel Palazzo Failla for 2 days in January 2012 and it was an unforgettable experience! It is a restored barocco palazzo with antique furniture, incredibly painted ceilings and historic floors. But what impressed us most of all is the service - the personnel was extremely friendly and helpful - they parked our car, made coffee for us when the cafe which is part of the hotel was already closed, helped with all our needs. Unfortunately, their Michelin starred restaurant was closed, but we enjoyed their trattoria (La Locanda del Colonnello) - the food was very good for a reasonable price. We liked the hotel and Modica city so much that are already thinking about coming back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
4.0 km away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
652 reviews
6.1 km away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
532 reviews
3.0 km away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
30 reviews
9.9 km away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Failla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Failla

Address: Via Blandini 5, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#5 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $114 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Failla 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Failla Hotel is a four star hotel, located in a beautiful XVIII century building, not an unusual example in Modica indeed, which has been perfectly restored thanks to local skilled craftsmen. The Faillas, showing the typical hospitality of their land, decided to open their house to their guests. The moment you enter, you can feel a fascinating atmosphere given by the light scent of the ancient stone walls and the pitch stone floor, typical of this area. The exclusive furniture and refined decorations will give the final touch to an unforgettable stay. Palazzo Failla Hotel is located in Modica Alta, in Via Blandini, near two of the most beautiful architectural examples in Modica, such as St. George's Cathedral and the Earls' Castle. It's an ideal starting point to visit both Modica and the whole area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Failla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Failla Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Failla Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing