We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Massa Vecchia(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Siegia(Massa Marittima)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fenice Park Hotel(Massa Marittima)
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Duca del Mare(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pian Dei Mucini Resort(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Fattoria di Tatti(Massa Marittima)
US$123
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tenuta Il Cicalino(Massa Marittima)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Girifalco(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agriturismo Il Felciaione(Massa Marittima)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

This is a charming small hotel in Marremma. set in a vineyard, there are beautiful view, with an outdoor bar where you can enjoy the sunset. worth having dinner at the restaurant with a good selection of older vintages of the Terrabianca wines. They own the property. The nearby town of Massa Marrittima is a charming town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The staff at Villa Il Tesoro are a delight - the restaurant is excellent, especially the wines and the lamb dish. Dessert was always divine. Our suite was simple, spacious and clean. Comfortable beds and a great spot to sit outside with a wonderful view on the vineyards. A peaceful, out of the way place with great food, great service and wonderful grounds. Excellent for relaxation and quiet bliss. Dogs welcome. The breakfast buffet had some wonderful Italian breakfast cakes and goodies! We recommend asking for an olive oil and wine tasting session, which was a pleasure. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Excellent dining experience, outstanding spot- well worth the drive into rural Maremma for a stay here. Exceptionally well-tended grounds, including olive tree groves and vineyard, and superlative staffing. Peace and quiet at night are wondrous. Prices are a bit high, but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascademark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We had a lovley two night stay ay this hotel which took a little finding but is tucked away up country lanes with breath taking views over the countryside. The staff were very friendly (in a nice way), very helpful and knowledgable about their wine and food. The menu was not extensive but perfect and the food to some of the best I have had. Il Tesoro also has it's own wine and Olive Oil which you can arrrange a tasting of and purchase (which we did). The lounge is separate from the main bedrooms which are also are in 3 separate buildings. The views from the lounge are wonderful with huge glass windows to watch the sun go down (it was April and still a little cool for sitting outside). There are also several terraces and an out door pool. Our room was well equipped but a little impersonal but we did have our own log heater a design I've never seen before! It's a little pricey but still a great getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

The Villa il Tesoro grounds consist of several buildings, many of which are restored, converted, centuries-old farmhouses. The rough stone masonry, exposed timber support beams, and terra cotta tile contrast with the minimalist decor, white paint, and naturalistic decorative elements. For example, some small tables are rough-hewn slabs of stone set into the wall. The setting is marvelous; the view is of hundreds of acres of silvery olive groves, vineyards, stone pine forests, and rolling Tuscan hills. Around the buildings grow citrus trees, roses, hundreds of meters of rosemary, lavender, and other herbs. Several kilometers to the northeast, you can see Massa Marittima perched atop its hill. Of course, the small pool was closed in April.

I believe all of the rooms are suites. Our suite had a very effective wood-burning stove as well as modern heating and AC. It was hot enough for T-shirts and cold enough to snow in the 3 days we stayed. The beds had puffy, white duvets and comfortable mattresses. Our shower was large with nice toiletries.

Breakfast was excellent, and it was included in our rate. It consisted of a beautifully laid buffet of fruit, cakes, tarts, meats, cheese, and yoghurt. The breakfast room/evening lounge occupies a separate building with large picture windows. The staff treated us very kindly. One of our party had a fever, and we were well-cared for. Even the staff who spoke no English were solicitous and friendly.

The handsome, romantic restaurant is expensive and good. The menu is a blend of traditional and haute, and the kitchen and staff are proud of the good work they do. That being said, the prep is a little bit forced, and the menu is not extensive. But we were happy, and the local wines are a must. There is a small shop/enoteca on-site where one may buy olive oils and wine from the parent organization that runs the hotel.

The hotel is peaceful and quiet because of its remote location. Heading south from Massa Marittima, the hotel is to the right side of the road (west), but one must exit to the left and come back around under the highway. Confusing. Then one wends along tiny country roads, through farming country, following the signs to the hotel. Voila.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews