We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Mere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We met friends at the walnut tree for lunch. It was a halfway meet for us and we all had a 2 hr journey to get there. We had a 5 star meal and the service was 2nd to none. I had pork loin chops, really generous portions reasonable prices excellent quality. There were 6 of us dining and we had a variety of meals from the menu but we enjoyed quick and friendly service. Just wish this great pub was not so far away from our home in Devon

Thank johnparker271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at The Walnut Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

John, thanks for the review. Hope to see you next time your'e up from Devon!

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here twice, before and after our holiday in longleat centre parcs. Ideal location for a night before centre parcs or if visiting longleat safari. Staff are very friendly and Willing to make your stay a pleasant experience. We ate 3 times here and each meal was lovely, experienced the Sunday lunch which was delicious and plentiful. I would highly recommend a night here or even to call in for a meal or drink. Would be more than willing to come back if we travel down here again.

Thank paul2moz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Walnut Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for a lovely review.

Hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards,


Nicky Whitmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stopped off here for brunch on our journey home from our holiday. Mere itself is lovely, the pub's on the other side of the town as you come in from the A303. We had a full English breakfast, one being GLUTEN FREE (inc sausages, hash browns and toast) the food was delicious, couldn't recommend highly enough. The landlady was very friendly too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annieparratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Walnut Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Mere and to us at The Walnut Tree Inn.

Pop in again if you are passing.

Kind regards

Nicky Whitmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We went for Sunday roast having heard it was very good. The staff could not be more helpful, very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Sunday roast not cheap. The beef was a bit tough, Yorkshire puddings flat and the roast potatoes could have been crisper. The pork and turkey were excellent The array of vegetables was amazing. We will come back again but not for the roast. We watched other meals coming out from the kitchen and they looked fantastic. We did not realise that it would be a buffet roast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacqueline_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Walnut Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for the review.

We shall look forward to seeing you again when you return.

Kind regards

Nicky Whitmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We recently visited here on a late Sunday afternoon with my family and my wive's friend. The burgers looked amazing and the chicken BBQ melt was fantastic. They were very helpful and accomodating. The convenience of a play park next door. If you are in the area this is a must visit

Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Walnut Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for the review.

Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards

Nicky Whitmore


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walnut Tree Inn also viewed

Heytesbury, Warminster
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing