We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Invermere Inn(Invermere)(Great Value!)
US$157
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kanata Inns Invermere(Invermere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$116
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Radium Hot Springs)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radium Park Lodge(Radium Hot Springs)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$103
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
67
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm hospitalityquiet neighborhoodthree roomsbeautiful lakefresh fruitgreat hostsshort walkgerman apple pancakesrodchristinebedroomtvvalley
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife & I, stayed here when did a surprise visit to our daughter in Canada. From the time we arrived our hosts Rod & Christine made us feel at home.
The room we occupied had a beautiful view of the Purcells and Windermerelake and came with its own en-suite, and was very clean and tidy. Breakfast! well what can we say, gourment class, prepared in front of us while we sat at the table and learned of all the local attractions, and must visit areas. Thanks Rod for the pancake recipe! Complimentary chocolates and a following days weather forcast was left every evening on our bed. Overall our experience was superb and a great start to our first time in Canada, we would have stayed longer if our daughter had not insisted we stay with her. We would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We loved Lakeside B&B! Rod and Christine made us feel very welcome. I went for a long walk in the morning and loved the quiet and peaceful location close to the lake. The breakfast was delicious and the room very quiet, comfortable and clean with lovely extra little touches. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WillowNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had booked the Fairmont Room which has a king-size bed because we are both very tall. We received a confirmation email for this room which also stated a check-in time of 5 pm sharp requesting to contact the hosts in case that was inconvenient. Arriving a little before that time we were surprised to find our hosts absent and a note stuck to the door to give them a call. Not being Canadian citizens, of which the hosts were fully aware, we of course do not have a Canadian cell phone. So we had to sit and wait… When our hosts finally turned up they seemed to find this really funny. “Why didn’t you call? Ah, of course, you don’t have a phone, ha, ha.” Well, I do not think of quality vacation time as waiting for other people, especially if a beautiful lake area is waiting to be explored. The next shock followed when they told us that the couple who had stayed in our room the night before wanted to stay an extra night and was not prepared to move. So they had moved us to another room. This room, Selkirk, is by far the smallest in the house and only has a queen bed as well as a fairly sloped ceiling because it is located under the stairs. So instead of their largest we had their smallest room and spent a very uncomfortable night. By the time we found out it was too late to leave and find a room elsewhere. Maybe they kept us waiting on purpose? Breakfast was good but it was obvious that the hosts have lost their passion for the B&B. Overall we felt more like a burden than appreciated guests. Of course we realize a B&B is a business but that’s exactly why we expect a professional behavior and attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedrule, Owner at Windermere Lakeside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

This couple from Germany are correct in some of their claims, but unfortunately chose to only point out the negatives and not the whole story.

They arrived early and and unfortunately did not have a cell phone to call us. Over 90% of our guests from overseas or the USA have one with them. Nevertheless, we were embarrassed that we were not there to greet them and DID NOT find it amusing. We can only assume something got lost in translation here.

Yes we did change their room, but by the professor's tone, she was not sensitive to the other couple and did not choose to hear the reason we had to make this unfortunate change. The Selkirk room is not the smallest room and in fact all our rooms are roughly the same size and none of our rooms have a sloping ceiling. She was obviously annoyed and chooses not to mention that we discounted this room for her AND to compensate for their inconvenience we dug deep into our wine cellar to find very good bottle of German white wine for them to enjoy on their private patio and enjoy the views.

My wife and I have been very successful in the customer service industry for over 40 years, and since changing to the hospitality industry our goal has always been to "go above and beyond all guest expectations" We do know that you cannot please everybody all the time, but we go overboard to try.
To this couple........we are sorry we could not appease you and meet your expectations.
Sincerely
Rod and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We loved our time at this gorgeous B&B! We only wish we had more time to stay and enjoy the Fairmont Room. The hosts, Rod & Christine Turnbull, were so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. It was such a pleasure staying in their beautiful home. Everything was so clean. The bed was very comfortable. I loved our private patio area with chairs to relax. The view of the lake was awesome, and it was just a one minute walk to the water, which was very clean and refreshing. The gourmet breakfasts were absolutely delicious! I loved how there were water shoes, beach chairs, and beach towels available for our use as well. It was great to have Rod book our golf game as well, with the B&B discount. There were lots of nice little touches too ... like the fresh flowers in our room, the bed turned down in the evening, and the chocolates on the covers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My best friend and I were looking to get out of the city for a few nights and just relax in nature. We booked the Homestead Cottage at Windernere B&B, which is a refurbished log cabin originally built in the late 1800's. We had our own front porch where we sat in the evening, sipped wine, and listened to the birds and watched the trees as the sun set over them. The Cabin was exceptionally clean and there was a tiny fridge where we were able to store snacks. The Breakfast spread was very delicious and our hosts, Steve and Astrid, were very knowledgeable of the area and passionate about their visitors. There were nice hiking trails right outside the front door, with little stops along the way to swing in hammocks, rest by the creek and sit on a bench, overlooking the trees and mountains. Definitely worth staying at and so much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmp0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews