We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Park Sandefjord(Sandefjord)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kong Carl(Sandefjord)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Active Hotel(Notteroy Municipality)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
113
27
19
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
27
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacourse dinnerexcellent foodlittle bitcomfortable bedbeautiful surroundingsour waiterpotatoespool and saunavealcodmain coursepasta disheswinechefoslosea
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We spent a wonderful time at this beautiful place with dear friends. We felt like staying in a fairy tale. The food was outstanding and the service is warm and friendly. The staff is very professional. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivar N, Daglig leder at Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank You very much for a nice and warm review.
We wish You all the best and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

This summer paradise is also a very nice place to be even if it is -15C. We came here for a winemakers dinner at Friday and wanted to stay all week end.We do not regret it. The service was like at a gourmet restaurant. The buildings and the room was excellent. Bathhouse with sauna, yakuzzi and pool was an experience.
The wines of the various dishes were exquisite selection. The food varied and a gourmet restaurant worthy. The breakfast was not the usual, tedious but well varied and more exciting than most hotels we've been to.
Walking around at Hvasser and at "Verdens ende" (World`s end) at this time of year is an even greater nature experience than in summer. And a visit to the restaurant at "Verdens ede" with home made soup was no bad idea either.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivar N, Daglig leder at Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank You very much for a kind review. We are all inspired to get even better.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Engø is like coming to family living in an English mansion. It is warm, personal, with an attention to every detail rarely seen. The best part: the food. The danish chef Ulrik has the rare combination of being friendly, social- and world class. His dishes have high international class. It is a mistery why this place does not have Michelin stars. Breakfast has only organic and ecological ingedients, and is made on the premises. Service is warm and full of attention. Surroundings with beautiful Norwegian countryside at its best. Not the cheapest around, but worth every penny. Ask to sleep at Embla, one of the few rooms with sea view. And very quiet.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Arild H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivar N, General Manager at Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thank You very much for kind Words and rewiev. The Engø-team was very inspired to read the rewiev , and we hope to see You again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Amazing food (time and time again). The best of norwegian produce, perfectly prepared. A place to come back to for an ever changing set menu. Stay over night and have a fresh farm breakfast to finish of an excellent dining experience (great weekend outing, just an hour south of Oslo)

Stayed: September 2014
Thank TheSolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed at Engø to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I chose this hotel because it seemed cute and charming in the photos, and the restaurant was highly recommended. Engø lived up to the pictures - it was really charming, and the food at the restaurant was amazing! I booked a package which included a 4-course dinner, overnight at the hotel and breakfast. We arrived a little early for our dinner, so we were able to sit in the cozy lounge room by the fire and have a drink, and we were also provided with some yummy and creative appetizers while we waited. I also loved that almost everything at breakfast was made on site, and we also got delicious little pancakes made to order.
We stayed in Hanegal room in the Låven, which was a two-level room with a sitting area and bathroom below, and the bed on the second level. There was also a small balcony area off the sitting area, but as it was winter we didn't use this. The room was generally clean and comfortable.
There was no tv or wifi in the room, which I thought was nice and relaxing, but my husband was a little lost without these!
The area (Tjøme) where the hotel is situated is really beautiful, and we had hoped to see Verdens Ende and perhaps take some walks by the seaside, but the weather was pretty horrible when we were there and too cold to be outside. I'd say it's definitely better to come here in the summer time to explore the surrounding area, but as we were celebrating our anniversary we couldn't really choose so much when we came. But it was also really cozy to be inside the hotel, and we were also able to use the indoor pool and sauna facilities despite the weather. Overall a great experience at Engø!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews