We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
100
58
23
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
58
23
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quirky place cinema room wall walk beautiful setting mile lounge conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015

A nice converted farm house, complete with a bar and a pool table. If you are hiking Hadrians Wall, the couple will pick you up at the parking lot adjacent to the wall and bring you back the next day. Food was excellent, and dinner is available.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 508Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Saughy Rigg is a B& B however in the winter months it can be rented out to self-caterers. This house suits our needs. We are a large family group of 21+ adults with children. The beds are comfortable with good quality linens. All the bedrooms are en-suite which is a blessing with such a large group. There is a good sized lounge and dining area.The house is in a great location with easy access to Hadrian's Wall, Steel Rigg, Housesteads, Vindolanda, Haltwhistle and Hexam to name a few. We like that we can cater for ourselves and do our own thing.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank GlasGal549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

this great young couple do what ever it takes to please people who want to stay there. he picked us up at housesteads and drove us back the next day to vindolanda, shame it was only one night we stayed there, his wife is a great cook, we had a great room with four poster bed, and little bathroom (basic) and they serve rekordelig cider or beer.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooreind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The young couple who run this must have put a lot of time and effort into making it such a comfortable place (based on reviews I read from a few years ago, at least), as it was a lovely stay. Very welcome after a tough, wet, and windy day coming over the Craggs. My friend and I had only enough energy to tackle a bowl of soup, but it was hot and delicious and went down very well. The room was comfortable and we had enough room to move about without tripping over each other. There is a separate bar area, a drying room, laundry and pick up/drop off service to the Steel Rigg Crag parking lot, where the Wall path runs. Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked, both of which were good value.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YTAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Saughy Rigg as part of our Hadrian's Wall Walk and loved it! Saughy Rigg is located in beautiful countryside and the proprietors will collect you from Steel Rigg in the evening and drop you back in the morning, a service not to be dismissed lightly after tackling the Craggs! We were made to feel very welcome along with our two dogs. The room was lovely with good facilities but the best thing about Saughy Rigg was the food! Beautiful home cooked food, the evening meals are amazing, wonderfully presented and designed to feed hungry walkers! The breakfast menu is fantastic, I enjoyed the pancakes one morning and the vegetarian eggs benedict! Kath, Brad and their team are obviously working really hard to make people welcome well done! We would like to return for longer!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank rachelw690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews