We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay before wedding”
Review of Hotel Girifalco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Girifalco
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days before going on to our wedding, in Tuscany.

Just outside of Massa Marritima- you can just walk up the hill for 10 mins to get there. We loved Massa Marritima. Very convenient. Good location for driving to other places too including the coast.

The pool is nice and had plenty of sun loungers.
Our room was pretty basic and a little dated, but it didn't really matter to us as we weren't in it too long. Ideal if you want a base to venture out but maybe not if you want to stay in the room all day! (I believe there are more updated rooms) There was a nice view from our room.

Breakfast also nice and fresh with lots of choice (if you have breakfast)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank byromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I love the Girifalco for its great position very close to the historic town of Massa Marittima but with a spectacular view of the countryside, the range of rooms for every pocket, the superb breakfasts, great value and quality dinners in season and, last but not least, the friendly helpful staff. If only more hotels were like this!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidwU8453FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We spent five nights there at the beginning of May. The hotel was a clean and well run family hotel. They were very helpful at all times. I stayed there as part of a walking holiday. We also had our evening meals there which we enjoyed. They went out of their way to accommodate those with dietary needs.
The hotel would not be convenient for anyone with walking difficulties since the hotel is located down hill from the main square.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Enid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Great small hotel with excellent family service in a beautiful rural location only a short but slightly strenuous walk from the town.
We were a largish group of walkers with a few people with dietry issues - health, religion and conviction restricting diet for some. The staff coped really well with all our requests and the food was great for us all.

Room Tip: WIFI is only available in the lobby but in rooms on the floor below (the hotel is built o a hillside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CathGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for one night having tried several of the other hotels in the area. The staff were extremely friendly and we can't fault their attentiveness. We were shown around our room and the hotel by the receptionist who was always on call to help if we needed it. Our room was in the undeveloped part of the hotel (they have recently redesigned some of their rooms). It was a basic room that smelt quite badly of damp, particularly in the bathroom but it had a lovely view from the window overlooking a green valley. There was no wifi in the rooms but it worked well in the bar area. Breakfast was great - lots of choice, fresh bread, croissants, scrambled eggs etc. The walls were very thin and we could hear the people in the room next to us watching the tv and using the bathroom/hair dryer very clearly. We would probably stay here again but in one of the refurbished rooms as they looked nicer.

Room Tip: ask for a newly refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underthetropicalsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Marittima
1.1 km away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
132 reviews
2.8 km away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
434 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#7 of 16 in Massa Marittima
102 reviews
18.4 km away
Hotel Bella'mbriana
Hotel Bella'mbriana
#3 of 14 in Follonica
340 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girifalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girifalco

Address: Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024, Massa Marittima, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range: $69 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girifalco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours and scents of the Alta Maremma (Upper Maremma), and set in a delightful garden filled with flowers and aromatic plants, is the charming Hotel Girifalco. This 3-star hotel is just a few minutes away from the historic centre of Massa Marittima, a splendid mediaeval town with a fine Cathedral, "Palazzo del Podesta" (Governor's Hall), and Archaeological Museum. Are you looking for a hotel in Massa Marittima? The Hotel Girifalco will be glad to welcome you, and offer you peace and quiet, relaxation, natural surroundings and a family atmosphere. It is the ideal setting for either a family holiday, a romantic break, or as a base for enjoying outdoor sports and activities. The views in this area are spectacular and the climate is mild throughout the year. The sea is within very easy reach: we are only 17 km from Follonica (European Blue Flag 2013) and from the other beautiful beaches of the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can also enjoy excursions to nearby mediaeval villages, or take part in a variety of sports and activities, including cycling, walking, trekking or horse-riding. The Hotel Girifalco at Massa Marittima offers you a choice between our classic rooms and our new, exclusive bedrooms and suites with their bright, spacious atmosphere and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Girifalco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing