We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, not so good dinner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Massa Marittima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenuta del Fontino Family-Farm Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The Tenuta Del Fontino is a beautiful property. Over 1,000 acres complete with lake and horseback riding. We stayed next to the main manor house in what looked like an old barn that was restructured into rooms. Our room(s) were huge. We had a nice little kitchen with dining table and a large and airy bedroom with four poster bed. Almost everything was white. The people at the hotel were very nice as well. Our only disappointment was the food at the one dinner we had there. The breakfasts were very good with ample choices.

We went into the dining room in the manor on the second floor. And we were addressed in German. It turns out that everyone in the hotel except us and a single Italian woman were Germans! We proceeded with the five course dinner. Now I should say, when I read TripAdvisor the people raved about the food. So, first we saw the hoards of Germans falling on the salad bar...What? salad bar? Where am I? We've lived in Germany and I saw it was a typical German style salad except for the cannelloni beans. These would figure often into the rest of the meal. Next course was a large piece of toasted bread with cannelloni beans. They had a bit of rosemary in them but overall a very bland dish. Next we had a pasta which was shaped like very short macaroni. Served in a broth that I swear was cannelloni purée with....potatoes!!! Again, super bland. Finally we got a very thin slice of roast beef in a bit of gravy. It was obviously a cut meant for long roasting and it had been. It was tender to the point of falling apart. Five pieces of boiled potatoes (more potatoes!) accompanied it. The roast was strongly reminiscent of Sauerbraten, a German dish. We Skipped dessert. It was maybe the worst meal I've ever had in Tuscany, which is known for good food.

Our single woman table mate told us she was on a two day getaway from her husband and family and their business. They own a restaurant and hotel in the Livorno area. So, seeing as she was a cook we asked her about the food and she assured us it was an authentic Tuscan meal. I am still in a state of shock. As an addendum, after we got home I described the dinner to my Italian teacher and she, too, said it was pretty typical Tuscan food. Funny, I've been there a lot of times but never disliked the food before. Maybe, since I've always eaten in decent restaurants I would not get typical food Tuscans eat at home which was probably what the set, five course meal was more like. The food was properly prepared so if you like traditional Tuscan food you may feel differently than we did.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shtinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

We decided to rent an apartment here because we wanted to spend a romantic and quiet week in Tuscany.

We were staying at the apartment Quercia which is on the opposite side of the main building on the other side of the main road. Or stay was end of September when main season was already over.

What we like was that we had a kitchen in our apartment for cooking by ourself but for days that we didn't want to we were able to eat in the restaurant in the main building. The food there was really good.

Our apartment building (I believe 4 apartments all together), was really nice and built in a way that you don't see or hear anything from the other guests. The building has its own pool and as it was end of season we totally had it for ourself. The main building has also a pool which gets more sun. Additionally there is an entire lake that you could swim in or hang out at.

The entire property is huge and you can enjoy a run entirely without leaving the property.

We where told that because it is end of season we don't have to pay for the wifi. The regular price would have been hefty. Still the wifi didn't work well and coverage was catchy. Also at our apartment cell phone coverage was nearly non-existent. We didn't mind as we wanted it quiet anyway but it could be an issue for someone you needs internet.

Overall we spend a wonderful time here and would consider staying here again

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kasstalavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This gorgeous family run hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want a relaxing break in Tuscany. Only about half an hour from the sea and nestled among vineyards and olive treas, it has breathtaking views from every side. We had a wonderful four nights here whilst visiting the area for a wedding and were so glad we booked this hotel. The food is sourced locally and the wine made on the hotel estate. The pool area was beautiful and peaceful and the rooms clean and the staff and owners could not do enough to help. Everyone in our party commented on how comfortable the beds were, which is important for those of us with bad backs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesley160657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This hotel is lovely and the staff very friendly. Most rooms are fully outfitted except for a safe. WiFi is provided but not robust. The grounds are extraordinary. The dinners are fantastic. You will enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We were in Tuscany for a wedding which was being held nearby and chose this hotel from a list provided by the bride & groom. It turned out to be a great choice. The staff are friendly and relaxed and you really feel at home here. The rooms are all slightly different sizes and shapes but all comfortable and with everything you need. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of options including homemade james and bread/cakes everyday.
We also had dinner on one of the nights and this too was delicious and very good value.
The pool area is beautiful, sadly the weather wasn't warm enough to swim during our trip but if you would prefer a more natural option, there is also a pretty swimming lake in the grounds.
There is a winery too and the wines we tried were delicious so we bought a bottle to take home. Couldn't ask for more really!

Room Tip: The apartments have kitchens which would be handy if you wanted to self cater on a longer trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Marittima
7.9 km away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
111 reviews
7.9 km away
Agriturismo Fraschiera
Agriturismo Fraschiera
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
19 reviews
17.6 km away
Country Resort Guadalupe
Country Resort Guadalupe
#1 of 1 in Braccagni
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
132 reviews
10.3 km away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
430 reviews
8.1 km away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#8 of 16 in Massa Marittima
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta del Fontino Family-Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta del Fontino Family-Farm Hotel

Address: Loc. Accesa, 58024, Massa Marittima, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta del Fontino, a family-farm hotel with a horseback riding school and a modern winery, Massa Marittima Toscana Italy We invite you to spend a great holiday in our antique family-farm in Tuscany. La Tenuta del Fontino is located in the town of Massa Marittima, just a few miles from beautiful Accesa lake, which supplies water to our property and private lake. The property covers 700 hectares, of which about a quarter are fields, meadows and olive groves. Moreover, we own 16 hectares of vineyards - our pride and glory. The rest of our land is covered with the Mediterranean bush. We offer you a vacation in the true and authentic environment of Italian countryside, where you have a chance to taste the excellent Italian cuisine and hospitality based on a true family atmosphere and a high-skilled service. We offer beautiful rooms and suites, a rich continental breakfast buffet, a huge garden, a swimming pool with a magnificent view, a horseback riding school, an open-air breed of Tuscan pigs named Cinta Senese, our wines, tranquillity and countless attractions - all this and much more is waiting for you ! The sea is only 15 minutes away by car: Follonica received "The Blue Flag" award for the last 14 years, thanks to its well-maintained beaches with uncontaminated and clear waters. Vicinity of our hotel are the so-called Metalliferous Hills, where the mountains reach 1000 meters. In this vast area there are many fantastic trails and paths, to go on a walk, on horseback or mountain bike. And finally, an ice cream or an aperitif on the famous square of Massa Marittima, one of the most beautiful in Tuscany. And then you understand why, who has been here once, comes back again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing