We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Lol.travel
US$81
View deal
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$99
ZenHotels.comUS$104
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
335
246
69
29
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
246
69
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls good size old building local restaurants living room rooms are comfortable rice very nice stay wonderful hotel excellent breakfast swimming pool fantastic views historical hotel pousada portugal balcony castelo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

Elegant and stylish hotel with excellent facilities. Very comfortable room. Good service from staff. Lovely swimming pool with good seating outside. Plenty of parking. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of choices to satisfy all tastes. Getting a drink was difficult though!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 July 2022

You expect to have some quality when you pay 380 euros for a room, for a night.
The Hotel is very beat up with a decoration that is well bellow average in the materials used and conservation of the same.
At arrival you have a little reception to the left that seems like the reception of the local village recreation public club, with one person and very poor decoration. You expectations immediately drop as you realize this will not be what you expected.
Then they give you a key and you notice the key chain is dirty and beat up like you picked it up from the street and had been sitting up there for years.
You get to the room and the furniture is old, beat up and the decoration is well bellow what expected.
The coffee machine had mildew in the water deposit. You could see the green clearly. There was barely any water inside and the deposit had stains of green at the bottom. It stopped us from using that Nespresso coffee machine.
At breakfast, we had to wait for croissants and as they were coming they would be taken to a table that seemed it was the owners table as all guests were waiting for food but it kept going to that table before going to the general buffet tables.
The choice was very little. Had to wait for scrambled eggs for at least 20 minutes after complaining. The orange juice was squeezed but had so much water mixed that tasted like one of those instant package juices.
The room with at least 20 tables was attended by one employer and sometimes another assistant would show up. The poor man was sweating.
At departure we wanted to see the chapel that was part of the Hotel/Convent and once inside we realized it had been converted into an event room. There was no altar or chairs, and all that remained was the walls around it and the tombs on the floor. Other than that, two circular tables leaned against a wall which reveled there were events organized there.
Overall, they have turned what could be a five star experience and atmosphere as well as cultural visit, into something "never to return to".
For sure not worth the 380 euros price.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 June 2022 via mobile

It’s a still a great Portuguese pousada, but the years are starting to show. The service is impeccable, the rooms are clean, and the space is incredible. But the rooms are in dire need of renovation. The finishes are starting to peel off and the coils in the mattress are long gone. But the most unacceptable experience was at breakfast. Clearly understaffed, tables with used dishes piled on top of each other, we had to beg one of the two people serving the entire hotel to clean a table for us and get us a coffee. Por the price they’re asking, some lines can’t be crossed. Please offer better conditions and hire more staff. They’re the ones that get to hear it from most guests, but I know it’s not their fault.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joaomarquesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 May 2022

Excellent, memorable, romantic stay at Pousada Alcacer do Sal, a converted convent, centuries old. The grounds are lovely: a castle-wall with turrets surrounds spacious grounds with a great pool area. Rooms are also very spacious and quiet, very large bathrooms. Dinner was elegant and delicious. Service was impeccable. Felt like royalty.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarkSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 January 2022 via mobile

We stopped overnight after arriving at the airport late afternoon. What a wonderful place, fantastic views across the town and countryside. Old castle walled convent beautifully restored. From the point we walked in until leaving we had super service and food. Evening meal, sadly only four in restaurant, beautiful freshly cooked bread, olive oil, garlic and huge olives. Followed by cold dressed mussels and oiled soft peppers. For starters I had prawns in garlic and ginger, my partner took chicken pie starter which was too big really as starter. I then had squid linguine and my partner had lamb shank, both beautifully cooked and presented. All washed down with a nice local light red wine. Total bill 90 euros. Breast was in same dining room, massif windows pit to walled courtyard. Masses of choice, fresh fruit, cereals, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes, hams, sam9n etc. also sweet cakes and croissants.

Room tip: Plenty of parking by entrance
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Haze10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Arminda Teixeira, Owner at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2022

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pousada Castelo Alcácer do Sal was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pousada Castelo Alcácer do Sal for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,
The Team at Pousada Alcácer Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews